Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Rebellion in the city and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Oliver Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this action-packed historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and The Three Musketeers.

London, 1655, and Cromwell's regime is under threat from all sides. Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's Guard, is all too aware of the danger facing Cromwell. Parliament resents his control of the army while the army resents his absolute power. In the East End of London, a group of religious fanatics plots rebellion. In the midst of all this, a stonemason uncovers a perfectly preserved body dressed in the robes of a Dominican friar, bricked up in a wall in the crumbling Black Friars.

Ill-informed rumours and speculation abound, but Seeker instantly recognises the dead man. What he must discover is why he met such a hideous end and what his connection was to the children who have started to disappear from around the city. Unravelling these mysteries is challenging enough and made still harder by the activities of dissenters at home, Royalist plotters abroad and individuals who are not what they seem....

©2016 Shona MacLean (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

"MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city." ( Sunday Times)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Clare
  • Hertford, UK
  • 03-09-17

So good I was sorry when it ended

A gripping, multi-stranded plot, a gifted author and vividly depicted characters, all set in a fascinating historical context. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait for the next one

I really enjoyed this, good story, lots of twists and turns, interesting characters.
The narrator was very good too.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A complex time & a complex man

The setting is so fascinating. I was initially put off by it being Cromwell's Protectorate but it wasn't what I expected. The characters are well drawn and complex. The plot is more straight forward than the first book, but still interesting. The narrator is pleasant and the pace good. Highly recommended.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Series hits its stride

The first Seeker novel had promise but the characters took time to warm to, not helped by a poor narrator. With a change of narrator this second Seeker novel is wonderful. An interesting collection of characters is beginning to develop and the central character of Damien Seeker is becoming intriguing in his complexity. The historical setting is well researched and believable and a fascinating period to get drawn into. I enjoyed every minute and will be waiting impatiently for the next instalment.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant listen

A really well written, atmospheric murder mystery. Cromwell’s London brought to life with glimpses of well known characters such as the young Pepys and Andrew Marvell.
Beautifully read, I was thoroughly engrossed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Definitely a Seeker fan

Having read the first book about Damien Seeker was pleased that this book was equally if not better than the first. Enjoyed the story very much and would highly recommend to those who enjoy historical fiction

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Louisa
  • Freshwater Bay, United Kingdom
  • 17-01-18

A brilliant sequel to Seeker

As some may know, the first volume of SG MacLean's new series was poorly read and for myself I returned the audio and read the print book. However, with a change to the excellent Jonathan Keeble we have a real treat. All MacLean's books are fascinating. She focuses very cleverly on the religious and moral dilemmas of the 17th century and this book is particularly interesting on the role of the 5th Monarchists during Cromwell's Protectorship and the problems that Cromwell faced controlling the country in the mid 1650s. My only criticism is that however hard she tries to make the Royalists seem like the bad guys, we know they end up the winners and so the author faces a conundrum - how to make the (finally) good guys look bad. Wisely most of our attention if focused on the truly bad! Her description of the attempts by Cromwell's government to control the media and information are interesting particularly in the context of modern attempts to control both of these slippery aspects of our own everyday lives.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed very much

enjoyed this book very much. The story was very compelling with lots of twists and turns.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

I have listened to both in this series . The stories unfold slowly and draw the reader into a world of intrigue.
I preferred the second story only because I had already been drawn into this turbulent world . On par with Sansom for wonderful story telling. Gripping

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this Author and Narrator

Beautifully written and narrated and the next book will definitely be on my Christmas list!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful