We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Black Friar Audiobook

The Black Friar: Damian Seeker 2

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Rebellion in the city and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Oliver Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this action-packed historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and The Three Musketeers.

London, 1655, and Cromwell's regime is under threat from all sides. Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's Guard, is all too aware of the danger facing Cromwell. Parliament resents his control of the army while the army resents his absolute power. In the East End of London, a group of religious fanatics plots rebellion. In the midst of all this, a stonemason uncovers a perfectly preserved body dressed in the robes of a Dominican friar, bricked up in a wall in the crumbling Black Friars.

Ill-informed rumours and speculation abound, but Seeker instantly recognises the dead man. What he must discover is why he met such a hideous end and what his connection was to the children who have started to disappear from around the city. Unravelling these mysteries is challenging enough and made still harder by the activities of dissenters at home, Royalist plotters abroad and individuals who are not what they seem....

©2016 Shona MacLean (P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

What the Critics Say

"MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city." (Sunday Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (63 )
5 star
 (47)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (57 )
5 star
 (39)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (55 )
5 star
 (48)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Genny F Surrey 15/08/2017
    Genny F Surrey 15/08/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't wait for the next one"

    I really enjoyed this, good story, lots of twists and turns, interesting characters.
    The narrator was very good too.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle 02/08/2017
    Michelle 02/08/2017 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    59
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    327
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A complex time & a complex man"

    The setting is so fascinating. I was initially put off by it being Cromwell's Protectorate but it wasn't what I expected. The characters are well drawn and complex. The plot is more straight forward than the first book, but still interesting. The narrator is pleasant and the pace good. Highly recommended.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    cdw 15/09/2017
    cdw 15/09/2017 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "An excellent sequel to "The Seeker"!"

    Another brilliant story with be characters. And outstanding narration. I hope that there are more books to come in the series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Clare Hertford, UK 03/09/2017
    Clare Hertford, UK 03/09/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So good I was sorry when it ended"

    A gripping, multi-stranded plot, a gifted author and vividly depicted characters, all set in a fascinating historical context. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sally 05/08/2017
    Sally 05/08/2017 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    125
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    169
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Series hits its stride"

    The first Seeker novel had promise but the characters took time to warm to, not helped by a poor narrator. With a change of narrator this second Seeker novel is wonderful. An interesting collection of characters is beginning to develop and the central character of Damien Seeker is becoming intriguing in his complexity. The historical setting is well researched and believable and a fascinating period to get drawn into. I enjoyed every minute and will be waiting impatiently for the next instalment.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia 04/08/2017
    Patricia 04/08/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    97
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    254
    70
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No Sansom!"

    I bought this book based on the comment that it was for fans of C J Sansom but, believe me, this isn't a patch on the Shardlake series.

    That main character, Shardlake, is a falliable, sympathetic and interesting character. This main character, Damian Seeker, is bullying and boorish as well as being dull, dull, dull. He's a comic book figure with no redeeming features.

    The Cromwellian background to the story isn't well done and the use of real characters such as George Downing and Samuel Pepys does nothing to enhance this uninspired story.

    Really disappointing.

    4 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    derbyfile58 16/02/2018
    derbyfile58 16/02/2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Definitely a Seeker fan"

    Having read the first book about Damien Seeker was pleased that this book was equally if not better than the first. Enjoyed the story very much and would highly recommend to those who enjoy historical fiction

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Louisa Freshwater Bay, United Kingdom 17/01/2018
    Louisa Freshwater Bay, United Kingdom 17/01/2018 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    198
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    122
    74
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    35
    35
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A brilliant sequel to Seeker"

    As some may know, the first volume of SG MacLean's new series was poorly read and for myself I returned the audio and read the print book. However, with a change to the excellent Jonathan Keeble we have a real treat. All MacLean's books are fascinating. She focuses very cleverly on the religious and moral dilemmas of the 17th century and this book is particularly interesting on the role of the 5th Monarchists during Cromwell's Protectorship and the problems that Cromwell faced controlling the country in the mid 1650s. My only criticism is that however hard she tries to make the Royalists seem like the bad guys, we know they end up the winners and so the author faces a conundrum - how to make the (finally) good guys look bad. Wisely most of our attention if focused on the truly bad! Her description of the attempts by Cromwell's government to control the media and information are interesting particularly in the context of modern attempts to control both of these slippery aspects of our own everyday lives.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Margaret McQuillan 06/01/2018 Member Since 2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed very much"

    enjoyed this book very much. The story was very compelling with lots of twists and turns.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bernadette 22/12/2017
    Bernadette 22/12/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping"

    I have listened to both in this series . The stories unfold slowly and draw the reader into a world of intrigue.
    I preferred the second story only because I had already been drawn into this turbulent world . On par with Sansom for wonderful story telling. Gripping

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.