Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me.

1. I'm in a coma.
2. My husband doesn't love me anymore.
3. Sometimes I lie.

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

©2017 Alice Feeney (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"A gripping debut with a brilliant twist, I loved it." (BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors)
"For fans of twisty, dark thrillers, this is the one. Fabulously written voices and a plot that keeps you guessing until the very end." (Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat)
" Sometimes I Lie is a rare book, combining helter skelter twists with razor sharp sentences. Make sure you read it in a well lit room, Alice Feeney's imagination is a very dark place indeed." (Dan Dalton, BuzzFeed)
"Fiendishly clever - an absolute masterclass in plotting and narrative design." (Richard Skinner, Faber Academy)
"Boldly plotted, tightly knotted - a provocative true-or-false thriller that deepens and darkens to its ink-black finale. Marvellous." (AJ Finn, author of The Woman in the Window)
"An utterly compelling, twisted, shocking psychological thriller that made me gasp out loud." (Sophie Raworth, BBC presenter)
"You wish there were more books like Sometimes I Lie: unusually, it's both a compelling psychological thriller and beautifully written. There's also a parade of more or less monstrous characters, a narrator as unreliable as they come and a late twist you're most unlikely to see coming. Tremendously satisfying." (Nick Higham, BBC Meet the Author presenter)
"Absolutely Brilliant!!" (Nina Pottell, books editor, Prima Magazine)
"Raced through Sometimes I Lie, completely gripping, left me gasping in horror and really couldn't put it down." (Kelly Allen, journalist)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,036
  • 4 Stars
    581
  • 3 Stars
    266
  • 2 Stars
    69
  • 1 Stars
    47

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,178
  • 4 Stars
    440
  • 3 Stars
    172
  • 2 Stars
    29
  • 1 Stars
    23

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    928
  • 4 Stars
    515
  • 3 Stars
    262
  • 2 Stars
    81
  • 1 Stars
    55
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read/listen

OMG amazing twists and turns, I couldn't stop listening. So very clever, as each clue was revealed I was drawn into the story. Congratulations to Alice Feeney.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect thriller !

Loved this.....all the obligatory twists and turns to keep the reader interested. Will not disappoint.

22 of 24 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb story and brilliantly narrated

I was gripped by this right from the beginning. I loved the twists and the suspense.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

This book is well written,and brilliantly read. You can never predict how this book is going to end ,it's compelling I couldn't stop listening. Highly recommend

18 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bit too contrived but worth a listen.

This kept me involved all the way through. I found it a bit 'how to construct a thriller'- contrived, if that makes sense. A little too many twists for my liking. However, it does the job and a good listen on a long car journey. The narrator was very good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT READ

Where does Sometimes I Lie rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Very original story, with a twist that literally smacks you in the face. Had read the reviews before I listened, all saying about "the twist", so I was looking for it, trying to guess it, and still didn't .. Excellent narration by Stephanie. Get this, you will not be disappointed.

What about Stephanie Racine’s performance did you like?

Real feeling in her words.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

It held my interest from being to end and easy to follow. Definitely worth a listen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • jv
  • 29-04-17

Evil twist

A very well read book. A disturbing story with an unusual twist. Didn't see the end coming. A bit slow at the beginning but worth the wait. An original and unsettling story.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept guessing until the end

Warped but very enjoyable with twists and turns all the way along. Very cleverly plotted unveiling little bits of the mystery at a time. Recommend.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Upsetting

The entire book was pretty unpleasant to listen to, but I imagine it was meant to, so good job on that. The performance included very loud dialogue combined with soft whisper like narration, which I get for dramatic effect but was inconvenient for listening purposes. Very plot twisty book, which encouraged readers to never have a human interaction ever again. So that's cool.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Anat Goldberg
  • 05-12-17

What a mess!

Not a big fan of “then” and “now” novels. Too many time/space jumps. Overall a big mess, could have ended better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful