Regular price: £16.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Thousands of years ago, a magnificent golden capstone sat atop the Great Pyramid of Giza. It was a source of immense power, capable of bestowing upon its holder absolute global rule for a thousand years...But then, in 323 BC, the capstone was broken into seven pieces and spread to the corners of the Earth, hidden within the Seven Ancient Wonders of the World. Now, with the coming of a rare solar event, the time has come to locate the pieces and rebuild the capstone.
©2008 Matthew Reilly (P)2008 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd.

Critic reviews

"A nonstop roller-coaster ride that lurches around the globe." ( Publishers Weekly)
"A novel that grabs readers by the hand and pulls them along until they're out of breath. It is impossible (even for hard-core cynics) not to love this big, boisterous, action-filled adventure." ( Booklist)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great.

This book is a great start to what is going to be an amazing series and i'm so glad that I have the next 3 lined up to listen to. This is a pure adrenaline fuelled action packed ride. If you are a fan of chris kuzneski then you are going to so enjoy matthew reilly. This was a very good narration. I'm of to start listening to the next in the series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sue
  • Dunstable, United Kingdom
  • 21-08-17

Entertaining Preposterous Stuff

What can I say?
I may not be the target audience for this.
It runs like a computer game inspired by Indiana Jones and Dan Brown.
The pace is relentless as the team races around the world rescuing treasure in a period of 7 days.
The history is interesting, although questionable, but I do feel inspired to go away and read up on it.
It kept me entertained in the same way a film like National Treasure does. It's undemanding but fun.
I doubt I'll bother with the rest of the series but who knows, I might need a bit of Boys Own rip-roaring escapism on a winter's day one day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good tale about the 7 wonders

Overall it is a great story and I would have given it a full 5 stars if if wasn't for the overly loud music playing over set scenes during the story.
This was mainly when they started a new mission, but it made it hard to hear to talking during those parts.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Lots of action and entertainment

The book was filled with action and was entertaining to listen. It was easy to listen while cooking or at gym (didn't require 100% attention to the story).
What disturbed me was the music at the beginning and between sections. For non-native English speaker it made it bit hard to follow.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Needs a good editor

What disappointed you about Seven Ancient Wonders?

I expected a better standard of writing given all the positive reviews. The same words were often used several times in just one sentence, which made the listening experience aggravating. I can suspend belief and just enjoy a good yarn, but some aspects were simply ridiculous; a hovering battle Boeing 747 to transport 8 people in to a secret infiltration? Details of how traps were solved were just skimmed over or ignored altogether. A pity, as the blurb sounded exciting. This book needs a really good editing.

Has Seven Ancient Wonders put you off other books in this genre?

No, I love this type of book.

What about Sean Mangan’s performance did you like?

He is able to cope with several different people and accents. Plus his female voices don't sound childish or falsetto.

What character would you cut from Seven Ancient Wonders?

No characters, just their ridiculous 'call sign' names.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • James
  • 29-07-14

Indiana Jones and The Da Vinci Code

Seven Ancient Wonders is Indiana Jones and The Da Vinci Code all rolled into one. A great action adventure story and better than the Scarecrow novels. Sean Mangan gives an excellent performance and the characters are awesome. Fans of Harry Potter, Dan Brown and the Indiana Jones movies should enjoy reading and listening to Seven Ancient Wonders by Matthew Reilly.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dillon
  • 01-01-13

Would definitely recommend

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would recommend this to a friend. Matthew Reilly is an amazing author.

What other book might you compare Seven Ancient Wonders to and why?

I would compare this book to the other series written by Matthew Reilly, Scarecrow. They are the same yet completely different.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

The narration was good until Sky Monster spoke. Sky Monster is a New Zealander however the voice used was an Australian accent. This is similar to using a Canadian accent when voicing an American and vice versa. Apart from this one slight flaw the narrator did a great job.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes I feel this way about all the books Matthew Reilly writes.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dale
  • 26-11-12

Marvelous narrator reads awesome story

Would you listen to Seven Ancient Wonders again? Why?

I enjoy reading Matthew Rielly, but Sean mangan adds another level. I own all Matthew Reilly's read by Sean mangan.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • matthew
  • 04-11-12

i just could not stop listening

What did you love best about Seven Ancient Wonders?

this would have too be one of the best matthew riley books around beaten only by scarecrow thank you matthew riley

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

YES most definatly it had me hooked

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lizzy
  • 24-12-11

Great Story

Loved this story. Matthew Reilly has included everything; adventure, intrigue, political tension, history. Wow. His weaving of current history into the story is very interesting. Makes you wonder about real life conspiracies.

I was majorly disappointed by the narration especially for such an action packed book. While I liked Sean Mangan's voice very much his narration was much too slow and I found it boring. In fact I put my iPod onto "faster" for 2/3's of the book and then it honestly became much more enjoyable. Try it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Owen
  • 08-02-10

What did they know back then which is lost now?

The Great Pyramid of Giza is the only surviving wonder of the seven in our day, however the whereabouts of its 9ft high golden capstone are unknown. Reilly's description and detail for each of the locations of the treasures is cinematic in its scale. Huge temples hidden beneath the earth, Waterfalls of flowing lava and booby-traps to rival the opening scene in Raiders of the lost arch. His vision of the Hanging Gardens of Babylon (the second oldest wonder to the Great Pyramid) is mind blowing and in typical Reilly fashion it is over sized and described in beautiful detail.

I only have only two issues with the story. Too soon into the tale the reader (in this case listener) is assumed to have made a connection with the characters, and the warmth and feelings he writes about are missed or over the top (this may just be me), with the details of the characters seeming secondary or lost to excellent detail he gives to his locations. The second issue I had (and this is not just with this book) is Reilly constantly repeating expressions. An example of this would be "A star shaped pool of blood" and "He fell like a marionette puppet with its strings cut" again this just maybe me but these fraises appeared at least 3 times each in this book.

Overall the premise of the story is fantastic and I feel the writing had more control to it than some of Reilly's original works. I would recommend this story to anyone who enjoys and Indiana Jones meets Tomb Raider plot. It will make you want to read/listen to the next two books in the series "The Six Sacred Stones" and "The Five Greatest Warriors".

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Robyn
  • 18-09-09

Lots of Adventure

Well put together with really interesting information . . .really good fun read

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • lonegunman
  • 23-11-08

A Modern Doc Savage

This book reminded me of the "pulps" of Doc Savage in that the plot is everything and the characters are dimensionless. Unfortunately if it is to work one has to believe in the plot and this one is just too much. The "gadgets" are just ridiculous - for example a hovering, turreted 747.
Two stars because I listened to the end and the reader didn't laugh out loud!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful