We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Secrets of the Dead Audiobook

Secrets of the Dead: Detective Robyn Carter Crime Thriller Series, Book 2

Regular Price:£23.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colorful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying 'all debts paid', Detective Robyn Carter knows it's just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognizes the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can't find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can't find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed, and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it's too late?

A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first minute till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Karin Slaughter.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (18 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.1 (16 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.5 (17 )
5 star
 (7)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 28/10/2017 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    43
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it!!!"

    enjoyed this so much , brilliant and well written
    can't wait for number three. superb character in Robyn.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pamela 27/08/2017
    Pamela 27/08/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story"

    Shame about the reader better at 1.25 speed - perhaps she should read book first as seems to stumble

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sandra strike 10/07/2017
    sandra strike 10/07/2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Terrible narration"

    Absolutely the worst narration I have ever heard. Same monotone all the way through even exciting parts were boring. I was listening to the story through a speaker and my family were asking how I could listen to the voice. Ruined a good story. I would never recommend listening to any of the authors books because of the narrator. Good author to read not listen to

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Angela M. Dokos
    Georgia
    10/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!!!"

    Another great book from Carol Wyer. She is officially one of my favorite authors. It's not about figuring out who is doing the killing in this book, it's the how and who's next that keeps you intrigued.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Rosie
    08/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great plot - disappointing narration"
    What made the experience of listening to Secrets of the Dead the most enjoyable?

    The plot was interesting although the police break with usual procedure constantly for no good reason.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Emma Newman’s performances?

    Really not sure. Her narration is stilted as if she's in primary school reading the story for the first time. Poor emphasis & inflection. It really detracts from the plot. I'm still halfway through the story & it's driving me mad. I rarely write review but just had to say something. I came believe that the 48 other reviewers thought this was adequate narration!


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    13/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Emotional rollercoaster"

    This was probably my favorite book of the Robyn Carter series so far. The story is gripping with twists and turns that you won't see coming.

    Audible 20 Review Sweepstakes Entry

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rontonio
    CA United States
    31/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator emotes too much"

    I've probably listened to 20 books read by Scott Brick, and at this point I think I'm done. His style of reading takes me out of the book. He over emphasized too many words and his voice typically rises at the end of sentences. A couple years ago he seemed to have overcome the sing song reading style, but now it's back. I had to return the book and intend to read it instead.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • ewock
    01/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good series starting. thank"

    This was an enjoyable read. Not quite as good as her first as far as the murderer's motivation. Suggest a little more research in the DSM 4 - not the 5. like the new team members and her uncle. would like all authors to drop always having a nasty boss or co-worker to trying.to outdo them. want the facts, just the facts.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • P. Jones
    Richmond, VA
    27/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amateur"
    What disappointed you about Secrets of the Dead?

    Terrible narration, as other readers said, sounds like a new teacher reading for 6 year olds. Couldn't stand it.
    The story line is cheesy and unbelievable. More like juvenile adult book.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Colette M. Cummings
    St. Louis, MO USA
    23/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really like this book!
    "

    I am becoming a fan of this series. I really like the main character . I am already looking forward to the next book. I hope she gets a promotion.
    This one is worth a credit.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Tonka
    23/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Distracting details."

    Quit reading reading when I realized that the author's preoccupation with exercise and "healthy" eating was in her first book. I found it distracting and myself wondering if author is a dietitian or has an eating disorder.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Thomas
    15/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You're wonderful Emma Watson!❤️"

    Thomas /Sarasota, Fl. / really kept me on edge. That was my sixth book narrated by you, can't wait till the next. God bless you!🙏

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.