We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Saving Sophie Audiobook

Saving Sophie: A gripping psychological thriller with a brilliant twist

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

Your daughter is in danger. But can you trust her?

When Karen Finch's 17-year-old daughter, Sophie, arrives home after a night out drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.

Twelve hours later Sophie's friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.

Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.

As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another - Sophie.

A taut psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and I Let You Go.

©2016 Sam Carrington (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"Saving Sophie is a twisted rollercoaster of a debut.... Sam Carrington is definitely one to watch out for." (Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me)
"I was hooked.... I devoured this story in one sitting. From the moment 17-year-old Sophie arrived home drunk, with no recollection of the evening, and we discover another teenage girl has gone missing, my stomach rolled with anxiety.... I was on the edge of my seat as a body was found, and when it becomes apparent that Sophie could be the next target I read through splayed fingers. Sam has a rare gift for writing.... In this book the character development is as good as the writing and I found myself really rooting for Karen and the ending made me gasp." (Louise Jensen, author of The Sister)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.5 (27 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.7 (21 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Story
3.9 (23 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    tracie 22/12/2016
    tracie 22/12/2016 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't waste a credit"

    Flaky story! Terrible characters. Very disappointed. Far-fetched, badly written drivel. Don't waste your time

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jacks247 22/12/2016
    jacks247 22/12/2016 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    68
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    31
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable"

    A bit basic and boring, maybe her debut novel? Far fetched. Wouldn't recommend if I'm honest

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • David
    Seattle, WA, United States
    14/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A real eye-roller"

    Don't let the title fool you. I don't think anyone really wants to save Sophie! The premise of the book is that 17 year old Sophie, potentially under threat from a killer who murdered her good friend, seeks comfort and guidance from her mother, an agoraphobe who suffered her own attack; and her father, an emotionally non-present forest ranger. Karen, the mother, made me want to attack her too. Her attempts to "help" her daughter were sadly lacking, and I don't know if the author meant to, but mom seems hell bent on sending Sophie right into the killer's sights. A selfish and damaged woman st best, Karen evokes no sympathy from this reader. The book earns three stars for a decent mystery underlying the terrible characters- but the story barely survives these immature and emotionally stunted characters.
    The story is told from three points of view: mom, Sophie and detective. The chapters are very short so the story seems choppy and awkward.
    The narrator did a fine job. She also narrated the book "Daisy in Chains," which would be a better use of the reader's credit.
    Overall: It's not horrible, but it's just not that good, so I can't recommend readers to pick this one up.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.