We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Poison City Audiobook

Poison City: Delphic Division, Book 1

Regular Price:£21.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

The name's Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things - finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I'm going to do to the bastard when I catch him.

I have two friends in my life. The first is my boss, Armitage, a 50-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone's mother than a cop. Don't let that fool you.

The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks. He's an alcoholic. And he's a mean drunk.

Life is pretty routine - I solve crimes, I search for my daughter's killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I'm called out to the murder of a ramanga - a low-key vampire. It looks like an open and shut case. There's even CCTV footage of the killer.

Except...the face on the CCTV footage? It's the face of the man who killed my daughter.

And that's just the beginning of the trouble I'm about to get into.

©2016 Paul Crilley (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

What the Critics Say

"A huge amount of fun." (SciFiNow)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (35 )
5 star
 (19)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.2 (33 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (33 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Colette 02/09/2016
    Colette 02/09/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    330
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    541
    91
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    30
    14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great listen"

    Really enjoyed this one. Along the lines of The Streets of London but set in Durban in South Africa. I don't know much about the country and the book gives a good sense of place. A very different dog companion to the loveable Irish Wolfhound in the Iron Druid books but he grew on me hugely. Exciting story and sets the scene for the next book. Looking forward to it.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matt 06/04/2017
    Matt 06/04/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "enthralling!"

    this audio book was really good, one of very few I actually wanted to get to the end of just to find out what happens. an original idea, delivered with passion and at the right pace... Would I listen to another book by this author? absolutely!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sarah 20/03/2017
    Sarah 20/03/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thriller tedium"

    I thought the performance was brilliant--the voices and tone were brilliant and it was almost enough to save the book, but not quite.

    There are few books I find that I've gotten so bored with that I can't actually wait until it's over; sadly this was one of them. I was hoping for a more nuanced mystery with magic thrown in; instead this delivered a loosely held together thriller that wasn't really that thrilling. It did have some moments--the exposition on religion was actually quite interesting. I found the characters unsympathetic and found myself getting bored as they were thrown in a seemingly endless series of life-threatening and yawn-inducing situations.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jo leicester, United Kingdom 14/03/2017
    Jo leicester, United Kingdom 14/03/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    94
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    147
    57
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very entertaining"

    Like other reviewers I felt this was very similar to the Rivers of London books but with more swearing and violence.
    The narration was excellent and I really hope there will be a sequel

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Fiona Oxfordshire 18/09/2017
    Fiona Oxfordshire 18/09/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    107
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    180
    72
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A really great listen!"

    I really enjoyed this book. As other reviewers have said, very like Rivers of London, maybe a little darker but the feel is similar.
    As entertaining story that draws you in - I wanted to know how it ends, and will be looking out for the next in the series.
    The narration is good, I enjoyed the voices. All round a great listen!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tod Werewolf West Yorkshire 30/06/2017
    Tod Werewolf West Yorkshire 30/06/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    64
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    52
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Durbans Harry Dresden"

    one of the best urban magical police stories for a while. A more gritty Rivers of London but in South Africa .

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Angela London, UK 22/08/2017
    Angela London, UK 22/08/2017 Member Since 2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    56
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    516
    68
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow start but revs up"

    I didn't think much of this book when I first started it and ended up 'putting it down' for a while. However when I went back to it I found it far more interesting. I wouldn't have said there was much resemblance to Harry Potter other than a wand but there was some good magic and the villains were great.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.