Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

I cannot go on like this. I feel like such a burden to you. You are young and can start again. You deserve that chance. By the time you read this, I will be dead. Do not grieve for me, for I am now without pain. Yours truly forever, Monica.

Monica suffers from chronic neuropathic pain. Every second of her life is spent in agony, and she is coping with it the best she can. However, there are whole years of her life which are a blur to her.

But when she finds a suicide note, written in her handwriting, she begins to question everything. She has no memory of writing it - so who did? And if someone tried to kill her once, what's to say they won't try again?

A listen-in-one-sitting, edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and Before I Go to Sleep.

©2015 NJ Fountain (P)2015 Hachette Audio

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Was addicted to this book from the first chapter

Absolutely brilliant book from start to finish, couldn't stop listening, great storyline, with lots of suprising twists, thoroughly enjoyed it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An intriguing beguling book

This book has been a beguiling joy to read. i thought it would be about the Detective but it was about a triangle of characters performed brilliantly by Nicola Bryant & John Banks. There are twists and turns and mysteries to be pondered. The prose that explains Monicas pain which is the crux of the book is exceptional and brings the reader into Monicas inner world. Recommended.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • katy
  • leicester
  • 08-03-16

loved this book

narrators very good. good story very real about the pain I have similar condition and could emphasise with the main character. few twists which I love in a book overall a good little read

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpected and entertaining

Really enjoyed this thriller. An unusual plot with unexpected twists to keep you guessing. The narration was good although somewhat loud and dramatic in parts so you can't relax whilst listening to this one !

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Well written but a little slow at times


I found the book a little slow at times. It did not completely hold my attention and the performance was quite annoying at times. Monica was quite repetitive and the dramatic use of her voice grated on me when she was in pain. However the storyline was quite original and the other characters were read well. The only other person who was extremely irritating was the cleaner and the use of Monica's pigeon English when conversing with her. I gave it 3 stars as it lacked tension and I found it slow for a psychological thriller.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

This was my first audio book and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed the story. The narration however was slightly irritating - from now on will listen to samples prior to purchase! Overall a great listen, would thoroughly recommend.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

worth a listen

Any additional comments?

Really unusual twist but the ending seemed like it was written by a different person. The first 3/4 of this book she talks about the "relenting horrible pain" she suffers and at the end she refers to it as "warm and glorious" Hmmmm a bit odd. none the less still a good read.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • marie
  • Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
  • 24-04-16

Horrible

This is an awful book, the narration is terrible, the language is disgusting and you need a very good volume control for it. Wish I had not read it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful