We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Noble Beginnings Audiobook

Noble Beginnings

Regular Price:£15.79
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In March of 2002, while the eyes of the world focused on Afghanistan, Jack Noble finds himself on the outskirts of Baghdad, Iraq. A Marine in name only, Jack is on loan to the CIA. Normally an integral part of the team, he finds that he is nothing more than a security detail in Iraq.

Jack and his partner Bear have a run-in with four CIA special agents over the treatment of an Iraqi family. Within hours Jack and Bear are detained.

All Jack wanted was to finish his enlistment and move on with his life. All he did was intervene and save a family from unwarranted violence at the hands of four CIA agents. But he soon discovers that he did far more than intervene. He has placed himself dead square in the middle of a conspiracy that reaches the highest levels of the US government.

This fast-paced political crime thriller by USA Today best-selling author L.T. Ryan will leave you burning through the minutes as Jack races to stop the conspiracy before it claims his life. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne should enjoy Jack Noble.

©2012 L.T. Ryan (P)2015 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (10 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.6 (10 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.8 (10 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Carôle Kent, United Kingdom 31/10/2015
    Carôle Kent, United Kingdom 31/10/2015 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    155
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    375
    146
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Noble, but no fully formed!"

    This was an interesting book, with so much promise, but the story was not fully formed, in my opinion.

    The resolution was inadequate and murky. The strands that kept you following the narrative, were very loosely tied & in some cases either non existent it unraveling!

    I shall reserve final judgment by hearing book 2. That will decide on whether I pursue the rest of the series.

    However, one bonus, the narrator was good and earned the book an extra 2 Stars!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Julia Simpson
    09/04/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great characters and story"
    What did you love best about Noble Beginnings?

    Excellent beginning to a series and character building


    What did you like best about this story?

    Characters were built wonderfully.


    Have you listened to any of Dennis Holland’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    no


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    no to long at one sitting


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • joe barocco
    Marietta, Ga, US
    29/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Forget Jack Reacher"

    This is my first book about Noble. After the radical change in Reacher in the last disappointment of a book I have been looking .
    Noble beginnings is very similar to the first Jack Reacher books. Great story telling, a really tough, tender guy, Noble is my new audio hero. I listen to a lot of books for pure fantasy . This kind of book will never win a Pulitzer but keep me in his crazy world.
    I recommend this for anybody who liked the Jack Reacher series until the author tried to broaden his horizons and failed miserably.
    Where should I go next readers ? Which book?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jerry Twomey
    Salem OR
    18/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Completely unbelievable"

    Waisted of time and Monet. Definitely not Jack Reacher or Mitch Rapp. Don't know where this is going but I certainly won't be following.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    19/04/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "pretty good"

    I did not enjoy reading all the details of the violence. other writers do it better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • drchaotica
    texas
    05/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "hated it "

    written by someone who has never been in combat. not even close to believable. Sorry Charlie no cigar.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Gerri
    Port St. Lucie, FL, United States
    08/01/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable and ...more predictable."

    The principal player, USMC Noble is concentrated more on the movements of a body (s) preparing for conflict rather than the give and take of principal protagonists. I was looking for straightforward dialogue. Instead, the mapping out of placement of hands, elbows, side, front, eyes crossed, knees buckling........... on and on .......... I'm done.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • onemoretime
    02/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Vince Flynn has me spoiled"

    The story was amateur and the characters were watered down. The narrative was very boring

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Heather
    graham, NC, United States
    26/02/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This was bad..."

    I don't know what was worse, the book or the reader. I rarely leave a bad review but this was really bad! I don't know how long ago this book was written but it reads as though a teenager wrote it. Very slow, stupid side stories, unrealistic storyline, the bad guy just hands over a full confession at the end... It was bad.
    I know there are other books in the series and I'll consider trying them, but I wouldn't waste your time or your credit in this one. Sorry.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Matthew
    28/01/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Bad story line"

    It was almost as if it was written for children with lots of killing. I was very happy when it was over.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • TODD BANISTER
    03/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unlistenable!"
    What would have made Noble Beginnings better?

    Better writing!


    Has Noble Beginnings turned you off from other books in this genre?

    Not his genre, but I will not read this author again.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Dennis Holland?

    The narrator was not great, but the book may have affected my evaluation of Dennis Holland.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disappointment and anger in having wasted my time with this work.


    Any additional comments?

    Do not waste your time or money on this work.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.