Regular price: £18.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

In March of 2002, while the eyes of the world focused on Afghanistan, Jack Noble finds himself on the outskirts of Baghdad, Iraq. A Marine in name only, Jack is on loan to the CIA. Normally an integral part of the team, he finds that he is nothing more than a security detail in Iraq.

Jack and his partner Bear have a run-in with four CIA special agents over the treatment of an Iraqi family. Within hours Jack and Bear are detained.

All Jack wanted was to finish his enlistment and move on with his life. All he did was intervene and save a family from unwarranted violence at the hands of four CIA agents. But he soon discovers that he did far more than intervene. He has placed himself dead square in the middle of a conspiracy that reaches the highest levels of the US government.

This fast-paced political crime thriller by USA Today best-selling author L.T. Ryan will leave you burning through the minutes as Jack races to stop the conspiracy before it claims his life. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne should enjoy Jack Noble.

©2012 L.T. Ryan (P)2015 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Carôle
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 31-10-15

Noble, but no fully formed!

This was an interesting book, with so much promise, but the story was not fully formed, in my opinion.

The resolution was inadequate and murky. The strands that kept you following the narrative, were very loosely tied & in some cases either non existent it unraveling!

I shall reserve final judgment by hearing book 2. That will decide on whether I pursue the rest of the series.

However, one bonus, the narrator was good and earned the book an extra 2 Stars!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Ricko454
  • 21-11-17

An okay book read by an insurance agent.....

The book and characters were just okay. The narrator had the voice of an insurance salesman or some other Wilbur Milktoast sort. It was hard to imagine bad-ass Marines with the narrative read with such an incongruous voice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Pat "never without a book...."
  • 03-05-18

Could’ve been better

Interesting storyline, however the narrator was absolutely boring! I may try another book by him depending upon who the narrator is.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Dave
  • 16-11-17

Horrific

Terrible writing. The book started out bad. But I kept listening, at first wondering if it would get better, then out of a morbid curiosity. But after five or six chapters, it was so mind numbingly bad, I had to stop.
Besides the horrible first person, the story is just bad. Characters act illogically and pointlessly just to drive a weak story forward towards nothing. The storytelling stays pretty high-level and doesn’t give much context, and when he tries to get into specifics it is inaccurate or doesn’t make sense. The authors attempt to describe weapons, tactics and action sequences was laughable.
I was hoping his could be like the Jack Reacher or Mitch Rapp books. It’s not even close. Don’t waste your time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • David W Cochrane
  • 20-08-17

No regrets in buying this one.

This production is difficult to shut off in so one may do other things. Such as to go to sleep. It is non stop action. The actions taken seem real due to the quality of the writing but at the same time we do not have too much detail. This is good so one's imagination can do some work.

This book is an introduction to a series. One is not bogged down in TMI on the characters involved. This is quite refreshing It leaves one interested in additional information in later books.

Dennis Holland has a very pleasing voice. This is the first work to which I have listened by him. The good news is he is the narrator for the entire series including a short story.

Well done L.T Ryan and Dennis Holland.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Julia Simpson
  • 09-04-17

Great characters and story

What did you love best about Noble Beginnings?

Excellent beginning to a series and character building

What did you like best about this story?

Characters were built wonderfully.

Have you listened to any of Dennis Holland’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

no

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

no to long at one sitting

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Wayne
  • 13-01-18

Excellent background novel for Jack Noble series

This 6 hour novel, Book 1 in the Jack Noble suspense thriller series, is much better than I anticipated. I'll try other books in the series. The book ends with Noble leaving is US Marine career and joining a shadowy organization. Narration is excellent.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • joe barocco
  • 29-06-17

Forget Jack Reacher

This is my first book about Noble. After the radical change in Reacher in the last disappointment of a book I have been looking .
Noble beginnings is very similar to the first Jack Reacher books. Great story telling, a really tough, tender guy, Noble is my new audio hero. I listen to a lot of books for pure fantasy . This kind of book will never win a Pulitzer but keep me in his crazy world.
I recommend this for anybody who liked the Jack Reacher series until the author tried to broaden his horizons and failed miserably.
Where should I go next readers ? Which book?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ruth H.
  • 19-07-18

“Page Turner”

Excellent storyline! I was late to work a few times because I was sitting in my car listening. I could not put it down and immediately bought the next book in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer realsteel
  • 18-07-18

Delivers the goods!

You won't find the deep answers to life addressed by L. T. Ryan, but hold onto your seat for this smack, crash, crunch, and squash, never a moment to catch your breath, adventure. Language is raw, not for kids.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Constance K Kotsios
  • 05-07-18

Noble beginnings

Enjoyed the book and narration. Interesting. However, I still prefer Vince Flynn. Flynn had a more detailed, exciting, meatier description in-depth writing. Every author has their own style. of course, he's not Flynn. I liked the book and will continue to read his other books. This was the first book of Mr. Ryans. I'm happy he's picking up the writings of Mitch Rapp. I love that kind of reading. Thank you . Good luck . I wish I could be one quarter of an author like Mr. Ryan.