Regular price: £14.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

When he was 21 James Lessiter told Henrietta Cray that he loved her before all things and so broke Catherine Lee's heart. But James has a side to him that most people do not see. When the engagement is broken off no one is sure why and Rietta refuses to explain. Twenty years later James returns to the village an extremely wealthy man. Rietta is still unmarried and Catherine is a penniless widow living in a cottage on the Lessiter estate. Trouble is inevitable, for Catherine has started to sell some of the valuable contents of the cottage to keep up a lifestyle she cannot afford but James has his suspicions and is looking forward to exposing her. He has always enjoyed seeing someone else suffer whatever the cost. When he is brutally murdered there are all too many people who would benefit from his death but fortunately Miss Silver is ready to investigate.

©1951 Patricia Wentworth (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

The first half of this was well told and tightly plotted. The characters were interesting and descriptions good. The second half was still enjoyable but more artificial.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mrs
  • ross on wye, United Kingdom
  • 08-12-14

compelling & beautifully read

What did you like most about Miss Silver Comes to Stay?

Miss Silver is so much more interesting & convincing a character than Agatha Christie's Miss Marple, and deserves to be much better known. Patricia Wentworth is excellent at invoking the post-war English village, with all its nuanced relationships. She is delightfully dry and pithy. Miss Silver comes to stay is a great "page turner", I bought it to listen to on my daily commute but found myself bringing the audio inside and continuing to listen every evening.

What other book might you compare Miss Silver Comes to Stay to, and why?

it's in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh, or Georgette Heyer's detective stories ... arguably they have narrow range of settings and a limited cast of characters, but are brought to life by taut plotting and excellent writing, with some vivid period detail

Any additional comments?

Diana Bishop's narration is excellent