We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Little Girl Lost Audiobook

Little Girl Lost: Detective Robyn Carter Crime Thriller Series, Book 1

Regular Price:£23.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A perfect family hiding disturbing secrets. A killer who wants the truth to be told. A little girl in terrible danger.

A teacher goes missing under suspicious circumstances and a man is murdered at a local reservoir. For Detective Robyn Carter, there's no obvious link between the cases. But as she starts to delve into them, her investigations lead her to Abigail, perfect wife and mother to beautiful little Izzy. What was Abigail's connection to the victims? And why is she receiving threatening messages from an anonymous number?

But as Robyn starts to inch closer to finding the killer, Izzy is abducted. Unless Robyn gets to the twisted individual in time, a little girl will die.

Gripping, fast paced and nail-bitingly tense, this serial killer thriller will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of MJ Arlidge and Angela Marsons. Discover Carol Wyer's new series today.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (83 )
5 star
 (34)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
4.1 (69 )
5 star
 (38)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (6)
Story
3.6 (69 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (10)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Roach 14/08/2017
    Roach 14/08/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very gripping book from the first line !"

    great book really enjoyed the narrative. gripping til the very end . great listen !

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Loony loo 04/07/2017
    Loony loo 04/07/2017 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not for me!"

    Too predictable for me I'm afraid and the narration was just strange, over emphasised and like a book read by Eliza from My Fair Lady...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    marie lee 06/06/2017
    marie lee 06/06/2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    "Robotic Narration"

    I am still trying to listen to this book but the narrator is so monotonous and robotic that I may have to revert to the written word instead. That is the only reason I have given it three stars.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anonymous 19/05/2017
    19/05/2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "gripping
    "

    good storyline with twists and turns on the way to the killer. a good buy...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pamela 07/05/2017
    Pamela 07/05/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I didn't want to stop listening"

    What an intriguing story, characters were so believable in this current day of disjointed families and relationships. Can't wait for the next one; obviously written by a lady who has led an interesting life to be knowledgeable about so many facets of life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sally 20/02/2017
    Sally 20/02/2017 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story - narration not so good"

    Story line is great leading you to think you know who is tormenting Abigail and then twists to another

    Narration is not too good and doesn't reflect the suspense of the storyline which is a shame - too slow and no emotion

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erika Salzeck 21/01/2017
    Erika Salzeck 21/01/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    213
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Low grade material."

    How did this get published and when it did get published, how on earth did it garner such praise from readers? Having said that on the day after Trump became President of the USA I suppose anything is possible.
    This book is poorly written, poorly constructed and poorly read. It is horribly pretentious and is peppered with cultural cut and paste moments which fit like hammered in jig saw pieces. Risable. It reads like the spouting of the checkout lady talking with a posh accent. I got to chapter 9 but am going to ask for my money back - for pity's sake.
    As to the reader - if I want simpering I can listen to Princess Diana.

    2 of 9 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Christine A Saunders
    Kentfield, CA, US
    09/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laborious story and less than stellar narration"

    I don't often write a bad review but we all know that a good narration can make a bad book better. Unfortunately, in this case, we have a poor narration making a mediocre and rather implausible story, well, mediocre. I really struggled with Emma Wyman's high pitch delivery, unusual intonation and unconvincing character voices hard to listen to, and the story felt improbable and laboured.

    40 of 40 people found this review helpful
  • S. Klinger
    Dallas, Texas USA
    11/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disturbing subject matter"

    I had to stop listening. Be warned this is about a child molester. It was just too disturbing to continue listening to.

    108 of 111 people found this review helpful
  • Lindabing
    02/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Little Girl Lost"

    I tried very hard to like this book but wasn't successful. The narrator had an accent that was irritating and she seemed as bored and detached as I was. I was disappointed with the story line as well. After 2 dreadful chapters I had to shut it off to save my sanity. There was NOTHING going on except her voice going on and on and on

    30 of 31 people found this review helpful
  • Jeanie
    16/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kept me listening for hours."

    The reason for the 4 star overall review is because I think the listeners can do without the disgusting details given during the child molestation. That's too far in my book. That aside it was an amazing book.

    41 of 43 people found this review helpful
  • Anne
    26/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "meh…"

    This story was OK.
    The narrator needs to learn how to take a pause -- especially at the end of chapters! As a result, sometimes I had no idea where we were, who was talking, what was happening and to whom!
    I predicted the ending (an ironic statement after my third sentence)

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Alice Reyns
    29/03/17
    Overall
    "Very intriguing"

    this book held my interest and I swore I knew what was going to happen and it did not happen the way I thought at all. Great book.
    Con: it was graphic as someone who has been abused I felt it very difficult to get through the beginning. I didn't read the synopsis I just put it on to keep me company on a long road trip. I did enjoy the book though.

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful
  • Lynne F
    23/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spoiled by narration"

    This is a well plotted novel - no real mystery, it's takes very little time to determine who is the culprit - but storylines are woven together well. However, I will not continue with this series as the narration is too stilted and wooden - which spoiled the book for me.

    42 of 45 people found this review helpful
  • Patricia A. Jones
    18/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best Mystery I Have Read in a While"

    This story was really good. I read/ listen to a lot of suspense and mystery books and this one really kept me on my toes, trying to figure out who the killer was. I usually figure it out very quickly but this one kept me guessing almost until the end, when the author revealed it. i liked the protagonist, Robin because she was not one of the female cops ususally portrayed in books and movies as super tough and sarcastic with a chip on their shoulder. I will definitely look forward to the next book in the series!

    18 of 19 people found this review helpful
  • Cathy J Hunter
    Broken Arrow OK
    14/04/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Annoying Self flogging character"

    Very interesting twist on murder mystery. Was a little bit hard to keep up with characters and their names. The character that I dislike the most was the baby's mother-not quite sure about her name is now-continually whined about it was all her fault and she was so sorry sorry sorry sorry. That got a little annoying. Otherwise like the detective and liked her relationship with her cousin.

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful
  • Lia
    Sutton, Australia
    01/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Repetitive And Predicable"

    The reviews and premise of the book were interesting.
    The guessing and suspecting everyone were OK. But the story way too long, 8 hours max would have been appropriate. There was over and over again reiteration. I actually skipped from paragraph 33 to 63 and did not miss out on the story line. The narrator was extremely annoying particularly while portraying the hysterical mother.
    The child abuse was a bit too gratuitous in it's description, in my opinion -not a good thing these days. Too bad, the book could have been so much better without the rambling, the clues not being connected by the detective or mother and the lack of imbuing feelings for the main characters.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.