Regular price: £12.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The young girl you have found isn't the first experiment I've carried out. She won't be the last.

A tense, unpredictable crime debut that will not only have you gripped, but will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham.

A serial killer is stalking the streets of Liverpool, gruesomely murdering victims as part of a series of infamous, unethical and deadly psychological experiments. When it becomes apparent that each victim has ties to the City of Liverpool University, DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi realise they're chasing a killer unlike any they've hunted before - one who doesn't just want his victims' bodies, but wants their minds too.

With a series of psychological twists Dead Gone will keep you guessing until the very end.

©2014 Luca Veste (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"A chilling début from a writer to watch…" (Mark Billingham)
"A darkly impressive first novel, disturbing and intelligent." (The Times)
"Gripping, unpredictable, genuinely shocking and impossible to put down, Dead Gone is a remarkable début." (Steve Mosby)
"Tense and darkly playful, Dead Gone is a cleverly constructed début thriller that explores the twisted potential for psychological experimentation." (Chris Ewan)
"Chilling, unpredictable and compulsive, this is a thrill a page rip-roaring read - Luca Veste: a welcome new name to look out for." (lovereading.co.uk)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ann D
  • Newcastle, England
  • 23-01-17

Excellent, but gruesome!

Any additional comments?

This is an excellent thriller. I genuinely couldn't put it down, and many other things in life went by the way side, as I listened hour after hour.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Cracking Good Read From This Author!

Having just finished listening to this book the first thing I did was look for another ! Unfortunately so far there are only two books but I shall certainly be on the lookout for any further offerings from this talented crime writer....it also helps that he uses the brilliant Johnathan Keeble to bring life to his excellent storyline! Bravo !

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A very enjoyable read.

An emotive story line that immediately grabs the readers attention.
I found this book very easy to read and the story moved on quickly and I found I couldn't put it down. I loved the Liverpool link and the references to places and street names in the city.
Jonathan Keeble gives a sterling performance despite some rocky Scouse accents..

An very enjoyable and easy read. I look forward to more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

I've found another Diamond!!!

Great story, kept me guessing until the last chapter which is unusual in a now saturated market. I tried this author after rating the narrator as 5* in another series. I'm thrilled to have found another intelligent and obviously well researched series. If you're a fan of the fictional Criminology genre, give this series a go! Well done to all involved, a great audiobook!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I found this very repetitive and drawn out. the DCI in charge of the investigation must be one of the poorest police officers yet. He was insecure, indecisive with an unprofessional temper. I believe there could have been a good story except for the above. I wil not read another book from this author

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Brilliant book a must read.
Narrator is really good and really describes the characters well.
Get it and enjoy it

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Addictive

Excellent story. Good pace. Well read. Full of twists and turns. Murphy is a believable character who creates empathy in the reader.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Oh! My lord

Any additional comments?

Not sure where to start but, here goes. There's a thing about rank in the police, this is an observation about a number of police procedural books, as far as I understand it police forces comprise of specialist teams lead by sergeants. Inspectors, chief inspectors and above spend the majority of their time behind desks and not chasing around solving crime which makes the partnership in this book unlikely.

This is pretty standard fair, damaged senior cop, inexperienced side-kick. There are a growing number of victims of a serial killer who have been done to death by a build your own psychopath. There are a number of "there's something I'm missing, if only I could put my finger on that thing in the back of my mind" moments. There's a bit of a red herring going on with the boyfriend of one of the abductees that kind of fizzles out.

The police don't realy do anything worth speaking of, always describing themselves and each other as being exhausted just before going home for a pizza while an investigation into a triple murder is mounted by about four or five individuals.

Then there is the unspeakable Scouse accent delivered by the reader. Unspeakable.

I listened to the end so you don't have to.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Gripping and thrilling

This is the 1st time I have read this authors book its not for for the fainthearted and you are drawn into the lives of everyone involved

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Dreadful book

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

Less of the 'f' word. I don't like flashbacks either..

What was most disappointing about Luca Veste’s story?

Overuse of the 'F' word.

What does Jonathan Keeble bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I always enjoy Jonathan's narrations. His use of dialects and female voices is excellent.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Dead Gone?

All those 'F' words, and flashbacks.

Any additional comments?

Returning for a refund as I have no intentions of listening to the rest of it. Will not be buying anymore from this author again.