Regular price: £16.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The outstanding thriller from New York Times best seller Erica Spindler.

Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Karen Rose, Erica Spindler is master of classic crime fiction and the twist you won't see coming.

Alex Owens knows very little about her childhood or who she really is - her only family an absent, emotionally fragile mother. Alex has always felt something was missing and has spent most of her life searching for what that could be. 

When an infant's remains are unearthed, Alex realises she has a connection to the case. Suddenly long-lost memories start flooding in, leading her back to a small town in California and to dark and terrifying nightmares that haunt her every waking moment.

Greeted with silence and suspicion, Alex is determined to get to the heart of a secret no one wants to see uncovered. As violent deaths and a series of pagan rituals terrify the tightly-knit community, Alex is forced to confront the terrible truth about a single night that changed her family's lives for ever....

©2010 Erica Spindler (P)2012 Hachette Digital

Critic reviews

"Pulse-pounding, page-turning, absolutely can't put it down." (Lisa Gardner)

"Neat, taut and written with panache that forces you to turn each page." (Daily Mail)

"I can put Spindler on my growing list of favourite crime-fiction authors." (Evening Standard)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

Would you listen to Blood Vines again? Why?

I would definitely read this again. I haven't enjoyed a story like this for quite some time!
Gripping, mysterious, twisting.... absolutely great!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Alex was a very interesting character

Which character – as performed by Jennifer Woodward – was your favourite?

Had to be Alex. Beautifully represented

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, I had to find things to do in which I could carry on listening!

Any additional comments?

Best for a while.... Loved it :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sean
  • COLCHESTER, United Kingdom
  • 22-06-14

Brilliant Story

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would certainly recommend this novel - it is gripping and keeps you on the edge of your seat! I bought this in a buy one get one free audible promotion and I am very glad that I did!

What did you like best about this story?

It was the way that the characters developed!

What does Jennifer Woodward bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Her voices and characterization is very entertaining.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I liked the feeling of excitement that this book gave me and the resolution was unexpected and very enjoyable.

Any additional comments?

Give it a go its a really good listen!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • London
  • 19-03-15

Slightly soapy thriller

What did you like best about Blood Vines? What did you like least?

The story is fast-paced and suspenseful, but the characters, including the protagonist, are a bit one-dimensional and some of the plot twists are not very credible.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The most interesting thing is the murder mystery at the centre of the story, the least interesting to me was the love story.

Which character – as performed by Jennifer Woodward – was your favourite?

None of the characters really stood out to me.

If this book were a film would you go see it?

Quite possibly.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

american crime mystery

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

was put off by the American accent (I know that sounds daft with it being set in America) but easy to listen to if slightly predictable

Would you be willing to try another book from Erica Spindler? Why or why not?

yes but not my first choice