We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Blood Truth Audiobook

Blood Truth: The Rick Cahill Series

Regular Price:£22.89
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A hard-boiled PI novel for fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald, and Dashiell Hammett.

Rick Cahill has long feared the truth about his own blood - the blood of his father coursing through his veins.

When a long-hidden safe unlocks clues about why his father was kicked off the police force 27 years ago and then spiraled into an early drunken death, Rick determines to find the truth, even if it proves the one thing he's always feared.

But as he grapples with his father's past, the woman he still loves pleads with him to find out if her husband is having an affair - or is involved in something much more sinister. Could the truth send her back into Rick’s arms? Would he have a last shot at happiness? He may never get the chance to find out, as killers who will do anything to protect their secrets lurk in the shadows.

©2017 Matt Coyle (P)2017 Matt Coyle

What the Critics Say

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tim Dearing 27/01/2018
    Tim Dearing 27/01/2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, really well read"

    The style of the narration and story was that of a traditional 1920's private investigator and although this could come across as a bit "cheesy" it was great. it was very entertaining and i would always look forward to driving to work to listen to the next part.
    Well worth a listen....who doesn't like a little bit of cheese every now and again...

    This audiobook was given by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Lia
    Sutton, Australia
    28/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Great Story With Lots Of Action"

    This is my first Matt Cole book and I am so impressed with the book I have already purchased the first book of the series. Storytelling is a skill and Coyle has got it. This book is one that is easy to get into and keeps you interested till the end.
    It’s a story about bitterness and dying inside day by day. Its a story about wondering who your father really was inside and what the clues about him really mean. Was a hero or a crook? It’s a story about swindlers, cheats, and conspiracies. It’s a private eye story set in the modern age in San Diego and La Jolla with many of the traditional moorings such as a lone wolf st odds with the local police, run ins with the local scion of wealth, and mobsters hovering in the background. A lot of fun to listen.

    I was given a free copy of this book for an honest and unbiased review.

    Travis Baldree was outstanding with the delivery story.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  • Karen M.
    13/02/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Action-Packed Mystery"

    Blood Truth is Book 4 in the Rick Cahill Series but can easily be enjoyed as a standalone. With lots of action and two great storylines, I was hooked from the beginning. Terrific writing and interesting characters made the 10+ hours fly by. Secrets from the past will finally be revealed, as well as those of his ex-girlfriend's husband. But what will Rick do with the information?

    Another highlight of this story was the outstanding narration of Travis Baldree. He did a wonderful job of drawing me in and holding my interest throughout. Blood Truth was a great listening experience and I would recommend it.

    I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. This review is my honest opinion.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amanda
    IL United States
    13/02/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good cold case mystery"

    Excellent narration of a great cold case mystery. Rick is a PI, ex cop who doesn’t have a great reputation with the local police. After his ex contacts him to investigate her husband for a simple case of adultery adultery, events are set in motion that bring him face to face with his fathers alleged corruption. It was an excellent story that I also found frustrating and anxiety provoking. The cops are sooo irritatingly stupid and pompous to Rick. This is my first in the series and it is fine as a stand alone, but I will be seeking out the others so I can understand Rick’s situation better. I received a free review copy of this book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • kelly lauffenburger
    12/02/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Mystery!!"

    This story had me from the start! Travis Baldree did a great job with the narration! I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Johnny
    New York
    11/02/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rick Cahill Series"

    I felt that the story dragged on a bit for me. It was tough getting through the full 10 hours and found myself not being fully engaged in the story. This is a mystery book but nothing special to me.

    I was given this Audiobook for free in exchange for an honest review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Max
    31/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Honestly very well written book!!! "
    Where does Blood Truth rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I would give it solid 7.5


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Of course it was the main character


    What about Travis Baldree’s performance did you like?

    I loved his intonation, and his ability to impersonate voices


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It made me alert and interested. This book is extremely addictive. I listened to it while I was driving to school and back and it was hard to leave my car sometimes, because the story was very interesting.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Brittany
    LUMBERTON, NC, United States
    27/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "absolutely great book"

    This book was amazing I wish I had listen to the others in this series. I loved the whole story line and I was unfamiliar with Ricks story. I loved the 2 story lines going on at the same time. A wonderful P.I. story with secrets at very turn! This book is more than worth a credit and without reading the others in the series I can guarantee they are worth reading!! The author created the best protagonist that a mystery could ask for who is Rick and what will he/wont he do to solve his father's "crimes"?!! A maybe bad guy and surprise good guy all rolled into one! I received this book for free for an honest review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Susan Patterson
    25/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Everybody has secrets!"

    A story of painful regrets of not trusting and not forgiving.

    Love the sarcastic humor of super-sleuth Rick Cahill.

    Travis Baldree's narration brought the characters to life.

    I was given a free review copy of this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Kelly watley
    Beaumont tx
    24/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A heady tale in genuine noir style!!"

    "The storyline is crisp and moves at an enjoyable pace. There is humor, which is sometimes dark, but will have you chuckling out loud.... I truly enjoyed reading Blood Truth and look forward to reading the whole Rick Cahil series.
    The narration is impeccable.. Travis Baldree gives an masterful performance of the characters depth and style that I have not in quite some time.. !!

    This book is heady, and interesting, a being a fan of the Noir genre I have to say it's a must read.!!!
    "I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review." 

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Anita Ewing
    24/01/18
    Overall
    "Rick Cahill is at it again."

    In this one Rick finds out exactly what happened to his dad. He continues his snarky self serving ways. The narrator does justice to the story. A must. I received this audio book for free at my request and voluntarily reviewed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.