Regular price: £22.89

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

A hard-boiled PI novel for fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald, and Dashiell Hammett.

Rick Cahill has long feared the truth about his own blood - the blood of his father coursing through his veins.

When a long-hidden safe unlocks clues about why his father was kicked off the police force 27 years ago and then spiraled into an early drunken death, Rick determines to find the truth, even if it proves the one thing he's always feared.

But as he grapples with his father's past, the woman he still loves pleads with him to find out if her husband is having an affair - or is involved in something much more sinister. Could the truth send her back into Rick’s arms? Would he have a last shot at happiness? He may never get the chance to find out, as killers who will do anything to protect their secrets lurk in the shadows.

©2017 Matt Coyle (P)2017 Matt Coyle

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Even mo than the truth.

Rick's father had been a cop for 22 years, respected by all and loved and admired by his son. Until suddenly, after the killing of a man named Phelps, a murder still unsolved 28 years later, Charlie Cahill was suspected of being dirty, of taking mob money, and dismissed from the force. He turned to drink, his wife left him, and he spiralled downwards to die an alcoholic just 8 years later. By then the respect that Rick had held for him was gone. His father had not lived by the code that he'd preached.

The discovery of an old hidden safe in the house they had lived in revealed a gun, a key to a bank safe deposit box and an envelope containing fifteen thousand dollars. For Rick it was the final proof that the rumours were true - his dad had been dirty. But why had he not touched the money even when the family had struggled so hard to make ends meet? He wished the revived memories would go away.
Then a new job, the usual, following a man whose wife thinks he is cheating on her. But it isn't quite a normal case - the wife is Kim who he had loved and lost. And it looked as if Kim's husband was guilty as expected, disappearing for 90 minutes into an hotel room with Sophie, a rather beautiful woman. Photos were taken, results shown to Kim. But there was more going on than simple infidelity

This exciting and well constructed book alternates with action and then quieter, more introspective periods, just long enough for the reader to catch their breath before one again p!unging into the set and furious. The characterisations are good, three dimensional, and Rick himself could walk off the page and mingle, a fully fledged real person. He's clever at what he does but not infallible, pleasant enough but it really nice and his past is still influencing him, both the good and the bad. A loner, with a touch of the loser.

Rick is beautifully interpreted by narrator, Travis Baldree. His voice, slightly downbeat and noir, has perfect pacing and is a pleasure to hear, well modulated, conveying quietly the full emotional impact of the story. Other protagonist voices are also distinctive and appropriate. His performance carries the book forward, adding to the already good story.

My thanks to the rights holder of Blood Truth who, at my request, gifted me with a complimentary copy via Audiobook Boom. This is the second book that I have read in the Rick Cohill series, but stands alone, no previous readings necessary. However, I will certainly be looking out for more books by author Matt Coyle and, hopefully Mr.Baldree, and i have no hesitation in recommending this book to anyone who enjoys a good detective based mystery thriller, full of action but not at the expense of story, peopled by well constructed believable characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story, really well read

The style of the narration and story was that of a traditional 1920's private investigator and although this could come across as a bit "cheesy" it was great. it was very entertaining and i would always look forward to driving to work to listen to the next part.
Well worth a listen....who doesn't like a little bit of cheese every now and again...

This audiobook was given by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom.