We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Betrayal Audiobook

Betrayal

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The 23rd novel from Sunday Times number one best seller Martina Cole, author of Dangerous Lady, The Take, Get Even and many more.

Martina's unique, powerful storytelling will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.

Survival. It's all down to who you trust.

Aiden O'Hara has been head of the family since he was kid, and he's going to keep it that way.

Jade Dixon is the one who watches his back. Mother of his son. The one who makes him invincible.

But Jade's been in the game a lot longer than Aiden. She knows no one's indestructible. And when you're at the top, that's when you've got to watch the hardest.

Especially the ones closest to you....

©2016 Martina Cole (P)2016 Headline Digital

What the Critics Say

"The undisputed queen of crime writing." (Erwin James)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (227 )
5 star
 (130)
4 star
 (46)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (14)
Overall
4.0 (196 )
5 star
 (102)
4 star
 (43)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (19)
Story
4.4 (195 )
5 star
 (127)
4 star
 (40)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mrs Jody Whitehouse 31/10/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't waste your credit on this book"

    Throughout this book I felt frustrated and did not enjoy it. I love Martina Cole books but this book lacked any lustre and storyline. It felt like Martina had to write this book to meet some sort of contract deadline, not because she wanted to.
    The content was very repetitive. How many times can you fit sayings like "getting on like a proverbial house on fire." The pages were just being filled.
    The book lacked any emotion and the characters were churned up from other books but with different names.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    gambling_man UK 30/10/2016
    gambling_man UK 30/10/2016 Member Since 2017

    PJ565

    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very poor"

    Huge fan of Martina Cole but I struggled to finish it. dreadful story poor plot. Very disappointing

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    bee xXx 17/02/2017
    bee xXx 17/02/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Struggled!"

    As a massive fan of Martina cole i needed to read this even after mediocre reviews. Admittedly I found it hard. Took a month to listen to when other books of hers were done in days. Some words repeated throughout & the story seemed a little worn, cheesy & predictable at times.
    I'm waiting for the next Kimberly chambers to be put on audio, afraid to say, martina cole may have had her day.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Al Adams 01/11/2016
    Al Adams 01/11/2016 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Al True"

    A similar format to many of the great Martina Cole books, but it works brilliantly and the characters jump off the page and make you feel involved.

    Martina is able to bring Cockney rhyming slang humour to play, even in the most intense situations.

    A really enjoyable read

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rose 24/10/2016
    Rose 24/10/2016 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "know where as good as the earlyer books"

    I have been a fan since the first book but I've found that the last three have been a let down,

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    G. A. Dunk 19/05/2017
    G. A. Dunk 19/05/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed "

    The story would have only been about 5 chapters long if it wasn't for Martina Cole's ability to say the same thing in a thousand different ways. She has supast herself with this one. The narration was fantastic as always by Annie Aldington and is the only reason I managed to finish the book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Madelene 19/04/2017
    Madelene 19/04/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Waste of time"

    Terrible storyline and dialogue. Swearing for the sake of it. Endless repetition of phrases. Finished the book but felt like a drag at times.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebecca 13/01/2017
    Rebecca 13/01/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Easy read but perhaps lacks a bit of substance"

    Interesting story, developed quickly. good to hear from different points of view although would have liked to hear more thoughts/opinions on the big events from more of the main characters.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    barry COLCHESTER, United Kingdom 26/11/2016
    barry COLCHESTER, United Kingdom 26/11/2016 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    133
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Repetertive rubbish"

    This will be the last book I buy from mrs cole it's the same old story now over and over again same language used I.e the burn the earn she wrote this story so many times in slightly different ways and what really drives me crazy is the way she repeats herself over and over again we know who the boss is we know that jade runs things we know the main man would be lost without jade and we know the mother and her ways but I timed 5 minutes in one part repeating the relationships between the main people before a word is spoken between 2 characters in the book This must be the only book I have that would be better abridged To me cole is lazy now and just plagiarings herself the last book was the same the narrator does a fine job as she's read the same stuff over and over before for M cole. Boring

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jo Thomas. 22/11/2016
    Jo Thomas. 22/11/2016 Member Since 2012

    Dizzy,busy & fizzy.. Reading is my passion, always has been since a small child. Every spare moment I have i'm reading in one way or another

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Same old same old."
    Would you try another book written by Martina Cole or narrated by Annie Aldington?

    I love Martina Cole. Loved her for years but apart from the odd few all these books seem to be running into one. Give me more like George Markham or Susan Dalstan or Briony.
    Come on Martina. Change it up a bit..... ☹️️


    Has Betrayal put you off other books in this genre?

    Oh yes


    Would you listen to another book narrated by Annie Aldington?

    Yes.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Betrayal?

    Lol. All of em.


    Any additional comments?

    The last thing we need is another east end gangster

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.