We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Anatomy of a Scandal Audiobook

Anatomy of a Scandal

Regular Price:£14.39
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him.

Gripping psychological drama for fans of Apple Tree Yard, The Good Wife and Notes on a Scandal.

Anatomy of a Scandal centres on a high-profile marriage that begins to unravel when the husband is accused of a terrible crime. Sophie is sure her husband, James, is innocent and desperately hopes to protect her precious family from the lies which might ruin them. Kate is the barrister who will prosecute the case - she is equally certain that James is guilty and determined he will pay for his crimes.

A high-profile marriage thrust into the spotlight. A wife, determined to keep her family safe, must face a prosecutor who believes justice has been a long time coming. A scandal that will rock Westminster. And the women caught at the heart of it.

©2017 Sarah Vaughan (P)2017 Simon & Schuster

What the Critics Say

"A compelling and cautionary story about how we can never truly know someone else; how even after twelve years of marriage, a wife might not know everything about her husband. Brilliant, shocking, and gripping, once I started, I couldn't stop reading." (Claire Fuller, best-selling author of Our Endless Numbered Days)

"That rare book that combines great writing, spot-on characterisation and a compulsive, page-turning narrative. I read it in one breathless day. Set against a fascinating backdrop of the Houses of Parliament, the Old Bailey and Oxford University, think House of Cards meets The Secret History. Meticulously researched, this is an outstanding read." (Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle)

"A whip-smart, grown-up thriller with a hugely relevant moral question at its core." (Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (325 )
5 star
 (202)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.4 (294 )
5 star
 (177)
4 star
 (69)
3 star
 (34)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.6 (301 )
5 star
 (210)
4 star
 (70)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Cat 14/01/2018
    Cat 14/01/2018 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    52
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    262
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unputdownable"

    I devoured it in a weekend. Absolutely brilliant, best thing I’ve read since Apple Tree Yard. Cannot recommend enough!

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melanie Preston Lewis London 18/01/2018
    Melanie Preston Lewis London 18/01/2018 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    95
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    187
    144
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    This is a really very good story that I think would be perfect for the small screen. I don't know if It's because I have a very tenuous link with Oxford University, (my sister went), that made it all the more enjoyable. Maybe enjoyable isn't the right word, because at times, the book is so searingly honest, it's difficult to listen to. But the truth can hurt and Ms Vaughan doesn't shy away from making us face up to some very hard emotional veracity. However, it's all done with panache and good taste, so by the time you realise you've received instruction in morals and ethical behaviour, you're able to take it with good grace. All the narrators do well, but can someone please check how to pronounce the word "chutzpah"? The "ch" is not hard as in "chair"!

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kaggy 06/02/2018
    Kaggy 06/02/2018 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1368
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    252
    243
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    179
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tense, engrossing and very topical"


    This is a gripping story about people in power, not because they want to do public good but because it is career, for which they have a deep sense of entitlement. The characters are intelligently written and despite their outrageous actions, are sadly very believable. There is very little here that didn't make my blood boil which was great because I felt totally committed to the wronged people in this story and to the final very satisfying resolution of this murky tale.
    This is edge of the seat stuff which relies more on the interaction of the characters than physical action, and some of the exchanges are brilliantly written. In fact I would go as far to say that it challenged some of the prejudices I never realised I held, and it is a real eye opener to be educated by a piece of fiction. The narrators were faultless and really added to the whole experience. This comes highly recommended by me.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kirstine 31/01/2018
    Kirstine 31/01/2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4280
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    640
    530
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2504
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Important subject diminished by bias"

    I realize that I am in a small minority when I say that I did not enjoy this book. It has been compared to Appletree Yard, but I think it is not nearly as subtle in the handling of a sensitive subject and displays a too obvious partisan agenda by the author. The main theme of Anatomy of a Scandal is whether a woman has been raped by a former partner, when there’s no evidence of violence. It’s a crime that is difficult to prove one way or another as it depends almost entirely on the credibility of the parties in the witness box, but is an important topic that could have been handled better. The story is too black and white with little nuance or any consideration that in some instances women may also be economical with truth.

    The author prepares the listeners’ mind by demonising the accused male based on his drunken and destructive exploits many years earlier as a member of an Oxford university drinking club and characterises this kind of obnoxious behaviour as one of over-weaning self-confidence based on a privileged background when it is just as likely among a minority of young men from all strata of society. Life for women undergraduates at the university in the 1990s is portrayed as one of incessant predation by fellow male students. Altogether I felt that too much of the narrative was spent with descriptions of the shenanigans of Oxford undergraduates.


    The narration by several voices is good.

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Simon 21/01/2018
    Simon 21/01/2018 Member Since 2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4636
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    452
    446
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    725
    17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Against a Tie and a Crest!"

    She thought she was smart when she took them on but she didn't take a peak in their artillery room . . . with apologies to Paul Weller!

    Sarah Vaughan has written an absolute stick of dynamite and thrown it right at the over-privileged classes in a massively relevant drama. Although these are fictional characters she sticks her oar quite literally into the murky world of the old boys networks of our premiere universities. It's a book that explores the crushing arrogance of *some* of the upper classes and how their sheer arrogance and sense of entitlement, almost medieval in its nature, can wreak untold damage on all around them. There are references to Oxbridge, rich kids, dining clubs and how those same people have come to bring such damage to our country with their unsympathetic wielding of the power given to them.

    The book is odd in the sense that most of the characters emerge with little credit to their names though there are a couple of great examples of nobility; that's the genuine characteristic not the inherited titular version! The book is well-suited to the four narrators and while it does take a bit of time to really get going the courtroom scenes in particular are genuinely powerful.

    Sarah Vaughan - what a catalyst she's turned out to be - definitely one to watch!

    5 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mrs s j knox 16/01/2018
    mrs s j knox 16/01/2018 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best book in a long time "

    And beautifully written. I wish I could remember all the descriptions used - painting with words

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judith 22/02/2018
    Judith 22/02/2018
    HELPFUL VOTES
    205
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    302
    127
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nicely rounded story. "

    I was a little worried that the story could have been somewhat pedestrian. Had it finished at the court case I feel it would have been. However, it continued until the anatomy of the affair had been dissected.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sally Grehan 22/02/2018
    Sally Grehan 22/02/2018 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story about the complexity of life"

    I loved how it went back and forth in time to tell the story rather than a linear timeline. It kept revealing secrets which impacted on present day.
    It shows the complexity of decisions made in relationships and how events in the past come back to haunt you.
    It kept me enthralled to the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lassieduff 20/02/2018
    lassieduff 20/02/2018 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of the best yet "

    This book totally hooked me from the start. Amazing narration and an utterly believable story. Superb writing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 18/02/2018 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    65
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    120
    37
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    26
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "average"

    This was relatively easy to listen to but I was surprised it got such rave reviews. my biggest annoyance was the repeated use of the word
    'for which she seemed to use a ridiculous amount of times , did no one edit the book first? overall it was okay.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.