Listen free for 30 days

Coming Home to Wishington Bay

Narrated by: Gloria Sanders
Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
4 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Home is where the heart is....

Holly doesn’t have time for a holiday this year. But when her job threatens to send her over the brink, her boss insists she take a sabbatical. So she packs her bags and escapes to her beloved grandmother Gigi’s house on Wishington Bay, which has sat empty since Gigi passed away. 

But Holly’s dreams of a coastal escape take an unexpected turn. Holly didn’t expect to spend time with any man this summer - let alone an Aussie Adonis...but when she meets her next door neighbour Gabe and his little dog Bryan, it’s clear her quiet summer of strolling along the sand and wandering through the seaside village’s tiny streets on her own will come with a hefty dose of distraction. 

With a summer to fill and Gigi’s wonderful and surprising house to sort through, Holly knew it would be a summer packed with old memories. She just didn’t expect to make so many new ones....

Coming Home to Wishington Bay is the new gorgeous uplifting rom-com from Maxine Morrey, perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Tilly Tennant! 

©2019 Maxine Morrey (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A novel about nothing

I normally like romantic comedy, but there needs to be a story. This was very thin indeed. Holly inherits her aunt's cottage by the sea, she plans to sell it before going back to her bad and stressful job that's giving her anxiety attacks. She meets next door neighbour, a gorgeous Aussie doctor who surfs.
Everyone wants her to end up with gorgeous Aussie doctor who surfs including, his family, her family and even her dead aunt.
Problem: Holly apparently cant see that quitting her awful job that's giving her panic attacks in favour of staying in the seaside village she's always loved in the house she's always loved with gorgeous Aussie doctor who surfs and buys her chocolates and flowers might be the way to go.
This could have been done in two chapters, instead the author pads it out with pages and pages and pages of nothing.
Boring conversations about nothing that go nowhere. It was hard work to stop my mind wandering, you could literally skip 4 chapters at a tie and not miss anything.
What made it worse - and this may be a personal preference - is the performance. the reader relied far too much on Australian accent to convey personality. Where she could have made him sound romantic, or amused or caring, she just made him Australian. it got very annoying towards the end

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MauRanchGldnrtvrs
  • MauRanchGldnrtvrs
  • 10-07-19

Delightful story!

I thought this story was well developed. The female protagonist is like many women who don't see their own strengths and beauty. The male protagonist is unusual to me from my age group but more common to the younger ages as they don't 'play the field' as was more common in the '60s-'80s. Listening to the development of their relationship was fun and definitely kept my interest. Looking forward to more from this author.