Listen free for 30 days

Christa's Luck

The Story of a Girl, Her Horse, and the Last Wild Mustangs
Narrated by: Becky Parker
Length: 9 hrs and 47 mins
5.0 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Christa Cassidy is a teen cowgirl who loves horses more than anything. She is willing to risk everything in order to keep the wild mustang herds near her home in Nevada free from capture...especially a legendary band of mustangs known as the Lost Herd. Christa inspires her sister, her best friend, and her best friend's brother (her first crush) to join in her quest. When a tragic accident breaks Christa's heart and her spirit, only the Lost Herd can bring her back to life. But then a storm traps the mustangs in a flooded canyon and Christa will need more than luck to save them.

Inspired by a real horse rescue, this story is about Christa's fascination with an endangered herd of wild horses and how her special connection with them inspires her to look beyond her own unforgivable mistakes and try again. She rises up to become a horse advocate at 14, whose passion and heart move an entire town to take action. In the vein of Wild Horse Annie, The Horse Whisperer, and The Black Stallion, Christa's Luck is an epic adventure story of courage, friendship, and freedom.

Note to adults: Although Christa's Luck is young adult fiction, you can still enjoy this novel even if you don't know Taylor Swift's songs by heart, who One Direction is, what Snapchat is, or whether Wrangler jeans are cooler than Levi's.

©2015 Michael Grais and Jennifer Grais (P)2017 Michael Grais and Jennifer Grais

What listeners say about Christa's Luck

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story 😃

Really enjoyed this. As an adult reader, it took me back to my horsey days. Very enjoyable.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trevor
  • Trevor
  • 10-08-17

beautifully told, the connection of horse & human

I was enthralled with with captivating performance of this beautiful, true to live take off the connection between horses and humans. thank you for this story!

2 people found this helpful