Regular price: £19.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Being able to detect black magic isn't all tea and crumpets, and for Theodosia Throckmorton, it can be a decidedly tricky business! When Sticky Will drags Theo to a magic show featuring the Great Awi Bubu, she quickly senses there is more to the magician than he lets on, setting in motion a chain of events she never could have bargained for.

Meanwhile, back at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities, Henry is home for the spring holidays and makes an accidental discovery of an artifact that alchemists have been hunting for centuries. Soon, every black-cloaked occultist in London is trying to get their hands on it.

©2010 R.L. LaFevers (P)2010 Audible, Inc.

Critic reviews

"Once again, supernaturally talented Theodosia navigates around her etiquette-obsessed grandmother and absentminded parents in a suspenseful, satisfying fantasy that’s filled with the specifics of magical ritual sure to delight readers who miss the goings-on at Hogwarts." ( Booklist)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • hugh
  • Ireland
  • 10-11-13

wonderful performance

What did you like most about Theodosia and the Eyes of Horus?

A well crafted story great use of language an story intelligently told not patronising to its young audience

Have you listened to any of Charlotte Parry’s other performances? How does this one compare?

several they are all great

Any additional comments?

please record book 4

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this book is AWESOME

well all I can say is this book is AWESOME and it is a must listen book 😀💖💑🐾🐻🐕🐶🐈

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Moonlighter
  • 20-02-13

great book

What did you love best about Theodosia and the Eyes of Horus?

The vivid descriptions and wonderful story

What did you like best about this story?

creative and believable

Any additional comments?

Wonderful now awaiting the next book I already have the hardback copy and really can't wait for the audiobook

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Grant
  • 27-05-10

We want more!

This is the third book in the series, they are best read in sequence. We enjoyed all the unexpected twists and turns. Not only is it an excellent mystery/mythology novel. It also has great friendship, family and trust themes. My nine year old daughter loved the series.
If you enjoyed this; we recommend The Bartimaeus trilogy, or try a bit of a step up to the Eola Holmes series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-04-18

Exciting, intriguing series!

The Theodosia series is excellent for fantasy and Egyptology fans! It's suspenseful and exciting, with interesting historical info., without being dry. Theodosia is a brave, resourceful heroine whose first line of action is research and whose favorite weapon is. Leverkusen wielded knowledge. Vivid characters, realistic relationships, magic and intrigue. Very highly recommended for fans of Harry Potter, Chronicles of Narnia, Percy Jackson, and other fantasy/suspense series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Moonlight
  • 04-10-17

My daughter loves this book series

It's funny, educational, engaging and with excellent performance from narrator

But Book four "Theodosia and the Last Pharaoh" has been published for years!! Where's the Audiobook?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 18-07-17

Excellent! Very well written

Excellent narration, quirky characters come alive.
I'm looking forward to next book in the series.
Very well written.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jab vb
  • 27-01-17

Great book for kids

We have a 30 minute drive to school, and listen to audio books to fill the time. This is the third in the Theodosia series and was great as always. My 8 year old daughter loves these types of historical fiction books. Sad the fourth book isn't on Audible yet. Also check out the Kane Chronicles series if you like these.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 29-10-15

Love it

We loved this book, with only one flaw. WE NEED THE NEXT BOOK IN THE SERIES!!!!