Regular price: £13.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Puffin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of The Racehorse Who Wouldn't Gallop, written and read by Clare Balding.

Charlie Bass is a horse-mad nine-year-old who dreams of owning her own pony. So when her eccentric parents announce that they are going to buy a racehorse, Charlie is thrilled.

The horse they buy, Noble Warrior, looks the part: strong, fit and healthy. There's just one problem - he won't gallop. In fact he won't even trot round the field without his best friend, Percy, a naughty palomino pony, at his side. But Charlie is convinced that Noble Warrior has what it takes to be a champion - he just needs the right motivation....

A classic, funny animal story perfect for fans of Dick King-Smith and My Family and Other Animals.

©2016 Clare Balding (P)2016 Penguin Audio Books

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lighthearted and satisfying.

Alright, I know, it is a childrens book; but you don't stop loving horses when you get to be an old lady!

I loved the characters and the whole theme of the story. A lovely escape from mundane everyday problems.

The narration by the author is an absolute bonus because she reads it as she intended it to be read - if that makes sense.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I had goose bumps following the race

what a great humbling story. loved it very much . couldn't put it down 😁

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So excited to share this with my class!

We are using this book as a class read! My Year Three class are going to love this! Clare Balding did a Stirling job with the audio! Even my mum has asked to listen to it as well! There were many funny moments!! Well done on a great book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Book

Fantastic story with great narration by Claire. Made me cry but happy tears. Would totally recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Extraordinary book!

I loved this book because the author really thought about writing an interesting and engaging story. This book will appeal to anyone who loves horses and horse racing. Review by Oliver , aged 7.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprise

I bought this book after hearing Claire talk about it on the radio, a children's book I thought but could be OK. Well, what a surprise! It was wonderful, the story is brilliant making me (a grown woman of rather mature years) laugh and cry in equal measure. Claire is fabulous as the narrator and her joy in her writing as well as her knowledge shines through. If you want a good time read, whether you love horses, dogs , cows or not, this is most definitely one to listen too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it, excellent Clare Balding.

I hope you write another one soon. Happy Christmas and a healthy new year x

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The racehorse that would not gallop

I liked it because it is fun and funny
I like the fact you use enfaces

0 of 1 people found this review helpful