Listen free for 30 days

Children of Telm: The Complete Trilogy

Narrated by: Simon Vance
Series: Children of Telm, Book 1-3
Length: 25 hrs and 13 mins
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The complete epic fantasy trilogy set in the world of Iraldas, where gods and mortals mingle, collected together for a huge, immersive fantasy adventure.

With the Beast, Agon, threatening to break free from his chains in the Underworld, the surviving bloodline of the dead god Telm are tasked with stopping his reign of destruction. 

From small skirmishes to epic battles, this series shows the struggles of war between good and evil. From fell spirits to forces of nature, and the moral quandaries facing people of different beliefs, The Children of Telm explores the trials of life and death, the mysteries of magic, the power of words, and the fight for hope in the face of darkness. 

Join Ifferon on a journey across the world of Iraldas that will lead him to brave new companions, through the ordeals of many peoples, the siege of many lands, and to an epic conclusion where a torn world is forced to unite or perish.

This enchanting series invokes the glory days of epic fantasy, with whole new worlds, maps, races, languages, and an entire mythology where the line between gods and man blurs. 

Enter the world of Iraldas. Join the Children of Telm. 

Grab this special edition omnibus to experience an unforgettable fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Will Wight, AC Cobble, and Michael J. Sullivan. 

Contains The Call of Agon, The Road to Rebirth, and The Chains of War, books 1-3 of the Children of Telm series.

©2020 Dean F. Wilson (P)2020 Podium Audio

What listeners say about Children of Telm: The Complete Trilogy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truly Epic Fantasy

I was given this audiobook in exchange for an honest review. Coming into this audiobook I was only familiar with Dean F. Wilson's Sci-fi offerings, I loved Hopebreaker and was looking forward to listening to his take on epic Fantasy. I was told beforehand that it would be a completely different style and to stick with it, and boy am I glad I did. The Children of Telm trilogy is really Epic Fantasy at its finest, a sweeping and epic story filled with amazing characters, intelligent writing and a richness of world that had me gripped from the beginning and made me unable to stop listening. Thanks for some of the sleepless nights! The first part follows Ifferon, one of the last of his kind as he attempts to keep the beast Agon imprisoned and his companions he meets on his journey. I don't want to spoil anything as this is a complete trilogy but keep listening through the first book as it gets better and better as it goes through it's rather staggering 25 hour runtime. Simon Vance did a great job with the narration, he breathed life into the characters that made them leap out of the audio for me and just enhanced my enjoyment of the audiobook. All in all I'd heartily recommend this trilogy to fans of epic fantasy and fantasy in general, it'd be a shame to miss out on such a gem.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JollyGreenGoblin
  • JollyGreenGoblin
  • 05-07-20

Solid Fantasy Story, Good Value

This was a solid fantasy series, blending both familiar fantasy tropes with unique mythologies. I’d recommend this to someone who has listened to all of the top tier fantasy series such as Lord of the Rings, Wheel of Time, Sanderson, etc. and is looking for a good fantasy series for a great value. Simon Vance has moments of greatness in his performance but at times I had trouble distinguishing the different characters. Overall good effort and I’d feel confident listening to other works by this author.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RiRi
  • RiRi
  • 01-07-20

Engaging

I've read the books previously and loved them. The story, characters, and sheer imagination in these books is incredible. When I heard that an audio version would be released, I was interested in revisiting the world and I am really enjoying the narration so far and am glad I get to revisit this tale in another format.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gorp
  • Gorp
  • 28-07-20

Amazingly done.

The world building was wonderfully done, the characters were complex yet not difficult to understand.
And the narrator was a joy to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John "Buck" Debnam
  • John "Buck" Debnam
  • 12-07-20

Good Series

Not my normal genre. Very epic level story.
Had a little issue with name, relationships, and locations but I also split listening to multiple sessions as I drove so that might have been part of it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JBR_
  • JBR_
  • 11-07-20

Good but for some reason bored me

I don't really know why but just could not finish it. Just couldn't seem to care about the characters and got bored and realized chapters would go by without me even paying attention to what had happened. I like the Narrator and the world building. just Meh..

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-08-20

Story?

I really tried on this one. I listened to over 9 hours of it but in the end had to give up before the first book was done. My main issue with it is how it was written. The language and storytelling in it seems like it was written in the age of H. G. Wells. If it had only been the dialogue it might be ok, but the descriptions and storytelling was in the same language. And a lot of poetic descritions that just got in the way of the story.

Because of this I never had any connection to the characters or what happened to them. And as the story went on I got more irritated on how the story was told. It seemed like it was an excercise by the author to see if he could write in that specific way. Rewrite this in a modern way and the story might be excellent. For me it just was a barrier I couldn't cross.

I must say that the narration was excellent though and very entertaining at points. Was the only this that kept me going. Will listen to books by this narrator ion the future.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deb
  • Deb
  • 10-08-20

well tried listening second time. it did not help.

did not like the second time. figured may be just wasn't paying attention first time around.
so will look for something else nowm

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 02-08-20

Stopped listening

The author gives me no reason to care about any of the one dimensional characters. And the all talk in overly poetic ways that is hard to believe.