Listen free for 30 days

Boyfriend Material

Narrated by: Joe Jameson
Length: 13 hrs and 11 mins
Categories: LGBT, Literature & Fiction
4.5 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Luc O'Donnell is tangentially - and reluctantly - famous. His rock-star parents split when he was young, and the father he's never met spent the next 20 years cruising in and out of rehab. Now that his dad's making a comeback, Luc's back in the public eye, and one compromising photo is enough to ruin everything.

To clean up his image, Luc has to find a nice normal relationship...and Oliver Blackwood is as nice and normal as they come. He's a barrister, an ethical vegetarian, and someone who has never inspired a moment of scandal in his life. In other words, he’s perfect boyfriend material. Unfortunately, apart from being gay, single, and really really in need of a date for a big event, Luc and Oliver have nothing in common. So they strike a deal to be publicity-friendly (fake) boyfriends until the dust settles. Then they can go their separate ways and pretend it never happened.

But the thing about fake-dating is that it can feel a lot like real-dating. And that's when you get used to someone...start falling for them...don't ever want to let them go.

©2020 Dreamscape Media, LLC (P)2020 Dreamscape Media, LLC
What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cranky Reader
  • Cranky Reader
  • 08-07-20

The right material!

Boyfriend Material hit the right note of fun & funny yet serious enough to care.

I’ve been in a reading slump recently. It’s been hard to find a romance with real emotional growth from trying situations that aren’t so tragic that they’re too much to take because 2020 is a dumpster fire. I completely forgot about social distancing while watching Luc deftly schmooze donors for CRAPP. I liked Oliver enthusing about his career & making sure jokes weren’t mean spirited. I cheered when the hotelier refused to give out personal information about a guest. It was great that no one went stalker - they said their piece & took no for an answer. The solid couple of chapters full of parents and (appropriate) F-words were tense and interesting and healthy. I liked the use of internet grammar (such van, much emergency; clean all the things: we baconed in silence) and supportive friends.

I agree with the SBTB review that suggested a longer or additional final scene or epilogue would be in order. Not so much because they were lacking, but because I wanted more time with Oliver and Luc being together & good for each other. Revisiting the hedgehog boxers was a nice touch, but what I like about fake relationships is how they nudge the characters back together again and again until they catch their groove. There was so much good togetherness in the book as a whole, after a couple chapters of apartness (forgive me), I wanted more time with them being together again.

If you want a comedic romance that has light & fluffy moments, a running side gag of escalating book emergencies, good & bad parents, and emotion enough to tug the heartstrings, read Boyfriend Material. (If you haven’t belly laughed by the ~3rd page/chapter, it’s not your kind of humor. It is exactly the kind of humor I enjoy so I LOLed a lot.)

Steam: Low. The M/M sexytimes were slow to get going then off page.

Narration: Generally well done. Narrator used different voices for dialogue. Some of the choices made for female voices seemed a tad odd but overall it was pleasant listening. Good audio quality.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mehecske
  • Mehecske
  • 11-07-20

Wonderful

Alexis Hall is a wonderful writer whose characters are full of life and joy. You can feel the fun he has playing with language and the thoughtfulness put into it.

Joe Jameson did a fabulous performance. He was a full cast of characters himself. I particularly liked his upper class nitwit performance.

I highly recommend this book.

All the heart eyes emojis.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennycita
  • Jennycita
  • 11-07-20

Great read for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue

I always enjoy a good fake boyfriend yarn and these characters were compelling. The author’s breezy tone made it very hard for me to put this down! The narrator is an asset to the prose and a delight to listen to. Highly recommend! ❤️💙❤️💙

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AmazonReviewer
  • AmazonReviewer
  • 10-07-20

Quirky, emotional, humorous , and sweet.

I loved this very typically quirky and often hilarious romance. All the characters - even the ridiculous over-the-top posh ones were well developed and truly made the book in my opinion. Like almost all of this author’s books it was outstanding! Between the times I found myself chuckling at the humor, I was tearing up because of Lucian’s pain and emotional damage. It was not an easy path to the HFN finale. I hope Hall has more books in the works because he is truly one of the most talented authors I’ve read - especially in this genre and it was a long wait for this latest publication. I’m so happy to find something of his again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12-07-20

So wonderfully British

Great book, well written, super funny, many great characters, sarcastic, sassy, witty and just lovely all around. If I hadn't paid for it with a credit, I would pay the full top dollar, it's totally worth it - at least in my eyes.

But what I absolutely looooooved about it? How super British it was.
If you know UK pop culture, TV personalities, the many different dialects within relatively small land, this book will satisfy you with how very accurate it is. The only teeny tiny thing that bothered me last year when I'd listened to Red, White and Royal Blue was how a lot of the cultural stuff from the UK side of the story was wrong. It's one of the things that is so incredibly easy to spot when you either read or listen to a book, if it's a British author, or an American. And a lot of them are American, and so they get the accent wrong, TV personality wrong, or pop culture wrong, and it honestly hurts to read/listen to every single time, but not this one. It's obvious that not only is the author is from the UK, but so is the narrator. Besides getting the accents right and the level of sarcasm being used, it references to ITV, Love Island and Holly Willoughby, to just mention a few.

I cannot describe how happy that made this very peculiar listener. It made it much more realistic, and that made me breathe sooooo easily.

Loved it, will come back and listen to it again, probably soon too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eddie T
  • Eddie T
  • 12-07-20

Need more

I hope there’s more to this story I need them to live happily ever after

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-07-20

not worth the cost

boring not engaging an hard to follow. I don't recommend this book. this is first time I've ever been dissatisfied with any book on autobook.