Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

They live among us. Hiding in plain sight. Until now....

West London has always been known as the quieter part of the city. That's true...for a human. But in reality, the streets are home to those that rule over the supernatural world.

Werewolves have their gated communities. Vampires reside within a subterranean utopia. And the magic-wielding wizards, witches, and warlocks study their arts right under the noses of general public. It has always been that way, and because of this, there has always been peace. 

But when a rare blue moon settles in the sky, everything changes. 

Noir, a West London information broker with his fingers in every supernatural pie, sets out to discover what the blue moon means and finds something beyond belief. With his discovery, comes the realization of a prophecy that spells disaster for the supernatural world. 

He must do everything in his power to stop the actualization of this dark future that might mean the end for the peace between species that keeps his world intact. 

Magic, secrets, and unexpected twists will keep you on the edge of your seat in this supernatural urban fantasy debut. It's perfect for fans of Rivers of London, The Magicians, and American Gods.

©2019 Daniel Oliver Thomas (P)2020 Castle Productions

What listeners say about Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Want Some More!

Only just started Audible again and a brilliant first book to get into. Hannibal Hills brilliant and loved the dark and intricate story line and character development. looking forward to what happens next!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Loved this book from start to finish great storyline I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A dark but great adventure

I love stories based on this type of concept of darkness and supernatural. One of the main aspects I did enjoy is how the author brings a new twist on how different types of monster based families can come together and focus towards a group goal. I can honestly recommend this book and can not wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good storyline

I was given a free code and I am leaving this review voluntarily. Whilst I enjoyed the storyline and characters and loved Hannibals narration there a few things I did not like. One being the stereo typing of certain things the main one that comes to mind is “Just like a single mother on benefits loves leopard print” 😡 there is no need to add these types of things in a book like this and for this I can’t give 5 stars

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting Supernatural

Firstly, I have to say the narration by Hannibal Hills was fab and really brought this book to life. D Thomas has created an intricate tale with supernatural beings threading through London. Noir (main character) sees a blue moon which indicates the prophecy of dark times is about to begin. For fans of modern fantasies, with interesting characters and an intricate storyline lots to hold your interest.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Willis Burns
  • Willis Burns
  • 27-04-20

New voice. Not bad!

I’ve listened to several from Hannibal Hills, but this is my first DO Thomas book. It’s old-school urban fantasy with a few twists. Kind of cool that it takes place in the UK. A lot of characters to follow, but it all comes together.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle Titherington VanDaley
  • Michelle Titherington VanDaley
  • 21-08-20

Great Beginning

Hannibal Hills is one of my favorite narrators and once again he doesn't disappoint. This is a great beginning of a magical series that kept my interest with in depth characters and descriptive world building. I look forward to more by this Author

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian M
  • Brian M
  • 04-08-20

Entertaining Urban Fantasy

Born of the Shade is a very entertaining intro to a urban fantasy world. Story might've been a little too focused on world building than the story itself, but was still a fun listen. Narration was great, but after listening to a handful of his performances I was pretty confident of that fact going in. I'm definitely interested in seeing what happens next in this world. I received the review code for this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this honest review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 💕 Amanda Urbinato 💕
  • 💕 Amanda Urbinato 💕
  • 14-09-20

Awesome!

I really enjoyed listening to this audiobook. I read a lot of fantasy and paranormal and this is definitely a story that I haven't heard before. It was a fantastic beginning of a series. I would love to get my hands on the rest of these books! I think this series is going to be great. Oh, and the narrator did an AMAZING job. He brought so much life to the story, And he made the characters pretty easy to tell apart. So far, I am def a fan and I can't wait for more! This book was given to me at my request. I am providing a voluntary and honest review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kimberly Smith
  • Kimberly Smith
  • 30-08-20

Give it a chance or four...

It took me four restarts to finally get into this book. Once I gave it my full attention and kept the characters straight, I loved it. I chose it because HH is one of my fav narrators and the book is one of my fav genres. As always, HH gave a fabulous performance that brought the book to life. I’m very glad I didn’t give up on it!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura
  • Laura
  • 04-08-20

Interesting Start

I received this book for free. I am voluntarily posting this review and any opinions expressed herein are my own. This is the first book in the Viventium series. I was somewhere between a 3.5 and a 4 star rating on this one. The book has a very interesting premise but this first book spends a lot of time world-building and introducing a lot of characters with the story lightly woven in throughout. With that being said, I am interested to see what happens to them and how the story evolves in the next book in this series. Without a doubt, it was the narration of Hannibal Hills which made this book come to life. I don't know if I would have been as drawn in or interested in the characters if I had just read this instead of listening to it. Hannibal Hills creates the personality of each of the characters through his voice - and is able to completely differentiate each character. I have listened to several books narrated by Hannibal Hills and he has become one of my favorite narrators!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James
  • James
  • 06-07-20

Very entertaining

Really enjoyed this book. Well written and Hannibal Hills does a fantastic job narrating. Book was over 6 1/2 hours long, but it flew by. The mythos and characters were well thought out and all play a part. Great book and I'm very excited about this series! “I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.”

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cindy
  • Cindy
  • 04-07-20

Building

This start to this series seems to be a build up to all the characters. It does change scenes quite a bit. All and all looking forward to see how it all plays out. Narration was top notch. This audio was given to me free and I voluntarily gave this review.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Todd
  • Todd
  • 03-07-20

what the heck did I just listen to...

This book seemed more of a "introduce everyone and a little of the story" book. Too me it was more to set up the characters. you still don't know exactly were the story( of the series) is going. You sort of do but not really. But in the end, it did get me invested in the characters and get me to want to know "what's next" So in the aspect I am looking forward to the next book in the series. The narration was awesome. Very dramatic and dynamic. I did receive this copy for review and these are my honest opinions.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shantelle Hazelton
  • Shantelle Hazelton
  • 07-06-20

Great listen

Enjoyed this book. The story line is great. Not a lot of action but it does have a great plot. It’s really good.