Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

They live among us. Hiding in plain sight. Until now....

West London has always been known as the quieter part of the city. That's true...for a human. But in reality, the streets are home to those that rule over the supernatural world.

Werewolves have their gated communities. Vampires reside within a subterranean utopia. And the magic-wielding wizards, witches, and warlocks study their arts right under the noses of general public. It has always been that way, and because of this, there has always been peace. 

But when a rare blue moon settles in the sky, everything changes. 

Noir, a West London information broker with his fingers in every supernatural pie, sets out to discover what the blue moon means and finds something beyond belief. With his discovery, comes the realization of a prophecy that spells disaster for the supernatural world. 

He must do everything in his power to stop the actualization of this dark future that might mean the end for the peace between species that keeps his world intact. 

Magic, secrets, and unexpected twists will keep you on the edge of your seat in this supernatural urban fantasy debut. It's perfect for fans of Rivers of London, The Magicians, and American Gods.

©2019 Daniel Oliver Thomas (P)2020 Castle Productions

What listeners say about Born of the Shade (An Urban Fantasy Action Adventure)

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Want Some More!

Only just started Audible again and a brilliant first book to get into. Hannibal Hills brilliant and loved the dark and intricate story line and character development. looking forward to what happens next!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Loved this book from start to finish great storyline
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good storyline

I was given a free code and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

Whilst I enjoyed the storyline and characters and loved Hannibals narration there a few things I did not like.
One being the stereo typing of certain things the main one that comes to mind is “Just like a single mother on benefits loves leopard print” 😡 there is no need to add these types of things in a book like this and for this I can’t give 5 stars

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting Supernatural

Firstly, I have to say the narration by Hannibal Hills was fab and really brought this book to life.
D Thomas has created an intricate tale with supernatural beings threading through London.
Noir (main character) sees a blue moon which indicates the prophecy of dark times is about to begin.
For fans of modern fantasies, with interesting characters and an intricate storyline lots to hold your interest.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A dark but great adventure

I love stories based on this type of concept of darkness and supernatural. One of the main aspects I did enjoy is how the author brings a new twist on how different types of monster based families can come together and focus towards a group goal. I can honestly recommend this book and can not wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful