Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

You can't drown the dead.

When the brutally murdered body of a local geography teacher is discovered at Kilwinnoch’s famous beauty spot, Blood Water Falls, the community is rocked to its core. For DCI Duncan Bone, the killing appears to be an open and shut case. But it’s not long before a sinister clue unleashes dark and deadly forces, blowing the investigation wide open, and putting Bone and his team in grave danger.

With the town baying for blood, and too many suspects and not enough answers, DCI Bone faces not only the toughest case of his career, but the battle of his life to defeat the psychological demons determined to destroy him once and for all.

Set among the dramatic hills and glens of Scotland's Campsie Fells, Blood Water Falls is the second in a series of edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers that will keep you guessing right up to the nail-biting, heart-stopping climax.

Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, J.D. Kirk, Val McDermid and Stuart MacBride.

©2021 T.G. Reid (P)2022 T.G. Reid

More from the same

What listeners say about Blood Water Falls

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Police crime drama

Plot had good twists and turns with interesting characters.
Great narration by Steven Worsley, each character was easily identifiable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

I don’t like Steve Worsley’s narration- I absolutely love it! In fact I searched for a new book that Steve Worsley reads and came across this series and it’s great. The characters are fabulous, there is suspense and delightful humour. Give it a go

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bone seemed a bit unhinged in this one

I loved the first book which dealt with DCI Bone returning from sick leave following a traumatic case and I loved the development of all the characters in that book. The same characters are in this one but I felt that Bone was a bit unhinged to say the least and that Walker primarily kept him in check throughout the book. Mullins and his diet was funny at the beginning but that was referenced way too much. Gallagher however, I loved! His choice of phrase has me laughing out loud! The story was good and I'm looking forward to the next one I just hope that Bone returns as a strong leader again. I love the Scottish dialect narrator is great.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

the second DCI Bone book is as great as the first

A fantastic follow up book in the DCI Bone series, following Duncan and his team of detectives, another great fast paced story, with plenty twist and turns, love the naration and the Scots dialect, makes it seem more gritty and real. highly recommended read, looking forward to the 3rd book in the series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this but listen to book 1 first

This was yet another enjoyable listen, I must have missed the swearing that other people mentioned and just tuned it out, Oh I do love Gallagher, he is so well written (I know a relatively minor character but he adds so much for me). This series is a typical gritty Scottish crime thriller and I did feel very well written.

I do think that you do need to listen or read book 1 first though.

I was given a free copy by the author via the book club -audible but the review is entirely my own.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gritty

This is the story of a missing Geography teacher and was only discovered by a group of children swimming and playing at the falls so this teacher could have easily been missed for a very long time but for these kids.
The first DCI Duncan Bone was a brilliant listen/read and this is good, but the problem I have with this one is the star. Duncan Bone. In the last book, he was bought back in after a breakdown to finally solve the case, that the team was working on, the Peekaboo Killer but clearly, it seems he was bought back too early and I felt he was losing it and at times he got very frustrated so very hit and miss with his temper. You have of course the rest of the team and they work well together, and there's Mullen having the same old problems with his dad, who has dementia so clearly time for him to go into a home.
I like the style of writing from the author the characters are well defined but I do wish he would curb his language a bit just a tad too much swearing or perhaps that's just me, and again the narration by Steve Worsley was exceptional.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as good as the first.

This is the second in the series and for me it wasn't as good as the first. The reason is that I found it less believable. DCI Bone is still suffering PTSD, and having issues in his personal life with his ex-wife/access to his son. He is still working though and when a local pillar of the community goes missing the RCU are drafted in to solve the case quickly. As things develop, including getting involved in a second case, threats to his team and his family, and pressure from above, Bone loses it a bit, and it all starts to lose credibility.
I do feel that the writing is good in terms of characterisation of the team members but the plot felt stretched and unrealistic.
There are some good points and I did stick with it to the end, helped by the excellent narration and wanting to know if my guess about who the bad guy is was correct (it was). It would be also be a better listen if the gaps between chapters was not so very long. (I know that is a production issue and not the narrators fault).

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Compulsive

This was a great read and difficult to put down although the language was a bit strong at times it was needed for the story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Colorado Cowgirl
  • Colorado Cowgirl
  • 22-05-22

Excellent police drama with complicated plot

I really enjoyed the first book in this series with DI Bone and Blood Water Falls was even better. The narration was perfect and gave the characters good definition. I especially like that the different police officers all have backstories that are real, flawed, interesting and compelling. I really enjoyed Mark Mullen's battle with the strict diet his wife put him on and and all the funny things that go on there. You do not have to read the first book to understand this one. Duncan Bone is haunted by PTSD and a figure from a past crime and struggles to hold his life together. The involvement of his ex-wife and young son really tugs at the heart and he cannot seem to avoid getting them involved in the crimes he investigates, which makes things worse. There are lots of suspects and possible motives going on here and it will keep you guessing until the dramatic conclusion. The story was very believable and realistic and there is a good mix of good-old crime solving, forensics and technology. The setting in Scotland just makes it all the better! I cannot wait to read the next book in the series and see how the characters progress.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Customer
  • Customer
  • 04-05-22

Quick Ending

Ending was a bit slap dash. Could of been better. But the rest of the book was really good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Victorine
  • Victorine
  • 28-04-22

Delightfully surprised! More please!!

As a constant seeker of new crime/mystery/thriller authors from all over the world, TG Reid is a wonderful find! Good story lines, strong characters with all the interrelated, robust Scottish diatribes and great humor. I devoured 2 books in 2 days on Audible and really hope there is more to come from this author and his talented crew! I am invested