We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
In the Days of Rain Audiobook

In the Days of Rain

Regular Price:£11.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the 2017 Costa Biography Award

In the vein of Bad Blood and Why Be Happy When You Can Be Normal?, an enthralling at times shocking and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in and breaking away from a fundamentalist Christian cult.

'At university, when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn't explain how I'd become a teenage mother or shoplifted books for years or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn't really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father....'

As Rebecca Stott's father lay dying, he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations, had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on.

The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: nonsect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished. Rebecca was born into the sect, yet as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them, too, and that the fault line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him.

In In the Days of Rain, Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father's story and her own and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family's experiences within the sect and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away.

©2017 Rebecca Stott (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What the Critics Say

"Beautiful, dizzying, terrifying, Stott's memoir maps the unnerving hinterland where faith becomes cruelty and devotion turns into disaster. A brave, frightening and strangely hopeful book." (Olivia Laing, author of The Lonely City)

"A marvellous, strange, terrifying book, somehow finding words both for the intensity of a childhood locked in a tyrannical secret world, and for the lifelong aftershocks of being liberated from it." (Francis Spufford, author of Golden Hill)

"By rights Rebecca Stott's memoir ought to be a horror story. But while the historian in her is merciless in exposing cruelties and corruption, Rebecca the child also lights up the book, so passionate and imaginative that it helps explain how she survived, and - even more miraculous - found the compassion and understanding to do justice to the story of her father and the painful family life he created." (Sarah Dunant, author of The Birth of Venus)

More from the same

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (23 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (22 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (22 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    stylo 05/02/2018
    stylo 05/02/2018 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    36
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    89
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting story"

    Rebecca Stott writes well and her account of life in a cult is fascinating and frightening. I recommend reading this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr Mark Thomas 29/01/2018
    Mr Mark Thomas 29/01/2018 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Captivating"

    A fascinating insightful memoir. Having bought the book, and never had time to sit and read it, I bought the audio book to listen to it whilst driving.

    On more than one occasion I found myself sitting in my car at the end of my journey, determinedly listening in to the end of the chapter, and then listening to just one more.

    Rebecca Stott's reading of her own book takes us right back with her, to different times and the very different world she grew up in. And we're blessed that she's chosen to tell her own - and her father's - story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David Bartlett Bedford, Beds United Kingdom 27/01/2018
    David Bartlett Bedford, Beds United Kingdom 27/01/2018 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tragic story of Christianity gone wrong"

    Beautifully told tale of faith and hypocrisy. The abuse of religion is no adequate reason to ignore what may be true and wonderful within it, but this true family sage is salutary to those who feel their grasp on Christianity is faultless

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.