Try an audiobook on us

Belle of the Back Streets

Narrated by: Janine Birkett
Length: 11 hrs and 41 mins
4 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A dramatically powerful and romantic saga of tragedy and triumph, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

'Any rag and bone!'

Everyone recognises the cry of Meg Sutcliffe as she plies her trade along the back streets of Ryhope. She learnt the ropes from her dad when he returned from the war. But when tragedy struck, Meg had no choice but to continue alone, with only her trusty dog, Spot, and beloved horse, Stella, for company. 

Now the meagre money she earns is the only thing that stands between her family's safety and predatory rent collector Hawk Jackson....

Many say it's no job for a woman - especially a beauty like Meg, who's noticed everywhere she goes. When she catches the eye of charming Clarky, it looks like she might have found a protector and a chance of happiness. But is Clarky really what he seems? And could Adam, Meg's loyal childhood friend, be the one who really deserves her heart?

Look out for Glenda's next compelling saga, The Tuppenny Child.

©2018 Glenda Young (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0