Listen free for 30 days

Angel Drake Is Going Solo: Mystery and Mayhem at the Antiques Emporium

Angel Drake Mysteries, Book 2
Narrated by: Helen Taylor
Series: Angel Drake Mysteries, Book 2
Length: 5 hrs and 37 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Fake it ‘til you make it. 

It’s not the most conventional mantra for an antiques dealer, but Angel Drake is on a learning curve. Fair to say, once you’ve been arrested, the only way is up. 

Inheriting The Antiques Emporium from her Aunt gave Angel an idyllic new start, but too little experience meant big mistakes. A foolhardy deal has landed her slap-bang in the middle of the biggest string of antiques robberies the country’s ever seen. Now the dream’s becoming a nightmare. 

The tranquil English village of Pook Wallop is shaken, and with Angel at the tremor’s epicentre, a handful of intrigued residents soon become her new best friends: Hester Anzak (opinionated pensioner, curiously fond of party food); Nick Rivo (fellow antique dealer, far too fond of himself if you ask Hester), and Robert Cornell (local gentry, exceedingly fond of Angel) all pitch in to help and hinder. 

Angel needs answers, but asking the questions is putting her life in danger. 

  • Who’s getting away with the nation’s treasures? 
  • Can she clear her name, before the dirt really sticks? And.... 
  • Where is Hester finding all these vol-au-vents?  

Hold on tight for the rollercoaster to the truth with Angel Drake is Going Solo. Listen now!  

©2018 Sharn Hutton (P)2019 Sharn Hutton

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

funny

really enjoyed this as a change to my usual genre. great book so amusing to listen to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An Inspiring Listen!

I am very new to listening to fiction on audible – and Angel Drake is Going Solo, my second listen, did not disappoint.

We first meet tea loving, hobnob crunching Angelica Drake (Angel to her friends, never Ang) just before she decides to up sticks and move to Pook Wallop, where she has inherited her Aunt’s Antiques Shop – and I am so pleased that she did as I looked forward to hearing more about Angel each morning as I (slowly) drove to work.

Angel quickly makes friends in Pook Wallop, shares her hobnobs, and soon becomes embroiled in Village Life!

Sharn Hutton has created a funny, likeable character in Angelica Drake and I look forward to reading more Angel Drake Mysteries. Helen Taylor ensured that this was an enjoyable listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyable

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and read it in one sitting, Angel Drake is an extremely likeable character, a bit dippy but no pushover. When Angel discovers that she has inherited the Antiques Emporium and the flat above she is happy to leave London, following her recent break up with her live in boyfriend, and sets up her new life in the village of Pook Wallop. She also inherits Hester, a friend of her Aunt Em and an unfortunate connection to a string of antiques robberies. She has two new men in her life, Nick Rivo, an unscrupulous but handsome antiques dealer and the very dashing Robert Cornell, Lord of the Manor. This entertaining romp follows Angel’s endeavours to succeed in the antiques world and her efforts to clear her name, I am looking forward to book 2. Ideal for fans of Agatha Raisin.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed this

A fun story. It’s got intrigue and mystery. Yes it’s got serious parts and trouble. But it’s a great listen. It just jumps along & doesnt stop.
So worth listening to, it’s filled in a dreary work day at a great pace.
Narrator is really good and kept it rolling really well.
All round good listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Five stars I loved it


I really enjoyed this audio book. It’s a sweet mystery of a number of burglary’s of antiques taking place in a small village after Angel Drake moves in to take over her aunts shop. As she gets enrolled and at times treated as a subject the story was a romp around who she could trust and how you should never make judgements about people before getting to know them. I thought the narrator Helen Taylor was great as well as it felt like an old friend talking to you

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Warm-hearted cosy mystery

This is a sweet, warm-hearted, gore-free, quaint village-based, cosy mystery, which is one of my favourite genres. It does require you to suspend some belief (the heroine does not always seem to live on the same planet as the rest of us in terms of her decision making), but the funny cast of characters really grew on me and the story itself nicely sets the series up for more to come - by the end of it I just wanted to know what happens next.
I partly read, partly listened to the audio and enjoyed both - Helen Taylor’s narration suits the book perfectly, but reading in my own voice gave me a different sense of Sharon Hutton’s sense of humour underlying the writing. I can recommend both versions, and am looking forward to the next instalment!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Going Solo!

Really enjoyed this fun and charming cosy mystery.
Angel leaves London to take over her Aunts antique shop in a small village in the countryside. Hoping for a fresh start, she got way more than she bargained for in Pook Wallop!
With some brilliant characters, really good story and a lovely easy read, I am looking forward to more from this series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mayhem abounds

Angie (hates to be called that) is a trier. She is. left an antiques shop and flat and moves in. She has no idea about antiques but what could possibly go wrong? I enjoyed this little mystery and the reading was playful and light very easy on the ear. It didn't take a lot to work out what was going on but it was enjoyable all the same. Not my usual listening material but it made for a very enjoyable Sunday.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bliss!

Angel Drake is divine. She's the kind of person I wish was my friend, or my cousin because she's such fun. I'd love to hang out with her because she always finds the fun or the weird in any situation. I'd also want Hester and Nick in my life because they're completely bonkers and fun. And don't get me started on Lord Robert - love him. The whole story is completely engaging, with warm and joyful characters who use witty and sharp dialogue. Helen Taylor turns in a stellar performance as Angel, and everyone else. I was beyond delighted that she didn't fall into the trap of turning Angel into a cockney sparrow. Not every Londoner is a cockney. The whole book is like a refreshing breeze on a summer's day. It's so good I have double dipped, read the book and listened to the audio. If you want an exquisitely written, light and witty mystery that lifts your spirits and cures everything that ails you then look no further than Angel Drake is Going Solo by Sharn Hutton. You can thank me later!

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan M
  • Jan M
  • 29-07-19

Angel Drake is Going Solo

Angel Drake is Going Solo by Sharn Hutton pulled me in from the beginning, I love a good British mystery and this one was it. The character of Angel is endearing and quirky. She let her ex-boyfriend off too easy in my opinion. The storyline was original, and had great details and imagery. Helen Taylor is delightful to listen to. She has a smooth delivery and brings the characters to life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christy D
  • Christy D
  • 17-06-19

Angel Drake Is Going Solo

Angel decides to move and take over her aunts business that was left to her after her mysterious death. She needs a fresh start after catching her intended cheating. Only things are not so simple in an new town and new business. This is going to be a fun series. It took me a moment to decide who was going to be a good character and who was not. And this book defiantly gives you a few quirky characters. Helen Taylor nailed the narration and is so easy to listen to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Catrina P
  • Catrina P
  • 28-05-19

Angel Drake Is Going Solo

A nice British cozy mystery with an interesting cast of characters. When Angel inherits The Antiques Emporium, things go awry as she finds herself smack dab in the middle of the case of the missing antiques.

Shari Hutton has set the groundwork for what is sure to be an interesting series.

This was my first exposure to Helen Taylor’s narration. I though she did a nice job.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara Lukac
  • Barbara Lukac
  • 26-05-19

a lovely mystey

thia was a lovely and enjoyable listen. it took me a bit to get used to the narration, with the British accent, seeing as most books are in American, however, once i did the story just pulled me in.
it an easy breezy mystery as the description says, so if you enjoy the genre but dont enjoy gore and violence, this will be a great fit