Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
An Unknown Woman cover art

An Unknown Woman

By: Jane Davis
Narrated by: Melanie Crawley
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £11.99

Buy Now for £11.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Bird in Winter cover art
Finding Secrets cover art
The House of Love and Dreams cover art
The Judas Tree cover art
Guilty cover art
The Long Way Home cover art
A Home in the Sun cover art
A Christmas Proposal: A Peas and Carrots Short Story cover art
Magpie Lane cover art
Good Girls cover art
The Other Woman cover art
The Split cover art
Something Quite Beautiful cover art
A Lie for a Lie cover art
The Next Wife cover art
The Housemaid cover art

Summary

Fire destroyed her present. Secrets destroyed her past.

Look in the mirror and ask yourself a question. Who are you? Do you know the answer?

At the age of forty-six, Anita Hall knows exactly who she is. She has lived with partner Ed for fifteen years and is proud of the life they've built. They go out into the world separately: Ed with one eye on the future in the world of finance; Anita with one foot in the past, a curator at Hampton Court Palace. This is the life she has chosen - a dream job, equal partnership, living in a quirky old house she adores. She is happy. Their foundations are solid and their future seems secure. But that was before the fire.

Anita stands in the middle of the road watching her home and everything inside it burn to the ground. She and Ed have nothing more than the clothes on their backs. Fifteen years of memories gone up in smoke.

Before she can come to terms with the magnitude of her loss, hairline cracks begin to appear in her perfect relationship. And returning to her childhood home in search of comfort, she stumbles upon the secret her mother has kept hidden, a taboo so unspeakable it can only be written down.

The reflection in the mirror may look the same. But everything has changed. Anita thought she knew who she was. But not any more. And when your life goes up in smoke, you can never go home.

Writing Magazine's Self-Published Book of the Year 2016. Authentic and heartbreaking, this intensely human story by award-winner Jane Davis is perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell, Kate Atkinson and Ali Smith.

©2021 SAGA Egmont (P)2021 SAGA Egmont

Critic reviews

A firestorm of a novel. Davis reminds us that families often have secrets at their heart: ticking time bombs just waiting for a stray spark.
-- Paul Murphy

What listeners say about An Unknown Woman

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.