Listen free for 30 days

All the Hidden Truths

Narrated by: Sarah Barron, Angus King
Series: DI Helen Birch, Book 1
Length: 12 hrs and 41 mins
4.3 out of 5 stars (69 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A wrenching, gripping, unforgettable debut crime novel for fans of Susie Steiner and Kate Atkinson. 

This is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed 13 women, then himself.

But no one can say why. 

The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame...the truth seems to vanish. 

A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, All Hidden Truths will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy. 

©2018 Claire Askew (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What listeners say about All the Hidden Truths

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In my Top 5 this year

Difficult subject matter sensitively handled makes this a book to remember. The way the story is told, through the very ordinariness of three women, makes it all seem so possible. The characters are well drawn and believable. Here is an author who can plot and pace, write sensitively and sustain interest throughout. The narration is brilliant and the narrator has a real talent for different accents and clear diction. Can’t recommend highly enough.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really quite stunning

This is a really gripping book. From start to finish it drags you on an emotional roller coaster. Such strong characters who you really invest in. This is definitely a book that you can sit back and enjoy before being dragged closer to the edge of your seat. Really went narrated too. The reader grasped the emotional magnitude of the story and made it an amazing listen.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Book, A Definite Listen

It’s unusual to find an intelligently written book and one that is beautifully narrated, but this is one of those rare finds. The story is written from the perspective of three women, each of whom finds herself looking at the same situation but from a very different angle. As a mother of boys and a girl I’ve watched them go through those painful years, am still doing so to an extent, so this book made my heart ache for both mothers in the story. I would definitely recommend this book without any hesitation (and I’m quite difficult to please).

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • CA
  • 13-10-18

Not for me

Read all the amazing views. I think I’m missing something here. This did not peak my interest until 45 minutes in when I thought ok this might be ok after all. It wasn’t.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliantly enabling empathy for all characters

Well done to the narrator. Every single one of the characters evoked a strong feeling of sadness - even the perpetrator. The construction of the tale was masterly and only towards the end did I understand the beginning. How does a parent live with the repercussions of such an act? A very good and thoughtful book. Highly recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully crafted moving story of terrible loss

What would you be left with if your only child was the first killed in a college massacre? and how would you feel if you were the mother of the killer? This is the central theme of this very moving story. Each woman's narrative is held together by the narrative of the detective responsible for trying to answer the question why? My favourite book ever is "We need to talk about Kevin" which covers the same subject of teenage mass murder and at first I was disappointed that this book appeared to fall short of the narrative of Lionel Shriver. However a quarter of the through I could appreciate the different way in which this horrific subject had been handled and I began to enjoy Claire Askew's total empathy with the extreme emotions that each woman had been left with. Two shattered women looking for an answer whilst dealing with the loss of a child in their own ways. The only downside to this book was the depiction of the journalist, essentially I did not feel he added much to the story and his role could have been played down without affecting the overall outcome. I also liked the narration of Sarah Baron.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent crime novel.

A fantastic police procedural, full of well-written characters, plausible scenarios and plenty of twists and turns. Absolutely addictive.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

An emotional and heartbreaking but compulsive listen. Incredible to think this is a first novel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

All the hidden truths

Good story line great narration. A little hard to get in to but it blossomed as it went on.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT STORY EXCELLENT PERFORMANCE

I loved this story and the performance was five star worthy. I can only recommend you read/listen....you won't be disappointed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scotty/Audible addict!
  • Scotty/Audible addict!
  • 11-12-19

Didn't enjoy this one as much!

Good story, but much repetition about the same thoughts and feelings. Overall VERY depressing, due to heavy subject. More than half way through it took a completely unexpected turn, about a completely different possibility of why the whole thing occured. However, the author didn't follow that, but dropped it and returned back from that to follow a different ending. Also good, mind you, but just saying. Sarah Barron is an excellent narrator, but for most of this book she used such a menotonous tone of voice, several times I struggled to stay with it. Audible addict, Scotty

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Yikes
  • Yikes
  • 11-08-18

Not For Me

I only listened to the first couple chapters of this book. The accent is so thick that I'm having trouble understanding it. I will be returning it.