Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Spring 1940. Kitty Williams has suffered more than her fair share of tragedy, but rather than wallowing, she's more determined than ever to do her part in the battle against Hitler. Stepping up her own war effort, Kitty leaves her hometown of Coventry and joins the Auxiliary Territorial Service (Women's Army - ATS), where she finds new friends in Di, Peggy and Mary but also new obstacles to overcome in both her professional and personal lives.

Packed full of wartime adventure, romance, heartbreak and friendship, The Spark Girls is a gripping and poignant saga perfect for fans of Ellie Dean, Daisy Styles and Maggie Ford.

©2017 Fiona Ford (P)2017 Soundings

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

really enjoyable

really enjoyable book. well worth listening to. looking forward to the next book which is out soon

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The life, loves and losses of Kitty during WW2.

Lovely story of Kitty who joins the women's volunteer army. Well written by Fiona Ford this book shows how life can change so dramatically during times of conflict. I found Kitty rather weak and frustrating at times but without her "relationship" with Billy there would not have been much of a story. Beautifully narrated by Emma Powell the book brings another angle to life during WW2. Enjoyable book, recommended read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen

I really liked this book. with lots of twist & turns all the way through

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

The Spark Girl.

I enjoyed the story, the only thing that annoyed me was that the volunteer s were saluting the sergeant. Only officers are saluted not N.C.O's

The Narrator made it interesting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A real wartime memory .

I really enjoyed the authenticity of the story but question what Mary was doing in occupied France in 1940. My memories of the war as a child are still vivid and were rekindled by Spark Girl.