We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Eagle's Prophecy Audiobook

The Eagle's Prophecy: Eagles of the Empire, Book 6

Regular Price:£14.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!

The Eagle's Prophecy is the powerful sixth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

The Adriatic Sea, AD 45. Cato and Macro, centurions of the Roman army, are horrified to learn that they face possible execution after the death of their commanding officer. Fortunately, the Emperor's secretary is willing to offer them an alternative: to join the marines and hunt down a band of brutal pirates who are decimating not only Rome's reputation, but also a critical supply chain.

As they discover the true horror of battle at sea, Macro and Cato must also remember their real mission: to recover from those pirates a set of scrolls that hold secrets vital to the future of the Roman Empire. Rome will do anything to get them back....

©2005 Simon Scarrow (P)2012 Headline Digital

What the Critics Say

"It's Spartacus meets Master and Commander in this rip-roaring, thoroughly entertaining tale of swashbuckling adventure from one of the most exciting writers in historical fiction." (Brisbane News)
"Ferocious and compelling." (Daily Express)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (214 )
5 star
 (138)
4 star
 (61)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (192 )
5 star
 (129)
4 star
 (51)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (190 )
5 star
 (118)
4 star
 (45)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 13/10/2016
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 13/10/2016 Member Since 2017

    A man with a child in his ears - @shutterspin

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3457
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    375
    372
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    545
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I Finally Caved In!"

    About a year ago I said that I was stuck because books 4 and 5 in this series were not available. Sadly at the time of writing that's still the case but I finally caved in. This series is massively fun and despite missing the two books it was excellent to catch up with Macro and Cato once again.

    Things have obviously changed since I last spent time with them but all of the things that were strong previously are still very much in evidence. Simon Scarrow ably demonstrates an excellent knowledge of the time period and this time we are treated to some chariot racing and naval action.

    The humour between the two main characters made me smile, particularly the scene where Cato charges the enemy!

    There is lots of action, no little intrigue and at times a light touch. I won't be leaving it a year before the next one.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    daveyates 05/07/2017
    daveyates 05/07/2017 Member Since 2015

    pyyrus

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Okay but very hammy performance"

    The story is fine, a good adventure romp and a good addition to the Makro and Cato books, but this book sees a change of narrator. The book was played out to impressions of Terry Thomas, Leslie Phillips, Michael Caine, Captain Pugwash, Ernst Blofelt and Quasimodo. It was pretty ridiculous.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr. Sjb Horth 01/06/2017
    Mr. Sjb Horth 01/06/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good book spoiled by the reader"

    Another good book in the series but the narrator is just not right which is a shame

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 07/09/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "s"

    again another great book by Simon scarrow, I am hooked on this series. however I am finding it very annoying you have different narrators for each one. it's confusing hearing people pronounce names differently and the character accents changing with each new narrator!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    val wills. 12/08/2017
    val wills. 12/08/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "story good as ever,, but narrator very poor"

    character voices difficult to separate from one another and overall weakly done and hard to understand

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David 23/06/2017
    David 23/06/2017 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good plot, a great twist & humour too!"

    A great insight to the Roman Navy as our two hero's we're plunged into unfamiliar surroundings. The main characters in the story really took shape and I enjoyed the humour between them.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ferdinand 12/05/2017
    Ferdinand 12/05/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing"

    Mr. Scarrow, please never stop writing this series! I've loved every book I've listened to of yours and am eagerly awaiting the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M R D Marsh 19/04/2017
    M R D Marsh 19/04/2017 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Why keep changing the narrator!!!!!!!"
    If you could sum up The Eagle's Prophecy in three words, what would they be?

    Unfortunately for me this narrator does not do the characters any good, for me macro is a Liverpudlian and Cato seems completely changed. I still enjoyed the story just that the narration is all wrong. This interpretation of the characters does not follow or fit the characters from book 1. As I say this is my view and has spoilt the listening for me.


    Would you listen to another book narrated by Russell Boulter?

    Only if it was a one off and not part of a series which already has started.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    It wouldn't happen, the story would be completely changed


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Olver UK 31/03/2017
    S. Olver UK 31/03/2017 Member Since 2017

    Ollie

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another great episode of Cato & Macro"

    Another fantastic tale with twists and turns only made better by the revealing hints for the bigger series of books. A great listen and another one of the series ticked off!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mr mark w kennedy city8888 26/02/2017
    mr mark w kennedy city8888 26/02/2017 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping"

    One of the best stories in the series. the voice characterisation is superb.
    You will not be disappointed.
    Mark

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Jean
    Santa Cruz, CA, United States
    21/03/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Intrigue, treachery and lots of action"

    This is book six in the series. I have been able to read only episodes one and three as Audible does not carry the other volumes. The year is 45 AD; Centurions Marco and Cato are in Rome awaiting the results of an official investigation of the death of a fellow officer in Britain. Cato may face a death sentence. Imperial Secretary Narcissus sends Marco and Cato on a special mission to rescue an Imperial agent captured by Illyrian pirates and return the Delphic Scrolls the agent was carrying.

    The book is well written, fast paced with lots of action and naval battles as well as land battles. Scarrow features the Roman Navy in this story including its structure of command as well as information about the type of ships used. Our Hero's fight side by side with the Roman Marines and learn techniques to fight aboard ships. Russell Boulter did a good job narrating the story. I wish the publisher's would stay with one narrator throughout the series.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.