Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.

'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'

Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.

But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.

A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.

Shortlisted for the Endeavour Award.

©2018 Louisa Morgan (P)2018 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic reviews

"Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss...Mesmerising." (Tish Thawer)

"Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters." (Jordanna Max Brodsky)

"A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft." (Carol Goodman, author of Incubus)

What listeners say about A Secret History of Witches

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    110
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Stop part way through

It was good, if a little Mills and Boon at points, until the queen mother appeared. We stopped listening because it was just beyond ridiculous, where before it had managed to make the unbelievable acceptable, we couldn’t go along with it anymore. Also as a pagan, the mispronunciations of the sabbats was irritating, but the mispronunciations of perfectly everyday words really took the biscuit.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely listen

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a beautifully read trip though the ages, of love and loyalty, heartbreak and betrayal. I engaged with all the daughters of the goddess and their familiars. I didn’t want the book to end.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

loved every min of this book especiallyas the book went through the various time scaled. highly recommended

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mixed feelings

Absolutely loved it, right up until the last book, The Book of Veronica, which I just found utterly unbelievable. What a shame!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable listen 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Really enjoyed listening to this book. A great story with an excellent narrator. Definitely recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

whats happening?

i got about 4 generations in before i got bored of the constant repetition
great writing but i dont really know where this could go

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

pleasant distraction

I felt the choice of narrator carried this for me a little as they did a fantastic job. I did enjoy the story but it was more a pleasant nostalgic ramble for me than something that compelled me onwards. I think there's room for that though and it was a really light and pleasant distraction to listen to while going about my own doings.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Beautifully read Hard to put down despite the jumping through generations making new sub stories

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Everything about this book I liked I know it’s a work of fiction but lovely to hear about 'THE CRAFT' without all the devil/god stuff that has hijacked any mention of the women who knew how to heal and nurture passing through the ages of time.
So sad it had to end but ended very well

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Really the Windsors, how incredulous! 3/4s good 1/4 baaaad

The story is quite a good yarn for at least three quarters of the book and then the author clearly thought it was phis and decided to go in the most ridiculous direction. Up u til then it was just as I say a good yarn. Poor and most ridiculous ending that just trivialises an interesting historical fact, the poor treatment of women who were considered different. Awful ending.
Suggestion: read the last two chapters see what you think and then start at the beginning.