Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Shilling Grange Orphanage, England, 1949. She would do anything to protect the innocent children in her care. But soon, they could be sent into danger....

When Clara Newton’s fiancé died during World War Two, she thought her life was over. But now, she looks after orphans who, like her, lost everything during the war. Children like sweet little Peg, who won’t speak, and Joyce, whose body was scarred by polio. Clara loves them all dearly, even though life as a housemother can be lonely - especially now that Ivor, a D-Day war hero with dark brown eyes and who once helped with the children, has disappeared....

But then, Clara receives some terrible news. The orphanage is going to be sold and the children sent far away. Joyce and Peg will be taken to a notorious home for disabled children. The others will be sent to Australia, where Clara fears they will be mistreated by unknown families. Any day now, the children could lose everything she worked so hard to provide....

With wealthy buyers lined up to purchase Shilling Grange and a ship already docked waiting to carry the children away, Clara is desperate. She must find loving new homes for them quickly, but time is running out.... Can she save the orphans, before they lose everything, all over again? And even if Ivor returns when she needs him the most, will it be too late?

A completely heart-wrenching and unforgettable historical novel, set after the devastation of World War Two. Perfect for fans of Before We Were Yours, Diney Costeloe, and The Orphan Sisters.

©2022 Lizzie Page (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about A Place to Call Home

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So much BIG into one little book!

There is so much big stuff in this one little book. Children
are a big responsibility, death is
such a big thing to get our head
around & over, love is big. It makes the big wide world go around. I could go on and on
and it all be in this one little book but that would really spoil
it, I congratulate the author and
the narrator who has a lovely
voice. 5 big stars p.s. This
little book had me in big tears for appro. an hour before and
until the end! 🙏

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Owl Mama
  • Owl Mama
  • 23-06-22

Love these stories however


I did not like the character arc of Clara in this volume. Though standing on her on in this 2nd book, she seemed much more wishy-washy, paranoid and unable to make strident decisions. Clara has a long way to go to grow up for an adult. She is stunned into immobility on at least one or two occasions that in the first book she would have put herself in danger to benefit one of the children. I still loved the story and recommend, perhaps there will be another book in the series I would like to see how the characters do with their new situations. I would like to follow the main Children as they come of age.




***********May contain spoiler hints ********* By the last 10 chapters it was difficult for me to relate to Clara's decisions that continued to be based on fear, paranoia, her lack of confidence and ability to communicate with adults when she is passionate about a cause. Also her pride, self-defeating attitude determining that she cannot do something even though she hadn't tried before. These very blinders and stubborn thought patterns that may prevent her from what she wants most.