Listen free for 30 days

A Few Pecans Short of a Pie

Narrated by: Amanda Ronconi
Series: Southern Eclectic, Book 5
Length: 2 hrs and 49 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Sexy school principal Kyle faces the biggest challenge of his career: getting his (pregnant) event planner girlfriend Margot down the aisle before the baby arrives!

Fans first fell in love with big city event planner Margot in the first Southern Eclectic novel, Sweet Tea and Sympathy, as she discovered a long-lost branch of her family - the McCreadys, of McCready's Bait Shop & Funeral Home. 

To Margot’s surprise, she's taken a liking to life in small-town Georgia...helped along by a romance with the hot elementary school principal. The two of them have been taking it slow - or they were until Margot gets pregnant. Kyle wants to make an honest woman of her, but Margot's still trying to proceed with caution. After all, she was the best event planner in Chicago before she ever came to Lake Sackett. Her wedding has to be perfect, and perfect includes not having the baby halfway down the aisle. 

With her trademark witty prose and warmhearted storytelling, Molly Harper’s newest glimpse of the McCready family will be perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Amy E. Reichert.

©2019 Molly Harper White (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

Critic reviews

"Author Molly Harper and narrator Amanda Ronconi are a match made in audio heaven.... Ronconi masterfully voices even the secondary characters - from Margot's cousins to Kyle's two little girls. Ronconi's excellent comedic timing works well with Harper's wonderfully snarky sense of humor. Listeners will be chuckling over Margot's wedding dilemmas while choosing the dress, selecting the cake, and more." (AudioFile Magazine)

What listeners say about A Few Pecans Short of a Pie

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

I really enjoyed this short story, it was so funny! I can't wait for the next book in the series, Gimme Some Sugar!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MsGonzo
  • MsGonzo
  • 05-03-19

Love this series but too short for the price!

I'm a BIG fan of Harper's Southern Eclectic series and Amanda Ronconi is the perfect narrator. It was great to revisit the family and check-in on Margo & Kyle but I wish I had just read this instead of purchasing the audiobook because $10+ for less than 3hrs - is A LOT for VERY little time when you're talking about fictional audiobooks. I understood this was a novella and also respect that audiobooks are appropriately more than their printed versions but I also think that the price should've reflected that more.

34 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen
  • Karen
  • 05-03-19

My only disappointment

Is that it was so short. I love molly Harper and Amanda Ronconi, I wait for the next release of whatever series. This ended so quickly that I wondered if I made a mistake using one of my audible credits instead of buying it outright. I still don’t know, but I do know I don’t like this trend of novellas that you won’t see on a bookstore shelf because it’s digital and it doesn’t matter. Again, love the author and narrator, but I’m disappointed because it’s already over and I just got it.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ryan
  • Ryan
  • 05-03-19

I wanted to love it

But it’s just monotonous, the first 1.5 is just recap. And about how Margo throws up 70 times a day. Was probably 45 minutes of everything else. I love this series but this was not my favorite & just too short.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ESP
  • ESP
  • 28-02-19

Boo boo

It just wasn’t long enough. I’m so pleased the quality held up. I must admit there was a lot less outrageousness in this episode.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelli Cartwright
  • Kelli Cartwright
  • 25-03-19

not my favorite

the story was a little lackluster and definitely not as funny as Molly Harper's last few bucks. I'm not sure if it's worth the cost.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MaggieMarty
  • MaggieMarty
  • 31-12-19

Super boring

Love Molly Harper and as always Amanda Ronconi’s narrations. But this book had absolutely nothing happening and seemed like Molly needed to whip out a book on the fast to fill some quota. Disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hellen
  • Hellen
  • 29-09-19

Always a few pecans short

Favorite quote: I will engage in unspeakable acts of lewdness if you give me ten minutes alone with this pie. When every smell sends Margot turning to the nearest wastebasket instead of turning to her fiancé Kyle what could be better than a good old fashioned pecan pie. Wonderful narration by Ronconi as usual. I’m glad Harper’s books are consistently done by her because she’s really good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for The Moose is Loose
  • The Moose is Loose
  • 15-08-19

This book series is pure fun

Love these books - the narration is very good. Despite many very diverse characters, it is always clear who is speaking!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly M
  • Kelly M
  • 15-04-19

Sweet Read

NUMBER OF HEARTS: 5 I love when we get to go back and revisit characters and see how they are doing. A Few Pecans Short of a Pie gives us a update on how Kyle, Margot (bk 1 Sweet Tea and Sympathy) and the girls are all doing. How Margot is dealing with small town politics about small town weddings, being pregnant, a step mom to two little girls. Of course Kyle is there with her ever step of the way being the amazingly sweet soon to be husband and dad. I really enjoyed this novella of Kyle and Margot. And super excited for the next installment of the McCready clan. Bring on Duffy!!! Disclaimer: I purchased this his review is my own opinion and not a paid review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kimberly
  • Kimberly
  • 01-03-19

Cute novella

Setting: Lake Sackett, GA Contemporary Genre: Rom-com Margo and Kyle, the h/H of Sweet Tea and Sympathy, are making wedding plans. Complicated by morning sickness and the interference of McCready family members and random strangers from the grocery store. This is a well-written though not spectacular novella populated by the characters of the series. It is more of an extended epilogue than a story and really not worth a full audible credit. Amanda Ronconi provides her usual performance. She differentiates between genders well, and her accent doesn’t make the people sound any more hick than they are meant to be.

2 people found this helpful