Listen free for 30 days

1984 by George Orwell: Orwell Expert Book Review

Narrated by: Mark Young
Length: 2 hrs and 54 mins
3 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Warning: This book contains spoilers!

Who is Winston Smith? What happens in each chapter? What major themes are discussed? In this review of George Orwell's classic you'll learn this and more...

  • Key Events in Every Chapter
  • High Level Book Synopsis
  • Key Characters to Know
  • Major Themes Discussed
  • Discussion Questions
  • About the Author

Book Reviews gives readers an efficient way to quickly go through and digest famous and well-loved titles. Offering easy-to-read and comprehensive synopses of every chapter of best-selling books, each Brainy Book Review highlights the key ideas behind critically acclaimed titles, helping readers swiftly get the most out of a book.

©2013 Brainy Book Reviews (P)2013 Brainy Book Reviews
What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kaycee
  • Kaycee
  • 15-12-16

thought it was supposed to read the book with me

this just goes over the main points of the book. it does not read the book to you at all

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-11-18

I feel cheated.

This is a review, not the actual book. And I'm pretty sure the sample contained naration.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Travis Cheney
  • Travis Cheney
  • 18-05-18

Procrastinator's Best Tool

I had an entire unit of work and an essay on this book due tonight and I hadn't even read the book. Enter this review at 1.75x speed and 5 hours later all of my work is done. $5 is a small price to pay for how much this audio book review/synopsis saved my butt. Worth every penny.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joerund
  • Joerund
  • 09-06-17

Good as a recap, but not much more

would have liked more in depth analysis of themes presented in the book. This was mostly just a summary of what happened, with a few mentions of the nazis and Soviet at places in the book where tje connection is obvious

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mom
  • Mom
  • 05-07-20

This is not the book

I bought this thinking it was the book. Beware, it’s just a review! Ugh! I want my credit back!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian Goldsmith
  • Brian Goldsmith
  • 11-10-19

Great book, read it!

Love this book, it is a classic, your life is not complete until you read this book. love it!!!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-04-19

fake and gay

This book is both fictitious and homosexual. Do not recommend to general audiences. yeet yeet

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chidchon
  • Chidchon
  • 18-02-17

why every chapter twice?

I like the program but I don't get it why every single chapter has to be repeated twice?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for B. Yeats
  • B. Yeats
  • 13-09-18

A Life Saver

I used this book to catch up on my reading in class and it gave me a really useful summary for each chapter. I would not be passing my class without this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for brian
  • brian
  • 19-09-14

An impressive look.

Where does 1984 by George Orwell: Orwell Expert Book Review rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I like the narration and it's format.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I'm not certain.

Have you listened to any of Mark Young’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

He does. The format is excellent.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Nothing at all.

Any additional comments?

A must have study guide for fans of 1984.

2 people found this helpful