LISTENER

George

  • 53
  • reviews
  • 43
  • helpful votes
  • 661
  • ratings
  • One Enchanted Evening

  • By: Anton Du Beke
  • Narrated by: Julian Ovenden
  • Length: 12 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 193
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 176
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 175

Inside the spectacular Grand Ballroom of the exclusive Buckingham Hotel the rich and powerful, politicians, film stars, even royalty rub shoulders with Raymond de Guise and his troupe of talented dancers from all around the world, who must enchant them, captivate them and sweep away their cares. Accustomed to waltzing with the highest of society, Raymond knows a secret from his past could threaten all he holds dear.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • One Enchanted Book

  • By Ville Girl on 09-11-18

Silly effete nonsense.

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-12-18

This is impossible to listen to , the narrator sounds like he’s taking a large mouthful of drink every second paragraph , it sounds like a gurgling drain .

  • Relentless

  • By: Simon Kernick
  • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
  • Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 778
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 464
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 466

John Meron, a happily married father of two who's never been in trouble, receives a phone call that will change his life forever: his friend Jack Galley, a high-flying City lawyer, is screaming down the phone for help. As Meron listens, Galley is murdered.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • An Absolute Winner!

  • By Elizabeth on 20-08-08

Annoying nonsense .

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-12-18

This is the most annoyingly silly load of codswallop ever , as if , it’s narrative is juvenile and the narrator is trying to gallop through this trying to make it sound exciting , but , all he achieves is to make it sound even more ridiculous , another credit wasted .

  • Bad to the Bone

  • DI Bliss, Book 1
  • By: Tony J. Forder
  • Narrated by: Greg Wagland
  • Length: 12 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 28
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 25

A skeletal body is unearthed in a wooded area of Peterborough, Cambridgeshire. DI James Bliss, together with DC Penny Chandler, investigates the case and discovers that the young female victim had been relocated from her original burial site. A witness is convinced that a young female was struck by a vehicle back in the summer of 1990 and that police attended the scene. However, no record exists of either the accident or the reported victim. As the case develops, two retired police officers are murdered. 

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Amateurish .

  • By George on 11-12-18

Amateurish .

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-12-18

To call this amateurish is being generous , it’s full of product placement and cliche after cliche. The narration is dull and monotonous delivered in a bored with all this tone, and , who could blame the poor bugger given this load of drivel to contend with . Waste of my money so don’t waste yours .

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Candidate for Murder

  • A Mac Faraday Mystery, Book 12
  • By: Lauren Carr
  • Narrated by: C.J. McAllister
  • Length: 13 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars 2
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 2
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 2

When the political parties force-feed two unsavory mayoral nominees to the town's residents, David O'Callaghan decides to make a statement - by nominating Gnarly, Mac Faraday's German shepherd, to run for mayor of Spencer! What starts out as a joke turns into a disaster when overnight, Gnarly becomes the frontrunner, and his political opponents proceed to dig into the canine's past. When one of the mayoral candidates ends up dead, it becomes apparent that slinging mud is not enough for someone with a stake in this election.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Wrongly listed .

  • By George on 10-12-18

Wrongly listed .

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-12-18

Wrongly listed ,should be listed under comics , ideal for juvenile super dog fans , utter piffle .

Getting Rid of Matthew cover art
  • Getting Rid of Matthew

  • By: Jane Fallon
  • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
  • Length: 10 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 195
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 113
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 113

A Richard and Judy Summer Read Selection.
What to do if Matthew, your secret lover, finally decides to leave his wife and move in, just when you're thinking that you might not want him anymore?

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great Storyline - Narration Unbelievably Good

  • By Mrs Z Armour on 22-04-10

Awful foul mouth rant .

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-12-18

What is it with some female authors that they have to get into foul mouth narrative from the very beginning , foul language is usually the sign of a lack of vocabulary or maturity or both , it doesn’t work with audible having the F word echoing around the room . Grow up and get over it.

  • The Distant Echo

  • By: Val McDermid
  • Narrated by: Tom Cotcher
  • Length: 14 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,915
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,768
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,763

On a freezing morning four drunken students stumble upon the body of a woman in the snow. Rosie has been raped, stabbed and left for dead in a cemetery. The only suspects are the four young men now stained with her blood. Twenty-five years later the police mount a cold-case review of Rosie’s unsolved murder, and the four are still suspects. But when two of them die in suspicious circumstances, it seems that someone is pursuing their own brand of justice....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absorbing story with good characters

  • By Janet on 07-03-17

This is sick .

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-11-18

Anyone finding this in any way entertaining needs therapy along with the author . How the narrator could speak this bile is beyond me . Don’t degrade yourself , give this a miss .

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Last Gasp

  • By: Robert F. Barker
  • Narrated by: Guy Mott
  • Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 26
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25

The last time DCI Jamie Carver involved a would-be victim in his hunt for a serial killer, it ended badly. Now they want him to do it again, only this time the 'victim' is a Dominatrix. As if he hasn't enough on his plate - a brutal killer poised to strike again; shadows of the past that still haunt his dreams; an investigation under mounting pressure to succeed; a beautiful woman whose bizzare lifestyle may be the key to finding the killer. And that's not counting the young girl whose life he's trying to save from ruin or the ambitious colleague scheming to bring him down. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • BRILLIANT

  • By Anonymous User on 03-12-18

Awful

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-11-18

Unbelievably dreadful , this is an insult to the intelligence , the narrator is so wooden and the narrative is so banal , and of course , it has the required foul language that most so called police procedural books have these days . A waste of money ,

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Dead Lock

  • A DI Nick Dixon Novel
  • By: Damien Boyd
  • Narrated by: Napoleon Ryan
  • Length: 9 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 58
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 57

Early on a cold Somerset morning, 10-year-old Alesha Daniels is reported missing by her father, a violent alcoholic. Her mother, a known drug addict, is found unconscious, but it’s her mother’s boyfriend the police are keen to trace. As the hunt for Alesha gathers pace, a second local girl is taken, plunging another family into the depths of despair. Cutting short his holiday, DI Nick Dixon races home to join the Major Investigation Team, but no sooner has he identified a network of local suspects than they begin to show up dead.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent !!

  • By Anonymous User on 26-09-18

Too many foul mouthed women .

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-11-18

This author seems to have a thing about foul mouthed women and bad language in general . I would suggest that he gets out into the real world , I’m familiar with a number of women police officers none of whom use foul language at any time . It must be a fetish of his .

  • Murder at Ashgrove House

  • Rose Simpson Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: Margaret Addison
  • Narrated by: Tracey Norman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 19
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 16
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 16

When Sir William and Lady Withers invite friends and family to a weekend house party at their country home, Ashgrove House, they are faced with the arrival of both invited and uninvited guests, the consequence of which is murder. Set in 1930, Murder at Ashgrove House is full of intrigue, clues, and red herrings, with nearly everyone having a motive for wishing the victim dead. This is a classic country house murder mystery set during the golden age of crime and will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Silly puerile drivel .

  • By George on 04-09-18

Silly puerile drivel .

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-09-18

Shrill galloping narration of the silliest kind , how anyone could seriously put this out in this form beggars belief , not even fit for eight year olds .

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Semana Santa

  • By: David Hewson
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 14 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 93
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 31

It is in Semana Santa - Holy Week - in Southern Spain, and the heat is building up in the city. When a hideous double murder is discovered on the first day, the men of the force - and a visiting female academic, Maria Gutierrez - know they are in for a long week.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Elaborate writing, great reader

  • By Kirstine on 16-09-08

Sick .

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-08-18

If you like your book with the words piss , shit , vomit , blood , snot , and the F word on almost every page then this is the book for you , this author is in dire need of therapy , medication and locking away for his own good , anyone who can come up with this sort of sickening narrative is kidding himself that it would pass in anyway as something any right minded person would regard as entertaining, I’m surprised that Sean Barrett would lower himself to be associated with this sort of manic outpouring .