LISTENER

ashley wilkie

  • 4
  • reviews
  • 2
  • helpful votes
  • 7
  • ratings
  • True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop

  • By: Annie Darling
  • Narrated by: Laura Kirman
  • Length: 10 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 47
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 44

Verity Love - Jane Austen fangirl and an introvert in a world of extroverts - is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and her fictional boyfriend, Peter, is very useful for getting her out of unwanted social events. But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity's life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wow!

  • By TinaP on 13-02-18

Verity's story

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-05-18

great book focusing on Verity and her relationship with Pete the Oceanographer. Love comes in unlikely places.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts

  • By: Annie Darling
  • Narrated by: Laura Kirman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 56
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 50
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 50

Where happy ever after is only a page away…A delightful new series set in a quaint old bookshop, for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan. Once upon a time in a crumbling London bookshop, Posy Morland spent her life lost in the pages of her favourite romantic novels. So when Bookend's eccentric owner, Lavinia, dies and leaves the shop to Posy, she must put down her books and join the real world. Because Posy hasn't just inherited an ailing business, but also the unwelcome attentions of Lavinia's grandson.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good fun but...

  • By Jillyfern on 11-08-18

Couldn't put it down

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-05-18

Brilliant characters, funny and a good plot made this a joy to read. Lots of laugh out loud moments.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart

  • By: Anna Bell
  • Narrated by: Penny Andrews
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 45
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 44

Abi's left inconsolable when Joseph dumps her, saying they are incompatible. When Joseph returns a box of her possessions, she finds a bucket list of 10 things. What better way to win him back than by completing the list? But Abi's terrified of heights - not ideal when the list includes abseiling down a building. Completing the list is going to need all Abi's courage, but as she heals her broken heart one task at a time, the newly confident Abi might just have a surprise in store....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • hard to put down

  • By B. Dean on 14-01-17

A woman uses her ex boyfriend's bucket list

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-05-18

The book was ok but I found the main character slightly irritating as she sounded about 10 years old at times which is why I only gave it 4 stars.

  • Falling for You

  • By: Jill Mansell
  • Narrated by: Sarah Barron
  • Length: 13 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 79
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 69
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 70

Maddy Harvey was a bit of an ugly duckling as a teenager, what with her NHS specs, unfortunate hair and wonky teeth. Thankfully she's blossomed since then. But when she meets Kerr McKinnon one starry summer's night and discovers, days later, who he actually is...well, that's when the problems really start. Because everyone in Ashcombe knows what happened 11 years ago, and as far as her mother's concerned, Marcella would rather tear that family to pieces with her bare hands than see Maddy associate with a McKinnon.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Tale with a twist

  • By Richard on 26-03-17

Romantic and funny, this is a good read.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-05-18

A small town where the past catches up with everyone. Good characters that you can relate to.