LISTENER

flowergirl

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 35
  • ratings
  • Confetti at the Cornish Café

  • The Cornish Café Series, Book 3
  • By: Phillipa Ashley
  • Narrated by: Emma Spurgin-Hussey
  • Length: 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 35
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 32
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 31

Cal and Demi are preparing to launch their beloved Kilhallon Resort in Cornwall as a wedding venue. With the clifftop setting and coastal views, it's the perfect place for a magical ceremony. But their first clients are no ordinary couple. The bride and groom are internationally famous celebrities Lily Craig and Ben Trevone. As secrets surface and truths are told, can Demi and Cal ensure that Kilhallon's first wedding is a success? One thing's for sure: this will be a Cornish celebration to remember....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Ok to pass a couple of hours

  • By flowergirl on 05-08-18

Ok to pass a couple of hours

Overall
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-08-18

The book was ok, I have audio books and I must say,whoever narrated this was awful. The most boring voice, a good narrator brings characters to life, this one certainly did not!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • What Doesn't Kill You

  • DI Fenchurch, Book 3
  • By: Ed James
  • Narrated by: Michael Page
  • Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 100
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 83
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 81

The body of a young City lawyer is discovered on an East London building site, assaulted and brutally murdered. Initial enquiries lead DI Simon Fenchurch to a driver employed by Travis, a controversial new app-based cab company. Within days another woman - a Travis driver - is found murdered. As the body count goes up, DI Fenchurch and his colleagues on the East London Major Investigation Team delve into the crimes and unveil a murky conspiracy that some will do anything to keep hidden.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Awful narration!

  • By flowergirl on 18-12-17

Awful narration!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-12-17

I have no idea what this book is about as I cannot concentrate due to the narration which is one of the worst I have come across.The narrator has no idea how to put a book across and make you want to listen, he obviously thinks He's in panto, his accent in parts reminded me of old mother Riley! S.O.C.O ( scene of crime officers) is pronounced socko, not so co! Avoid this book if you enjoy the audible version, will definitely not buy another book if old mother Riley is in the chair, terrible and sorry I wasted my money

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Secret of Orchard Cottage

  • By: Alex Brown
  • Narrated by: Gabrielle Glaister
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 121
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 109
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 107

The wonderful new novel from Alex Brown, best-selling author of The Great Christmas Knit Off, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Jill Mansell. April Wilson is wondering what to do next - her life has been turned upside down after the loss of her husband so she's hoping to piece herself together again with a visit to her elderly great aunt, Edith. Arriving in the rural idyll of Tindledale, she's dismayed to find Edith's cottage and the orchards surrounding it in a sorry state of disrepair.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A thought provoking book.

  • By Di on 20-04-17

Pure joy to read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-08-16

Loved this book from start to finish, could not put it down, made me laugh and cry

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Lion, The Lamb, The Hunted

  • By: Andrew E. Kaufman
  • Narrated by: Luke Daniels
  • Length: 6 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 14
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 12
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 11

She only stepped outside for a minute… But a minute was all it took to turn Jean Kingsley’s world upside down - a minute she’d regret for the rest of her life. Stepping into her worst nightmare…Because when she returned, she found an open bedroom window and her three-year-old son, Nathan, gone. The boy would never be seen again. A nightmare that only got worse. A tip eventually leads detectives to their killer, a repeat sex offender, and inside his apartment, a gruesome discovery. A slam-dunk trial sends him off to death row, then several years later, to the electric chair.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • would not waste time reading

  • By flowergirl on 02-07-16

would not waste time reading

Overall
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 02-07-16

Having read twisted and enjoyed it I thought I would give this a go, kept putting it down and coming back into it, just could not get into it the narration was poor and the story was not much better, don't think I will be reading anymore books by this author

  • The Cuckoo's Calling

  • Cormoran Strike, Book 1
  • By: Robert Galbraith
  • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
  • Length: 15 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 9,586
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,778
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,756

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Entertaining and likeable

  • By Dragon on 06-05-13

loved this boom

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-04-16

I really enjoyed this book, this is the second book narrated by Robert glennister that I have listened to and I will be looking for more, twists and turns a plenty, well worth a listen

  • Fire Catcher

  • Charlie Tuesday, Book 2
  • By: C. S. Quinn
  • Narrated by: Napoleon Ryan
  • Length: 14 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 203
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 167
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 166

Charlie Tuesday is the city's best thief taker. But one case still eludes him, a mysterious key entrusted by the mother he barely knew. The key opens a chest of priceless papers - papers said to hold the dark alchemy of a lost Brotherhood.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Fabulous

  • By Roberta on 22-01-18

loved this book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-04-16

Was sorry when I had finished this book, kept me listening all night! Loved it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Lamentation

  • Shardlake, Book 6
  • By: C. J. Sansom
  • Narrated by: Steven Crossley
  • Length: 25 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,033
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 930
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 927

Summer, 1546. King Henry VIII is slowly, painfully dying. His Protestant and Catholic councillors are engaged in a final and decisive power struggle; whoever wins will control the government of Henry's successor, eight-year-old Prince Edward. As heretics are hunted across London, and the radical Protestant Anne Askew is burned at the stake, the Catholic party focus their attack on Henry's sixth wife, Matthew Shardlake's old mentor, Queen Catherine Parr.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Like listening to a play

  • By Brodie on 06-11-14

brilliant book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-03-16

Thoroughly enjoyed this book, c j sansome has the ability to make you feel that you are there