LISTENER

Ms P H M Stewart

  • 12
  • reviews
  • 17
  • helpful votes
  • 36
  • ratings
  • Abducted

  • Lizzy Gardner, Book 1
  • By: T. R. Ragan
  • Narrated by: Kate Rudd
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 158
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 134
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 133

Escaping from a madman should have been the end of her nightmare. Instead it was only the beginning...Lizzy Gardner was just seventeen when she was kidnapped by the psychopath known as Spiderman, a serial killer terrorizing her California hometown. Imprisoned and tormented for months, Lizzy narrowly escaped with her life and Spiderman vanished without a trace. But if she thought he would forget her, she was dead wrong.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Thriller / Mystery

  • By Peter Weatherby on 08-03-15

Found a favourite new author!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-07-18

Really enjoyed this! Strong female main characters... only tiny criticism was motivation for baddy was a bit late in the book for me, personally.

  • Their Lost Daughters

  • Audible's breakthrough crime author of 2018
  • By: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
  • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,180
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,823
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,810

Deep in the muddy fields of the Lincolnshire Fens, a teenage girl is found wandering, delirious, claiming to have been drugged at a party. Metres away, the drowned body of another girl is found on an isolated beach. And all this on a small stretch of land where, nearly 10 years ago, the shocking disappearance of a young girl remains an open case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Smokin' Start to a New Series!

  • By Simon on 14-06-18

Preposterous plot

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-07-18

This is one of the most outlandish and unbelievable crime/thriller books I’ve ever read. It actually almost angers me. It’s like a badly- edited film and I’m stunned it’s had such amazing reviews. Thank goodness for Audible’s refund policy.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Perfect Remains

  • DI Callanach, Book 1
  • By: Helen Fields
  • Narrated by: Angus King
  • Length: 12 hrs
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 594
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 538
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 537

On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing. In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness. Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine's missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he's eager to prove himself to his new team.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Superbly written and performed

  • By David Baumber on 27-01-17

FANTASTIC - best crime book I've read in years

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-03-17

More twists than a twisty thing - loved it. Sexy male detective, strong females, plot and multiple sub plots.

  • New York Night

  • By: Stephen Leather
  • Narrated by: Paul Thornley
  • Length: 8 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 281
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 264
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 264

Teenagers are being possessed and turning into sadistic murderers. Priests can't help, nor can psychiatrists. So who is behind the demonic possessions? Jack Nightingale is called in to investigate and finds his own soul is on the line.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good but could be better

  • By TrickyPolt on 06-06-16

Way too much graphic violence

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-09-16

I had to skip large parts of this. I usually love Stephen Leather but this book and the previous one I found too violent.

  • The Body Reader

  • By: Anne Frasier
  • Narrated by: Emily Sutton-Smith
  • Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 120
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 106
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 105

For three years, Detective Jude Fontaine was kept from the outside world. Held in an underground cell, her only contact was with her sadistic captor, and reading his face was her entire existence. Learning his every line, every movement, and every flicker of thought is what kept her alive. After her experience with isolation and torture, she is left with a fierce desire for justice - and a heightened ability to interpret the body language of both the living and the dead.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • enthralled

  • By Mrs T T on 15-02-17

VERY clever premise

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-06-16

Any additional comments?

Great idea - I hope this is the start of a series. The ending was a bit weak - there could have been a good surprise and one question was never answered, but it was still very good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Friday on My Mind

  • By: Nicci French
  • Narrated by: Beth Chalmers
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 510
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 452
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 456

When a corpse is found floating in the River Thames, the police can at least be sure that identifying the victim will be straightforward. Around the dead man's wrist is a hospital band. On it are the words 'Dr F. Klein'. But psychotherapist Frieda Klein is very much alive. And, after evidence linking her to the murder is discovered, she becomes the prime suspect.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • First meeting with Frieda

  • By Amelia on 18-10-15

Boring - totally unlike previous Niici Fench books

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-09-15

It was convoluted bizarre writing. The narration was dire ( think bossy little girl).

Couldn't listen to more than an hour or so.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Hidden

  • A Bone Secrets Novel
  • By: Kendra Elliot
  • Narrated by: Kate Rudd
  • Length: 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 92
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 76
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 76

Eleven years ago, the Co-Ed Slayer murdered nine female college students on the Oregon State University campus. Lacey Campbell barely survived his attack, but he killed her best friend, Suzanne, whose body was never found. Now a forensic odontologist analyzing teeth and bones for the state medical examiner, Lacey is devastated when she identifies Suzanne’s remains at a crime scene. She finds comfort in the arms of ex-cop Jack Harper, and sparks fly between them.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent

  • By Book-Diva on 04-10-12

Awful - & longest sex scene in fiction history

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-09-15

What would have made Hidden better?

A decent plot. The main female character was constantly sexualised. It was ridiculous.

Would you ever listen to anything by Kendra Elliot again?

Maybe.

Would you listen to another book narrated by Kate Rudd?

Probably.

What character would you cut from Hidden?

The main character.

Any additional comments?

Very disappointing - one of the worst things I've listened to.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • No Other Darkness

  • DI Marnie Rome 2
  • By: Sarah Hilary
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 174
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 163
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 163

A mesmerising, gripping novel from the winner of the 2015 Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year for Someone Else's Skin. Perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood. Two young boys. Trapped underground in a bunker. Five years later, the boys' bodies are found and the most difficult case of DI Marnie Rome's career begins. She has to find out who they are and what happened to them. For no-one has reported them missing - and it seems she is the only person to care.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Will be reading more by S.Hilary

  • By Mr Adrian Wilson on 07-11-16

Awful in every way

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-09-15

This is truly an appalling book. The plot is shockingly bad, the writing self-indulgently awful and the narration just hideous.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • After the Fire

  • By: Jane Casey
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lennon
  • Length: 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 233
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 216
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 218

Arson, accident or murder? After a fire rips through a North London tower block, two bodies are found locked in an 11th floor flat. But is the third victim that ensures the presence of detective Maeve Kerrigan and the murder squad. It appears that controversial MP Geoff Armstrong, trapped by the fire, chose to jump to his death rather than wait for rescue. But what was such a right-wing politician doing in the deprived, culturally diverse Maudling Estate?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another great book in this series.

  • By Ann D on 01-07-15

Excellent, twisting plot

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-07-15

I love all of Jane Casey's books. Her main character Maeve just keeps getting better.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Hidden Depths cover art
  • Hidden Depths

  • By: Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by: Anne Dover
  • Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 379
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 327
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 324

A hot summer on the Northumberland Coast, and Julie Armstrong arrives home from a night out to find her son murdered. Luke has been strangled, laid out in a bath of water, and covered with wild flowers. This stylised murder scene has Inspector Vera Stanhope and her team intrigued. But then a second body, that of beautiful young teacher Lily Marsh, is discovered in yet another watery, flower bestrewn grave.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So pleased I chose this one. Vera is Terrific!

  • By c on 24-05-14

Random ending

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-12-14

Would you try another book written by Ann Cleeves or narrated by Anne Dover?

Maybe.

Has Hidden Depths put you off other books in this genre?

No.

What does Anne Dover bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Don't know.

What character would you cut from Hidden Depths?

The killer - a bizarre ending.

Any additional comments?

I was really disappointed with the ending of this book - very poor frankly.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful