LISTENER

Mrs.

  • 16
  • reviews
  • 11
  • helpful votes
  • 1,134
  • ratings
  • Cloud Atlas

  • By: David Mitchell
  • Narrated by: Garrick Hagon, Jeff Harding, Steve Hodson, and others
  • Length: 21 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 890
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 763
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 768

Cloud Atlas features six characters in interlocking stories, each interrupting the one before it: a reluctant voyager crossing the Pacific in 1850; a disinherited composer blagging a precarious livelihood in between-the-wars Belgium; a high-minded journalist in Governor Reagan's California; a vanity publisher fleeing his gangland creditors; a genetically modified dinery server on death row; and Zachry, a young Pacific islander witnessing the nightfall of science and civilisation.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great book, brought to life better than any movie

  • By T on 25-02-13

Amazing

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-01-19

This is the book I would take to a desert island. It is magical and totally gripping.

  • The Summer of Impossible Things

  • By: Rowan Coleman
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 414
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 387
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 391

Thirty years ago something terrible happened to Luna's mother. Something she's prepared to reveal only after her death. In settling her mother's affairs, Luna finds more questions than answers until something impossible and magical happens.... Luna meets her mother as a young woman back in the summer of 1977. If she can truly travel back in time, she can change things. But in order to save her mother's life, will she have to sacrifice her own?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • So lovely

  • By Emma on 02-09-17

Soporific and tedious.

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-12-18

Gave up at chapter 7. Not worth 99p, or one credit let alone full cost.

  • The Angel

  • An Isabella Rose Thriller, Book 1
  • By: Mark Dawson
  • Narrated by: Napoleon Ryan
  • Length: 8 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 306
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 277
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 276

An Underground carriage in London is destroyed by a suicide bomber. The injured and the dead litter the platform. But as a crowd forms at street level, Michael Pope knows that this is only the beginning. Pope, head of top-secret Group 15, is tasked with finding the perpetrators of this atrocity and bringing them to justice, any way he can. He knows that the answers to many of his questions will lie at the end of the money trail, but he also knows that whoever funded and organized the attack will kill again for their freedom.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • starts well......

  • By VSK on 02-08-16

a cheat<br />

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-06-18

this is not a book it is an episode.the writer shoulld combine more episodes and turn it into a book

  • The Truth

  • By: Peter James
  • Narrated by: Matt Addis
  • Length: 18 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 157
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 143
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 145

A thrilling tale of suspense from the CWA Diamond winner and best-selling author of the Roy Grace series, read by Matt Addis. Susan and John Carter are crazy about each other, and life is perfect but for one thing - they are on the brink of financial disaster. Surely being a surrogate mother to another man's child won't harm such a strong relationship? Especially when the mysterious Mr Sarotzini is offering to save their home and business - everything they've worked for.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • The Truth is it's not bad

  • By Simon on 09-01-18

Horrible

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-01-18

If this was the first book by Peter James that I had read I would not read any of his excellent detective stories.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • A World Full of Weeping

  • By: Keith McCarthy
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 52
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 52

An invitation to stay with childhood friends seems an excellent idea to aid Helena's recovery after her cancer treatment. Helena grew up with the Hickmans and had spent many happy holidays with them. But when a man is found burned to death in a car, the apparently irrelevant though horrific incident creates unexpected disturbances.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Great writing but weak storyline

  • By Cabaspre on 06-05-12

You have to have a headline

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-05-17

Reasonable story - very poor editing. Cringe making sex scenes. Apparently you have to have fifteen words in a review and see above

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Three Daughters

  • A Novel
  • By: Consuelo Saah Baehr
  • Narrated by: Karen Peakes
  • Length: 23 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 373
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 349
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 348

Born in rural Palestine, just before the dawn of the 20th century, Miriam adores her father and is certain his love will protect her, but she soon finds that tradition overrides love. Uprooted by war, Miriam enters a world where the old constraints slip away with thrilling and disastrous results. Miriam's rebellious daughter, Nadia, is thrilled with the opportunity for a modern life that her elite education provides. But when she falls in love with an outsider, the clan reins her back with a shocking finality.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Narration

  • By Marytee on 30-08-16

A totally gripping story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-04-17

Not since Monica Ali's Brick Lane have I read a book which so totally takes you to the countries in which it is placed. You feel totally involved in the characters and cannot help conjecturing what happened to them subsequently given the unhappy history of the Arabs, Christian or Islam in Israel at that time.

  • The Distant Echo

  • By: Val McDermid
  • Narrated by: Tom Cotcher
  • Length: 14 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,913
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,766
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,761

On a freezing morning four drunken students stumble upon the body of a woman in the snow. Rosie has been raped, stabbed and left for dead in a cemetery. The only suspects are the four young men now stained with her blood. Twenty-five years later the police mount a cold-case review of Rosie’s unsolved murder, and the four are still suspects. But when two of them die in suspicious circumstances, it seems that someone is pursuing their own brand of justice....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Absorbing story with good characters

  • By Janet on 07-03-17

Disappointing

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-03-17

I am not sure where this book comes in Val Mc Dermids oeuvre but it isn't up to her usual high standard. It was obvious early in the story 'whodunnit' and the plot was very clunky.

  • Over Sea, Under Stone

  • Book 1 of The Dark Is Rising Sequence
  • By: Susan Cooper
  • Narrated by: Alex Jennings
  • Length: 7 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 155
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 140
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 139

On holiday in Cornwall, the three children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that: it is the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their lives in peril.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Classic fantasy novels for children and adults.

  • By Katheryn on 22-07-15

The only thing wrong

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-03-17

with this audible book is the very beginning and the end. 'Audible Kids' is horrible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,239
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,138
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,140

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Story well worth a listen

  • By Cathryn B. on 11-04-16

A hard listen

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-06-16

Could not finish. The writer doesn't allow the reader to develop his or her own idea of the characters. To be honest I don't know if the story is good because the style was too annoying and unlike a real or ebook you can't skip the irritating and annoying bits to get on with the story.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Three Slices

  • By: Kevin Hearne, Delilah S. Dawson, Chuck Wendig
  • Narrated by: Luke Daniels, Alex Wyndham, Julia Whelan
  • Length: 6 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 56
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 54
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 54

Featuring A Prelude to War, an Iron Druid novella. After an old friend is murdered in retaliation for his mercenary strikes against the oldest vampires in the world, Atticus O'Sullivan must solicit the aid of another old friend in Ethiopia if he's going to have a chance of finishing a war he never wanted. Meanwhile Granuaile MacTiernan starts a private war of her own against Loki, the lord of lies, and if it brings Ragnarok early - so be it.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Third slice stale

  • By Tod Werewolf on 14-05-15

A mixed batch

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-02-16

The first two stories were excellent but the language in the third was gro§sly offensive.