LISTENER

Mrs.

  • 14
  • reviews
  • 11
  • helpful votes
  • 1,048
  • ratings
  • The Angel

  • An Isabella Rose Thriller, Book 1
  • By: Mark Dawson
  • Narrated by: Napoleon Ryan
  • Length: 8 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 291
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 264
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 263

An Underground carriage in London is destroyed by a suicide bomber. The injured and the dead litter the platform. But as a crowd forms at street level, Michael Pope knows that this is only the beginning. Pope, head of top-secret Group 15, is tasked with finding the perpetrators of this atrocity and bringing them to justice, any way he can. He knows that the answers to many of his questions will lie at the end of the money trail, but he also knows that whoever funded and organized the attack will kill again for their freedom.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • starts well......

  • By VSK on 02-08-16

a cheat<br />

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 01-06-18

this is not a book it is an episode.the writer shoulld combine more episodes and turn it into a book

  • The Truth

  • By: Peter James
  • Narrated by: Matt Addis
  • Length: 18 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 149
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 135
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 137

A thrilling tale of suspense from the CWA Diamond winner and best-selling author of the Roy Grace series, read by Matt Addis. Susan and John Carter are crazy about each other, and life is perfect but for one thing - they are on the brink of financial disaster. Surely being a surrogate mother to another man's child won't harm such a strong relationship? Especially when the mysterious Mr Sarotzini is offering to save their home and business - everything they've worked for.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • The Truth is it's not bad

  • By Simon on 09-01-18

Horrible

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-01-18

If this was the first book by Peter James that I had read I would not read any of his excellent detective stories.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • A World Full of Weeping

  • By: Keith McCarthy
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 70
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 51
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 51

An invitation to stay with childhood friends seems an excellent idea to aid Helena's recovery after her cancer treatment. Helena grew up with the Hickmans and had spent many happy holidays with them. But when a man is found burned to death in a car, the apparently irrelevant though horrific incident creates unexpected disturbances.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Great writing but weak storyline

  • By Cabaspre on 06-05-12

You have to have a headline

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-05-17

Reasonable story - very poor editing. Cringe making sex scenes. Apparently you have to have fifteen words in a review and see above

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Three Daughters

  • A Novel
  • By: Consuelo Saah Baehr
  • Narrated by: Karen Peakes
  • Length: 23 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 368
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 344
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 343

Born in rural Palestine, just before the dawn of the 20th century, Miriam adores her father and is certain his love will protect her, but she soon finds that tradition overrides love. Uprooted by war, Miriam enters a world where the old constraints slip away with thrilling and disastrous results. Miriam's rebellious daughter, Nadia, is thrilled with the opportunity for a modern life that her elite education provides. But when she falls in love with an outsider, the clan reins her back with a shocking finality.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Narration

  • By Marytee on 30-08-16

A totally gripping story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-04-17

Not since Monica Ali's Brick Lane have I read a book which so totally takes you to the countries in which it is placed. You feel totally involved in the characters and cannot help conjecturing what happened to them subsequently given the unhappy history of the Arabs, Christian or Islam in Israel at that time.

  • The Distant Echo

  • By: Val McDermid
  • Narrated by: Tom Cotcher
  • Length: 14 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,679
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,547
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,544

On a freezing morning four drunken students stumble upon the body of a woman in the snow. Rosie has been raped, stabbed and left for dead in a cemetery. The only suspects are the four young men now stained with her blood. Twenty-five years later the police mount a cold-case review of Rosie’s unsolved murder, and the four are still suspects. But when two of them die in suspicious circumstances, it seems that someone is pursuing their own brand of justice....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Wonderful novel which is so well narrated

  • By S. Christie on 28-07-16

Disappointing

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-03-17

I am not sure where this book comes in Val Mc Dermids oeuvre but it isn't up to her usual high standard. It was obvious early in the story 'whodunnit' and the plot was very clunky.

  • Over Sea, Under Stone

  • Book 1 of The Dark Is Rising Sequence
  • By: Susan Cooper
  • Narrated by: Alex Jennings
  • Length: 7 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 132
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 120
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 119

On holiday in Cornwall, the three children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that: it is the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their lives in peril.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Classic fantasy novels for children and adults.

  • By Katheryn on 22-07-15

The only thing wrong

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-03-17

with this audible book is the very beginning and the end. 'Audible Kids' is horrible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,163
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,069
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,071

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent

  • By Jools on 17-04-16

A hard listen

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 28-06-16

Could not finish. The writer doesn't allow the reader to develop his or her own idea of the characters. To be honest I don't know if the story is good because the style was too annoying and unlike a real or ebook you can't skip the irritating and annoying bits to get on with the story.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Three Slices

  • By: Kevin Hearne, Delilah S. Dawson, Chuck Wendig
  • Narrated by: Luke Daniels, Alex Wyndham, Julia Whelan
  • Length: 6 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 56
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 54
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 54

Featuring A Prelude to War, an Iron Druid novella. After an old friend is murdered in retaliation for his mercenary strikes against the oldest vampires in the world, Atticus O'Sullivan must solicit the aid of another old friend in Ethiopia if he's going to have a chance of finishing a war he never wanted. Meanwhile Granuaile MacTiernan starts a private war of her own against Loki, the lord of lies, and if it brings Ragnarok early - so be it.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Third slice stale

  • By Tod Werewolf on 14-05-15

A mixed batch

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-02-16

The first two stories were excellent but the language in the third was gro§sly offensive.

  • Holy Island

  • The DCI Ryan Mysteries, Book 1
  • By: LJ Ross
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 11 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,162
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,047
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,047

Detective Chief Inspector Ryan retreats to Holy Island seeking sanctuary when he is forced to take sabbatical leave from his duties as a homicide detective. A few days before Christmas, his peace is shattered, and he is thrust back into the murky world of murder when a young woman is found dead amongst the ancient ruins of the nearby priory. When former local girl Dr. Anna Taylor arrives back on the island as a police consultant, old memories swim to the surface, making her confront her difficult past.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Struggled to finish this one

  • By Colette on 06-01-16

If this is book 1

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-01-16

Does this mean that more of this twaddle has been published? Books like this are ehstcgives crime fiction a bad name. Couldn't finish it.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • The Mummifier's Daughter

  • A Novel in Ancient Egypt
  • By: Nathaniel Burns
  • Narrated by: Kevin Clay
  • Length: 5 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 6
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 3

Shabaka, the secretive Prefect, the Pharaoh’s special envoy charged with combating crime in the capital of the Pharaoh’s empire, also often makes use of Neti Kerty’s special talents. With her powers of deduction and knowledge of the dead, she has already helped solve many crimes.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • So so story ruined by appalling narrator

  • By Kindle Customer on 28-04-17

Never again

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-07-15

I have listened to three chapters of this drivel and wish I could delete it completely. It is impossible to suspend. reality and enter into this story it is so cluky with unlikely coincidence s.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful