LISTENER

Us Baldings

  • 13
  • reviews
  • 9
  • helpful votes
  • 155
  • ratings
  • Shatter

  • By: Michael Robotham
  • Narrated by: Sean Barrett
  • Length: 14 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,613
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 995
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 991

A naked woman is perched on the edge of Clifton Suspension Bridge weeping into a mobile phone. Clinical psychologist Joseph O'Loughlin is only feet away, desperately trying to talk her down. She whispers, 'you don't understand,' and jumps. Later, Joe has a visitor - the woman's teenage daughter, a runaway from boarding school. She refuses to believe that her mother would have jumped off the bridge - not only would she not commit suicide, she is terrified of heights.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gripping!

  • By blueskythinker on 13-12-08

Love this book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-02-19

This was the first Audio book I listen to. Many have followed.
I’ve decided to revisit the series and this is my favourite.

  • Little Black Lies

  • By: Sharon Bolton
  • Narrated by: Lucy Price-Lewis, Kenny Blyth, Antonia Beamish
  • Length: 11 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 471
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 429
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 426

Admittedly, it wasn't murder. A moment's carelessness, a tragic accident - and two children are dead. Yours. Living in a small island community, you can't escape the woman who destroyed your life. Each chance encounter is an agonizing reminder of what you've lost - your family, your future, your sanity. How long before revenge becomes irresistible? With no reason to go on living, why shouldn't you turn your darkest thoughts into deeds?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Omg best story ever read . Depressing at times tears towards the end then one hell of a twist Boom

  • By Miss on 12-08-15

Best book I’ve listened to in a while.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-01-19

I wasn’t sure I wanted to listen to this book after reading the synopsis and thinking it might be a bit harrowing for entertainment whilst working but I have to say; although I confess to a fair bit of sobbing, it is the Best book I’ve listened to in a while. Very gripping. I didn’t want to leave my workshop!

  • Now You See Me

  • By: Sharon Bolton
  • Narrated by: Lisa Coleman
  • Length: 11 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 385
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 315
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 314

Despite her fascination with Jack the Ripper, Detective Constable Lacey Flint has never worked a big case or seen a dead body up close. Until now…As she leaves a south London estate one night, she is horrified to find a woman has been viciously stabbed, right next to Lacey’s car. Thrown headlong into her first murder hunt, Lacey’s quiet life changes overnight. Then Lacey receives a familiar hand-delivered letter, written in red blood, and it is clear the police have a Ripper copycat on their hands.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Highly recommended.

  • By Michelle on 01-07-11

Gripping

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 18-01-19

I’m currently working my way through Sharon Bolton books. I did enjoy this one but not quite as much as some of the others we’ve had. Having said that, like the others I’d read, this has plenty of Twists and turns. I’m looking forward to the next one in the series.

  • Natural Causes

  • An Inspector McLean Novel, Book 1
  • By: James Oswald
  • Narrated by: Ian Hanmore
  • Length: 11 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,780
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,613
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,603

The unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of James Oswald's gripping new Inspector McLean crime thriller Natural Causes, read by the actor Ian Hanmore. A young girl's mutilated body is discovered in a sealed room. Her remains are carefully arranged, in what seems to have been a cruel and macabre ritual, which appears to have taken place over 60 years ago.For newly appointed Edinburgh Detective Inspector Tony McLean this baffling cold case ought to be a low priority - but he is haunted by the young victim and her grisly death.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Is Edinburgh turning into Midsummer?

  • By Patricia on 22-06-13

Great series

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-01-19

This is my second time through the series as my husband now works with me and I’m familiarising him ready for the next book!

  • Dead Woman Walking

  • By: Sharon Bolton
  • Narrated by: Julia Barrie
  • Length: 12 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 262
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 238
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 236

Just before dawn in the hills near the Scottish border, a man murders a young woman. At the same time, a hot-air balloon crashes out of the sky. There's just one survivor. She's seen the killer's face - but he's also seen hers. And he won't rest until he's eliminated the only witness to his crime. Alone, scared, trusting no one, she's running to where she feels safe - but it could be the most dangerous place of all....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Crime thriller with Nuns

  • By Andromeda's Twin on 16-05-17

Really enjoyable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-01-19

I have to say there were a few moments where I thought ‘REALLY’ but I love how the story unfurled in this book. The twists and turns made up for the rather far fetched or unbelievable bits. I do like to like at least one character otherwise I feel I don’t really care what the outcome is. Good characters, good plot. Entertaining and gripping. Perfect for work.

  • Broken Ground

  • Karen Pirie, Book 5
  • By: Val McDermid
  • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 12 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 410
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 371
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 368

When a body is discovered in the remote depths of the Highlands, DCI Karen Pirie finds herself in the right place at the right time. Unearthed with someone's long-buried inheritance, the victim seems to belong to the distant past - until new evidence suggests otherwise, and Karen is called in to unravel a case where nothing is as it seems. It's not long before an overheard conversation draws Karen into the heart of a different case, however - a shocking crime she thought she'd already prevented. As she inches closer to the twisted truths at the centre of these murders, it becomes clear that she's dealing with a version of justice terrifyingly different to her own....

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • could hardly finish

  • By Louise on 09-09-18

It was ok.

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-12-18

Quite a gentle story really. I found it a bit formulaic and unsatisfying in the end. I thought the narrator didn’t really help with the lack of grit.

  • The Stranger You Know

  • By: Jane Casey
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lennon
  • Length: 12 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 226
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 210
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 207

He meets women. He gains their trust. He kills them. That’s all Maeve Kerrigan knows about the man she is hunting. Three women have been strangled in their homes by the same sadistic killer. With no sign of a break-in, every indication shows that they let him in. But the evidence is pointing at a shocking suspect: DI Josh Derwent, Maeve’s colleague. Maeve refuses to believe he could be involved, but how well does she really know him?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Another excellent Maeve Kerrigan

  • By Saffy on 31-12-13

best yet

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-12-18

I really enjoyed this book.
Ive listened to the previous books in the series and felt this much grittier. I often find murder mysteries a bit formulaic and get a bit bored with the protagonist becoming a victim and getting away at the last minute and the scoobie doo confessions at the end. this had none of that...
love this narrator too.

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,346
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,232
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,233

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Story well worth a listen

  • By Cathryn B. on 11-04-16

It was ok

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-09-18

This is my first David Jackson book I’ve listened to. Although some parts were quite Gruesome, it didn’t feel particularly gritty. I didn’t feel totally convinced by the plot either.
Perhaps Im too hardened to more shocking styles!

  • Don't Tell

  • By: Karen Rose
  • Narrated by: Jeff Harding
  • Length: 16 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 78
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 75
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74

Desperate Mary Grace Winters knew the only way to save herself and her child from her abusive husband was to stage their deaths. Now all that remains of her former life is at the bottom of a lake. As Caroline Stewart, Mary Grace has almost forgotten the nightmare she left behind nine years ago. Slowly she has learned to believe that her new life, and new identity, is here to stay. Then her husband uncovers her hidden trail. Step by step he's closing in on her and everyone she loves.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Good thriller

  • By Catherine Thow on 20-11-17

Cheesy

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-04-18

I’m afraid I found this book painfully cheesy and not very believable. Prefer a bit more grit.

  • The Power

  • By: Naomi Alderman
  • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh, Naomi Alderman, Thomas Judd, and others
  • Length: 12 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,306
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,059
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,057

'She throws her head back and pushes her chest forward and lets go a huge blast right into the centre of his body. The rivulets and streams of red scarring run across his chest and up around his throat. She'd put her hand on his heart and stopped him dead.' Suddenly - tomorrow or the day after - girls find that with a flick of their fingers, they can inflict agonizing pain and even death.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Visceral, Stirring and Inspirational

  • By Raine on 29-12-16

Great book

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-04-18

Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Narrators were very good and we loved twisted role reversal. We’d never fall so low... would we?