LISTENER

SHADOW smash

  • 14
  • reviews
  • 11
  • helpful votes
  • 122
  • ratings
  • Man at the Helm

  • By: Nina Stibbe
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 9 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 363
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 336
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 336

Not long after her parents' separation, heralded by an awkward scene involving a wet Daily Telegraph and a pan of cold eggs, nine-year-old Lizzie Vogel, her sister and little brother and their now-divorcée mother are packed off to a small, slightly hostile village in the English countryside. Their mother is all alone, only 31 years of age, with three young children and a Labrador. It is no wonder, when you put it like that, that she becomes a menace and a drunk. And a playwright.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Just as good as expected

  • By Philip on 18-09-14

Gentle tale of a family struggling to cope with a drastic change in their circumstances.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-04-19

Set in the 70’s, this is a lovely story of a family struggling to survive when their world falls apart. It is both whimsical and perceptive. It will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear or two. Beautifully voiced by Imogen Church; she brought each character to life.

  • The Queen of Bloody Everything

  • By: Joanna Nadin
  • Narrated by: Kelly Hotten
  • Length: 12 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 642
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 605
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 603

As Edie Jones lies in a bed on the 14th floor of a Cambridge hospital, her adult daughter, Dido, tells their story, starting with the day that changed everything. That was the day when Dido - aged exactly six years and 27 days old - met the handsome Tom Trevelyan, his precocious sister, Harry, and their parents, Angela and David.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Insightful and intelligent, witty and honest

  • By Lu on 21-04-18

Bittersweet story of love and sacrifice.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-05-18

This tale of a mother and daughter relationship had me crying at times but there was always a sense that, however bad things were, whatever awful things were said and done, here was a mother and daughter bond that could never be entirely destroyed. As Dido grew older and wiser, she stoically bore the pain of unrequited love, and allowed herself to be used and abused before she finally found her place in the world. Great empathy from the author and perfect narration.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • The Reunion

  • By: Samantha Hayes
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 12 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 335
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 309
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 309

Then - In charge of her little sister at the beach, Claire allowed Eleanor to walk to the shop alone to buy an ice cream. Placing a coin into her hand, Claire told her to be quick, knowing how much she wanted the freedom. Eleanor never came back. Now - The time has finally come to sell the family farm and Claire is organizing a reunion of her dearest friends, the same friends who were present the day her sister went missing. When another girl disappears, long-buried secrets begin to surface.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gripping!!

  • By Astrid on 09-03-18

Full of twists

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-05-18

Although the end surprises are signposted throughout this chilling tale there are enough red herrings to keep you guessing. It is an intricately woven plot with finely drawn, sometimes flawed, characters. A great story beautifully read.

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,629
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,423
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,424

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Utter nonsense

  • By S. Christie on 30-04-18

Twists and turns galore!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-04-17

What a complicated plot. This is a great story of control and revenge. It has lots of cleverly crafted twists to the plot leaving you guessing right to the very end. A real page turner.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Just One More Day

  • By: Susan Lewis
  • Narrated by: Coleen Prendergast
  • Length: 9 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 17
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 12

In 1960s Bristol, a family is overshadowed by tragedy. While Susan, a typically feisty seven-year-old, is busy being brave, her mother, Eddress, is struggling for courage. Though bound by an indestructible love, their journey through a world that is darkening with tragedy is fraught with the kind of misunderstandings that bring as much laughter as pain, and as many dreams as nightmares. How does a child cope when faced with a wall of adult secrets?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Unputdownable

  • By Trish on 14-04-18

A real tear-jerker

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-03-16

This is based on a true story and it has that ring of truth all through it. It is sensitively read by Colleen Prendergast and the compelling story grabs at your heartstrings right to the end.

  • The Universe Versus Alex Woods

  • By: Gavin Extence
  • Narrated by: Joe Thomas
  • Length: 10 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 398
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 348
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 347

A tale of an unexpected friendship, an unlikely hero, and an improbable journey, Alex's story treads the fine line between light and dark, laughter and tears. And it might just strike you as one of the funniest, most heartbreaking novels you've ever heard. Alex Woods knows that he hasn't had the most conventional start in life. He knows that growing up with a clairvoyant single mother won't endear him to the local bullies. He also knows that even the most improbable events can happen - he's got the scars to prove it. What he doesn't know yet is that when he meets ill-tempered, reclusive widower Mr Peterson, he'll make an unlikely friend.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Grows on you!

  • By F on 26-05-13

Very moving. A satisfying read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-06-15

Stick with this. The narration seems a bit devoid of emotion to begin with but you'll soon be drawn into the mind of the complicated but starkly self-aware nature of Alex. A great story about a friendship between two misfits whose relationship becomes symbiotic.

  • A Second Chance

  • The Chronicles of St Mary's, Book 3
  • By: Jodi Taylor
  • Narrated by: Zara Ramm
  • Length: 9 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,575
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,446
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,435

St Mary’s is back and nothing is going right for Max. Once again, it’s just one damned thing after another. The action jumps from an encounter with a mirror-stealing Isaac Newton to the bloody battlefield at Agincourt. Discover how a simple fact-finding assignment to witness the ancient and murderous cheese-rolling ceremony in Gloucester can result in CBC - concussion by cheese.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Great balance between fun and fear

  • By Mike on 18-11-15

Another mind boggling tale of love and loss

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-05-15

Each book in the series gets more and more tangled in history and now time dimensions! Not a book to fall asleep with - you'll never find where you got to!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • A Symphony of Echoes

  • The Chronicles of St Mary's, Book 2
  • By: Jodi Taylor
  • Narrated by: Zara Ramm
  • Length: 8 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,085
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,936
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,933

Book Two in the madcap time-travel series based at the St Mary's Institute of Historical Research that seems to be everyone's cup of tea. In the second book in the Chronicles of St Mary's series, Max and the team visit Victorian London in search of Jack the Ripper, witness the murder of Archbishop Thomas A Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, and discover that dodos make a grockling noise when eating cucumber sandwiches.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • More entertainment

  • By Robyn on 09-11-16

Brilliantly plotted.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-04-15

Even better than the first one. Where do her ideas come from? This is the work of an ingenious twisted mind!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Never Say Goodbye

  • By: Susan Lewis
  • Narrated by: Julia Franklin
  • Length: 14 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 36
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 35

A compelling and deeply moving novel of friendship, family and the power of love, from the Sunday Times top ten bestseller. Now available as an audiobook. How would you cope with the threat of losing someone you love? Josie Clark is a loving wife and mother. She and her husband Jeff don’t have much and it’s often difficult to make ends meet. But Josie will do anything to protect her family and keep them safe. Bel Monkton is a successful property developer, living in a beautiful house by the sea.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Emotional story

  • By Hazel on 15-02-15

A bit twee

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-04-15

Very predictable storyline. Somehow the characters just didn't come alive for me. I didn't enjoy the narration either. Too soppy!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Broadchurch

  • The Official Novel
  • By: Erin Kelly, Chris Chibnall
  • Narrated by: Carolyn Pickles
  • Length: 11 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 181
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 160
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 163

The unmissable Broadchurch novel, inspired by the first season of 2013's mega-hit ITV series. Containing never-before-seen material and adding great depth and insights to the unforgettable cast of characters, this is a must-listen not only for everyone who loved the TV programme ahead of the second series but for all fans of evocative, atmospheric crime drama.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Just as good as the TV show

  • By Heidi on 02-09-14

Gripping

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-04-15

This is a sensitive and competent writing of the story first shown as a TV series. Well worth a listen.