LISTENER

Annie

  • 8
  • reviews
  • 21
  • helpful votes
  • 199
  • ratings
  • Lethal White

  • Cormoran Strike, Book 4
  • By: Robert Galbraith
  • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
  • Length: 22 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,784
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 5,387
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,355

When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help investigating a crime he thinks he witnessed as a child, Strike is left deeply unsettled. While Billy is obviously mentally distressed and cannot remember many concrete details, there is something sincere about him and his story. But before Strike can question him further, Billy bolts from his office in a panic. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The most epic Galbraith/Rowling novel yet

  • By Mikey on 19-09-18

Genius!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-10-18

I have enjoyed the 3 previous Strike books but this is the best one yet. J K Rowling is a genius. Can’t wait for the next book.

  • War and Remembrance

  • By: Herman Wouk
  • Narrated by: Kevin Pariseau
  • Length: 56 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 172
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 139
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 140

Herman Wouk's sweeping epic of World War II, which begins with The Winds of War and continues here in War and Remembrance, stands as the crowning achievement of one of America's most celebrated storytellers. Like no other books about the war, Wouk's spellbinding narrative captures the tide of global events - and all the drama, romance, heroism, and tragedy of World War II - as it immerses us in the lives of a single American family drawn into the very center of the war's maelstrom.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best read/listen-to for years!

  • By SussexDodo on 10-12-13

A must read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-06-18

Everyone should read ‘Winds of War’ and ‘War and Remembrance’ by Herman Wouk to remember the sacrifices made by so many in WW2 and the horrors inflicted on the European Jewish population. They are very informative and moving books.

  • The Queen's Man

  • By: Rory Clements
  • Narrated by: Gareth Armstrong
  • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 93
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 87
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 84

From Rory Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, comes The Queen's Man, the sixth in his acclaimed bestselling John Shakespeare Elizabethan mystery series. England is a Judas nest of conspiracyIt is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Beware - order of books wrongly numbered.

  • By Annie on 12-08-17

Beware - order of books wrongly numbered.

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-08-17

Why has the order of the books in this series been wrongly numbered? I read books 1 to 5 and thoroughly enjoyed them but books 6 and 7 are the beginning of the story when John Shakespeare was first employed as an Intelligencer by Francis Walsingham and was still unmarried. It is impossible to enjoy reading books 6 and 7 out of sequence. Please rectify this mistake for the sake of other listeners, sadly it is too late for me now.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Julian Fellowes's Belgravia

  • By: Julian Fellowes
  • Narrated by: Juliet Stevenson
  • Length: 15 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,611
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,484
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,483

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia is the story of a secret. A secret that unravels behind the porticoed doors of London's grandest postcode. Set in the 1840s, when the upper echelons of society began to rub shoulders with the emerging industrial nouveau riche, Belgravia is peopled by a rich cast of characters. But the story begins on the eve of the Battle of Waterloo in 1815. At the Duchess of Richmond's now legendary ball, one family's life will change forever.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Reminiscent of Georgette Heyer

  • By Lorna on 17-07-16

What a treat!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-07-16

Perhaps a little predictable but an excellent read nonetheless. Wonderfully read by Juliet Stevenson who brought all the characters to life and who is so easy to listen to. A must for lovers of Julian Fellowes and period drama. I hope there is more to come about all these characters in a second book.

17 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Cranford

  • By: Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Narrated by: Prunella Scales
  • Length: 6 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 257
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 198
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 196

A vivid and affectionate portrait of the residents of an English country town in the mid-19th century, Cranford describes a community dominated by its independent and refined women, relating the adventures of Miss Matty and Miss Deborah, two middle-aged spinster sisters striving to live with dignity in reduced circumstances. Through a series of satirical vignettes, Gaskell sympathetically portrays changing small town customs and values in mid-Victorian England....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Best Cranford Reading!

  • By Sharon on 26-05-09

May Be Disappointed

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-11-15

You may, like me, be disappointed with the book if you loved the TV series. The book doesn't seem to have much content, I don't know where all the story came from on television, it certainly is not in the original book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Summer at Shell Cottage

  • By: Lucy Diamond
  • Narrated by: Juanita McMahon
  • Length: 13 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 378
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 337
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 336

A seaside holiday at Shell Cottage in Devon has always been the perfect escape for the Tarrant family. But this year everything has changed. Following her husband's recent death, Olivia is struggling to pick up the pieces. Harriet's looking forward to a break with her lovely husband, Robert, and teenage daughter, Molly. But unknown to Harriet, Robert is hiding a secret - and so, for that matter, is Molly....

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Summer satisfaction

  • By Fabulous Book Fiend on 21-06-15

Good Summer Read

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 24-07-15

A very enjoyable summer holiday book. A bit more to it than a light hearted read. Slightly annoying voices for the characters at times but still well worth listening to.

  • The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England

  • A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century
  • By: Ian Mortimer
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 11 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,600
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,145
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,134

Imagine you could travel back to the 14th century. What would you see? What would you smell? More to the point, where are you going to stay? And what are you going to eat? Ian Mortimer shows us that the past is not just something to be studied; it is also something to be lived. He sets out to explain what life was like in the most immediate way, through taking you to the Middle Ages. The result is the most astonishing social history book you are ever likely to read: evolutionary in its concept, informative and entertaining in its detail.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Very, very interesting - highly recommended

  • By anthonyunionjackson on 06-05-09

Very Interesting Read

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 20-07-15

What did you like most about The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England?

It is a very clear account of this period in our history and so easy to digest the facts.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England?

I was so interested in the friar who predicted vehicles that would travel without horses, vehicles that would travel under water and in the sky. Perhaps time travellers do really exist.

Which character – as performed by Jonathan Keeble – was your favourite?

There are no characters in the book, it is a narration of history.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

A fascinating glimpse into a past century.

Any additional comments?

A very interesting and comprehensive book, very easy to listen to and in no way boring if one is interested in history. Excellent narration.

  • A Good Catch

  • By: Fern Britton
  • Narrated by: Fern Britton
  • Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 80
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 72
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 70

The new witty and warm novel from the best-selling author and TV presenter, Fern Britton. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell, and Trisha Ashley. Even happy families have their secrets... Greer Clovelly seems to have it all; beautiful, chic and slender, she's used to getting her own way. Greer has been in love with Jesse Behenna since her first day at school and she's determined that one day, they'll be married. After all, a marriage between them would join together two dynasties of Cornish fishing families to make one prosperous one.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • depressing read

  • By Tash on 21-11-17

Not Fern's Best Book

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-07-15

A good holiday read, enjoyable but I did find it rather annoying at times. I have read several of Fern's books but this was definitely not her best.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful