LISTENER

Sallyhippo

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 1
  • helpful vote
  • 23
  • ratings
  • The Fireman

  • By: Joe Hill
  • Narrated by: Kate Mulgrew
  • Length: 22 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 649
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 628
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 628

Some flames burn too brightly to be extinguished. This exceptional new thriller from Joe Hill is essential reading for 2016 and perfect for fans of Justin Cronin's The Passage. In a world overtaken by a deadly and dramatic new virus, Harper is determined to live long enough to deliver her baby. But when all it takes is a spark to start a deadly blaze, she's going to need some help from the mysterious fireman.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A Spark Off The Old Block!

  • By Simon on 21-05-16

Great story, full of tense and feel good moments

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 13-02-19

Joe Hill did well with this book, it contained enough detail to keep the story in real time, however, there was a little bit of detail and research missing in other areas that make some of the story a little implausible, however, if you don't think to much about it, the story catches up with itself, my review sounds contradicting but you'll know what I mean once you get about halfway through.

The story is well written and gripping in places, it has great moments of suspense and heartfelt emotion, you really feel you are on a journey with the main character and the relationships she has with others, it's not really about her pregnancy, that's almost an underlying sub plot that doesn't get going until much later in the book.

Overall, I would recommend it, its a great story that twists and turns and will keep you going back for more. Unfortunately, Kate Mulgrew isn't the best at offering a British accent, let alone a male one as others have reviewed and as one of the main characters the Fireman features quite a bit and she certainly can't do an Irish accent, thankfully that doesn't feature a great deal; at times, it was difficult to know who she was portraying, but given the diversity of characters, she did the best she could, it didn't detract from the main story and I didn't enjoy it any less.

To summarise - I got more than I expected and would certainly like to read/listen to another of Joe Hills offerings, but perhaps not narrated by Kate Mulgrew

  • The Other Woman

  • By: Sandie Jones
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 286
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 263
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 262

The Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances' The Girlfriend and B A Paris' Behind Closed Doors. There's nothing that this mother wouldn't do for her son.... Emily thinks Adam's perfect: the man she always hoped but never thought she'd meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival, a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves. A mother whose love for her son knows no bounds.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent throughput!

  • By Teddi on 08-04-18

a real "page turner" thoroughly enjoyed it.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-01-19

Compelling listening, not my usual read, but had me coming back for more. Anyone with a mother in law can take something away from this, funny, thrilling and gripping all at the same time.

  • Swan Song

  • By: Robert R. McCammon
  • Narrated by: Tom Stechschulte
  • Length: 34 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 870
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 694
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 694

Facing down an unprecedented malevolent enemy, the government responds with a nuclear attack. America as it was is gone forever, and now every citizen - from the President of the United States to the homeless on the streets of New York City - will fight for survival. In a wasteland born of rage and fear, populated by monstrous creatures and marauding armies, earth's last survivors have been drawn into the final battle between good and evil, that will decide the fate of humanity.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • More of an Opera than a Song!

  • By Simon on 07-09-15

A great story and beautifully delivered

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-10-18

This was an epic read, thoroughly enjoyed it, as some of the other reviews stated, it has just about a bit of everything, quite detailed in places so if you don't like gore or wounds, then this may not be for you, but if you don't mind, then you'll get a real picture of pain and suffering. Despite this, the story was well written and delivered exceptionally well by the narrator, he did a great job. Not sure about the "magic" I have read in other reviews, but I guess it is loosely there. Its a book about hope through incredible tragedy and extreme loss and charts the journey of individuals that must come together to survive evil. A great download if you need something to get your teeth into.

  • The Aquitaine Progression

  • By: Robert Ludlum
  • Narrated by: Rob Shapiro
  • Length: 29 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 105
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 74
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 77

It begins in Geneva. There American lawyer Joel Converse meets a man he hasn't seen in 20 years, a covert operative who dies violently at his feet, whispering words that hand Converse a staggering legacy of death: "The generals ... they're back ... Aquitaine!" Suddenly Converse is running for his life, alone with the world's most shattering secret. Pursued by anonymous executioners to the darkest corners of Europe, he is forced to play a game of survival by blood-rules he thought he'd left behind.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Aquitaine Progression - brilliant

  • By Lou on 11-12-12

Mildly disappointing

Overall
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-10-18

I was really looking forward to a gripping conspiracy theory, unfortunately, the book didn't really deliver as a whole, it was ok, but nothing more. The narrator had his work cut out as essentially (and without giving too much away) the book covers a number of countries and their associated accents and dialects, this proved very confusing for most of the book where there were two people in conversation from the same country, there wasn't a lot of inflection in the narrator's voice between those characters, finally whilst the story was delivered ok, it fell short on suspense for me, I love a good suspense book, but this in places was very slow, some of the military references were confusing or unnecessary and the reflections into the main characters past were confusing to the current day story. The main story and the character building was solid in some places and bulky in others so I felt that the book didn't flow as well as it could have.

  • Blackwater: The Complete Saga

  • By: Michael McDowell
  • Narrated by: Matt Godfrey
  • Length: 30 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 142
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 130
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 130

Blackwater is the saga of a small town, Perdido, Alabama, and Elinor Dammert, the stranger who arrives there under mysterious circumstances on Easter Sunday, 1919. On the surface, Elinor is gracious, charming, anxious to belong in Perdido, and eager to marry Oscar Caskey, the eldest son of Perdido's first family. But her beautiful exterior hides a shocking secret. Beneath the waters of the Perdido River, she turns into something terrifying, a creature whispered about in stories that have chilled the residents of Perdido for generations.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Exceptional!!

  • By Paul McLernon on 28-02-18

Ok if you want something for a roadtrip

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-07-18

I found this book to be a little disappointing. It was quite good to begin with, but left little the imagination as the story got going, the characters were well invested in the early part of the book, but then towards the end, they felt hurried and their stories were wrapped up and almost thrown away, you could tell the writer was trying to finish the book and finish it quickly, the narration was ok, the quantity of the characters was handled well by the narrator. It didn't offer the quality of story line that the "jacket" offered I didn't feel. If you want a long story for a road trip, then its ok, but I wouldn't expect a book or characters that stay with you.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Adventures of Fluffy Monkey Activities

  • By: Philip R Harrison
  • Narrated by: Peter Revel-Walsh
  • Length: 35 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars 3
  • Performance
    3.5 out of 5 stars 3
  • Story
    2.5 out of 5 stars 3

Included: Numbers and Colors Alphabet Fun and Games. Have fun with Fluffy Monkey and his friends learning your numbers, colors, and alphabet and plenty of games and activities for all to enjoy.

  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • Not a Children's Story..

  • By Sallyhippo on 30-07-18

Not a Children's Story..

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-07-18

I'm not sure why this is on Audible, it's a collection of short games for which you need the pictures in a book... do not download.

  • Grave Secrets

  • By: Kathy Reichs
  • Narrated by: Katherine Borowitz
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40

Guatemala, in the searing heat.The bones of a child no more than two years old are uncovered when mass graves are excavated.Twenty-three women and children are said to lie where forensic anthropologist Dr Temperance Brennan is searching for remains, in what is one of the most heartbreaking cases of her career.Then four young girls go missing from Guatemala City...

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • She's just gets better

  • By James remington on 08-12-18

Good but not gripping

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-09-17

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Only to keep in touch with the Temperance Brennan journey

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

The story line was essentially all there but the story jumped from one crime to another so quickly that it was hard to keep up

Did Katherine Borowitz do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

Katherine doesn't present the story with much more than a mild accenting of the different characters, she struggles with the men, but halfway through the book this seemed to improve, perhaps as a result that I began to identify with the characters a bit more

Do you think Grave Secrets needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

There is already a follow up book in this series, which is sadly not available on Audible (so far)