LISTENER

Shirley

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 6
  • helpful votes
  • 19
  • ratings
  • Brutally Honest

  • Mel B’s tell-all memoir
  • By: Melanie Brown, Louise Gannon
  • Narrated by: Melanie Brown, Phoenix Chi Gulzar Brown, Andrea Brown, and others
  • Length: 11 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 452
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 397
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 396

As one-fifth of the iconic Spice Girls and judge on X Factor and America's Got Talent, Melanie Brown, aka Scary Spice, has been an international star since the age of 19. And yet there are sides of Mel that no one has ever seen, or really known. Brutally Honest is an exposé of the struggles and acute pain that lay behind the glamour and success. With deep personal insight, remarkable frankness and Melanie’s trademark Yorkshire humour, this audiobook removes the mask of fame and reveals the mother, wife and daughter behind the Spice Girl everyone thinks they know. 

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent book

  • By Mr M Randell on 28-11-18

Sad

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-12-18

It’s the same old story about being famous it just isn’t good for you. I think this book was written for her daughters. I think she feels so guilty. Well worth a listen.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Their Lost Daughters

  • Audible's breakthrough crime author of 2018
  • By: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
  • Length: 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,193
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,834
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,821

Deep in the muddy fields of the Lincolnshire Fens, a teenage girl is found wandering, delirious, claiming to have been drugged at a party. Metres away, the drowned body of another girl is found on an isolated beach. And all this on a small stretch of land where, nearly 10 years ago, the shocking disappearance of a young girl remains an open case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Smokin' Start to a New Series!

  • By Simon on 14-06-18

Didn’t Grab Me

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
2 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 15-12-18

I listened to this book and the performance was good but the story just didn’t grab me at all but I had to listen to the end just to see if it was worth while. I just found it boring I’m afraid.

  • The Couple Next Door

  • By: Shari Lapena
  • Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
  • Length: 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,450
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 1,322
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,323

People are capable of almost anything. Fast-paced and addictive, The Couple Next Door announces a major new talent in thriller writing. You never know what's happening on the other side of the wall. Your neighbour told you that she didn't want your six-month-old daughter at the dinner party. Nothing personal, she just couldn't stand her crying. Your husband said it would be fine. After all, you live only next door. You'll have the baby monitor, and you'll take it in turns to go back every half hour.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • An enjoyable listen

  • By Joanne on 25-05-17

Gripping

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-01-18

This is the best book I have heard so far. It keep me intrigued and has so many twists and turns. Well worth a listen. It would make a great film.

  • Silent Child

  • Audible's Thriller of 2017
  • By: Sarah A. Denzil
  • Narrated by: Joanne Froggatt
  • Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,983
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,563
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 4,570

Introducing Audible's Thriller of the Year: Silent Child by Sarah A. Denzil, performed by Joanne Froggatt. In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned. His body was never recovered. Ten years later Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life...until Aiden returns.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointing

  • By madison on 06-09-17

Had Me Hooked

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-11-17

A great story, it had me hooked from the start and really well read. Would recommend.

  • Reveal: Robbie Williams

  • By: Chris Heath
  • Narrated by: Joe Jameson
  • Length: 17 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 153
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 138
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 137

An intimate, funny and frank account of the moments behind the music, of the truth behind the headlines and of the fascinatingly complicated man behind the imperious entertainer, Reveal is Robbie Williams as you've never seen him before. Best-selling author Chris Heath has been working closely with Robbie for many years to create a personal and raw account of fame, fortune, family and music - a vivid and detailed story of the real highs and lows as Robbie has found his way forward, that is unprecedented in its intimacy and honesty.

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • Narrator putting me off

  • By A. L. Richardson on 18-02-18

Robbie Williams

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-11-17

If you love Robbie you will love this. As I have been a fan from the beginning I felt that I had lived it too. Listening to the book was great it was almost as if Robbie was in the room lol

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Child

  • By: Fiona Barton
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett, Adjoa Andoh, Finty Williams, and others
  • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,952
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,647
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,628

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers, it's impossible to ignore. For one woman it's a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her. For another it's the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered. And for a third, a journalist, it's the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth. The Child's story will be told.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A Rich Drama of Complex Emotions

  • By Simon on 30-06-17

Didn’t Grab Me

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 26-11-17

I love listening to books and most of them get me hooked right away. I tried to get to the end of this book but just had to give up around chapter 50.

  • Sometimes I Lie

  • By: Alice Feeney
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 9 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 2,435
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,244
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 2,246

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. I'm in a coma. My husband doesn't love me anymore. Sometimes I lie." Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A must read/listen

  • By Annie Tompkins on 30-03-17

Gripping

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-04-17

It held my interest from being to end and easy to follow. Definitely worth a listen.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful