LISTENER

Lily

  • 5
  • reviews
  • 314
  • helpful votes
  • 19
  • ratings
  • The Scarred Woman

  • Department Q, Book 7
  • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 17 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 615
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 573
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 570

The international number one best seller returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. In a Copenhagen park, the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these acts of violence be related?

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • What a let down after such a long wait!

  • By mollyeyre on 22-09-17

Really didn't like the narration :(

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 14-09-18

I know there was criticism of the narrator of the previous book in this series, who replaced the original excellent narrator Steven Pacey, but I found the narrator of this book a real distraction to the story. His narration style was very laboured and I disliked the infantile voices he used for some of the characters. I also found he over enunciated everything. The voices sometimes bled into each other so you lost track of who was speaking, too. Sadly, I found this effected my enjoyment of the story. I hope that if Jussi Adler Olsen writes another book (which I hope he does!), they return to the original narrator or one with a little dynamism and variety in their voice. The story itself I found less exciting or intriguing than previous stories; I found some of the characters a little cliched and didn't find Rose's back story entirely believable in places. I also missed the flashback structure which worked so well in previous books. The story did, however, end really beautifully and I hope there are more books to add to this series.

  • A Monster Calls

  • By: Patrick Ness
  • Narrated by: Jason Isaacs, Patrick Ness
  • Length: 3 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 326
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 299
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 298

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn't the monster Conor's been expecting. He's been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he's had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming.... This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. It wants the truth.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazing book, very powerful and emotional.

  • By ian mcnamara on 26-12-16

powerful. beautiful. moving. artfully performed.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-08-18

powerful. beautiful. moving. artfully performed. a wonderful story about processing pain and grief. so glad I listened to it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Mythos

  • By: Stephen Fry
  • Narrated by: Stephen Fry
  • Length: 15 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,779
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 7,114
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,080

The Greek myths are amongst the greatest stories ever told, passed down through millennia and inspiring writers and artists as varied as Shakespeare, Michelangelo, James Joyce and Walt Disney. They are embedded deeply in the traditions, tales and cultural DNA of the West. You'll fall in love with Zeus, marvel at the birth of Athena, wince at Cronus and Gaia's revenge on Ouranos, weep with King Midas and hunt with the beautiful and ferocious Artemis.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • I need more!

  • By Lily on 08-11-17

I need more!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 08-11-17

Thoroughly enjoyed this witty and engaging narrative. I will admit a feeling of massive disappointment though, when the stories just ended at Midas and I discovered that there was no mention of well known tales such as those of Hercules, Icarus, Oedipus, Electra, or the War of Troy. Stephen mentions that if he had covered these stories too the book would've been too long; well I'm hoping he'll read this and see me imploring him now to pleeeease write a part 2 and include the rest! His written style is so lovely to follow, I'm bitterly sad he's not retelling me the whole lot. I've tried reading books of Greek Mythology before, and so often find them dry and hard to follow. This book flowed beautifully. I'm sad it ended. Please write another one Stephen!!! *weeps melodramatically and sacrifices a cow for the muse of writers*

292 of 314 people found this review helpful

  • Lyra's Oxford

  • By: Philip Pullman
  • Narrated by: Philip Pullman, Full Cast
  • Length: 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 206
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 191
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 191

Lyra's Oxford opens two years after the conclusion of Philip Pullman's The Amber Spyglass in the comfort and familiarity of Jordan College, where Lyra and her daemon, Pantalaimon, sit on the sun-drenched roof looking out over all of Oxford. But their peace is shattered when a strange bird - a witch's daemon, on it's own - tumbles out of the sky, in search of a healing elixer to cure his witch of a strange new disease. Lyra and Pan decided to help - witches are friends, of course - but the closer their winding walk leads them towards the infamous Oxford alchemist.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • As good as ever

  • By Lorna Payne on 07-04-18

A Lovely Little Fable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-10-17

'Everything has a meaning, if only we could read It'... Oh I love Philip Pullman's philosophy. Lovely tale which includes an older version of a certain very important character in La Belle Savauge. I wonder if the Alchemist has a further part yet to play in The Book Of Dust, too. Pullman is such a wonderful writer, such endearing stories.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • La Belle Sauvage

  • The Book of Dust, Volume 1
  • By: Philip Pullman
  • Narrated by: Michael Sheen
  • Length: 13 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 5,920
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 5,552
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 5,545

Philip Pullman returns to the world of His Dark Materials with this magnificent first volume of The Book of Dust series. Eleven-year-old Malcolm Polstead and his dæmon, Asta, live with his parents at the Trout Inn near Oxford. Across the River Thames (which Malcolm navigates often using his beloved canoe, a boat by the name of La Belle Sauvage) is the Godstow Priory where the nuns live. Malcolm learns they have a guest with them - a baby by the name of Lyra Belacqua....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Gripping Story, Great Narrator

  • By Lorenzo on 21-10-17

Masterful Narration of a thrilling story!

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-10-17

It's ten to one in the morning and despite telling myself I really should stop listening and get to sleep I just couldn't tear myself away, so I listened right to the very end. Michael Sheen does an incredible job narrating this suspenseful tale; he moves effortlessly between voices, so much so that I honestly forgot they were coming from one person. I also loved the way he changed the volume and dynamic of his voice at the more action-filled suspenseful parts, it was totally thrilling listening! As for the story; it's full of familiar names and characters, and for those who remember the trilogy well, there are all sorts of little bits and pieces that add further context and richness to it. Loved the protagonists, Alice and her sass, and dear sweet gold-hearted Malcolm. I know some were disattisfied with the ending of the book but I thought it was wonderful; snappy and suspenseful like the rest of the book, and gives just enough for you to tie the threads together yourself. Can't wait to catch up with Lyra in the next installment! Thoroughly recommend this audio book!

20 of 22 people found this review helpful