LISTENER

lisa

pontefract, United Kingdom
  • 6
  • reviews
  • 9
  • helpful votes
  • 15
  • ratings
  • Recovery

  • Freedom from Our Addictions
  • By: Russell Brand
  • Narrated by: Russell Brand
  • Length: 7 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,054
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,815
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,801

This is the age of addiction, a condition so epidemic, so all encompassing and ubiquitous, that unless you are fortunate enough to be an extreme case, you probably don't know that you have it. What unhealthy habits and attachments are holding your life together? Are you unconsciously dependent on food? Bad relationships? A job that doesn't fulfill you? Numb, constant perusal of your phone, looking for what? My qualification for writing this book is not that I am better than you, it's that I am worse.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Everyone should read this book

  • By H. Hopkins on 27-09-17

Inspiring

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-10-17

So poetically written. Really motivating stuff. Written from the heart and Russell shares very personal moments. The details of his daughter's birth are very eloquently described. Looking forward to having a look at the materials to download that are available. I like the fact that the 12 step programme can be used for any addiction ,be that negative thinking, self deprecation to alcohol and gambling. The principles can be applied and followed.
Would definitely recommend listening to the audio book narrated by Russell himself. Food for thought indeed.

  • The Woman Who Upped and Left

  • By: Fiona Gibson
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 11 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 60
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 53
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 53

The laugh-out-loud best seller is back with the only book to buy this Mother's Day. Perfect for fans of Outnumbered and Carole Matthews, Fiona writes about life as it really is. Forget about having it all. Sometimes you just want to leave it all behind. Audrey is often seized by the urge to walk out of her house without looking back - but she can't possibly do that. She is a single parent. She is needed. She has a job, a home, responsibilities...and a slothful teenage son's pants to pick up.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great and funny book

  • By Natasha on 23-05-19

really funny and touching

Overall
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-03-16

This book made me laugh out loud several times. The bit about the BHS 3 part jewellery set was hilarious. Made me remember fondly difficult times with my own teenage son

  • The Husband's Secret

  • By: Liane Moriarty
  • Narrated by: Caroline Lee
  • Length: 13 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,899
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,719
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,710

The Husband's Secret is a funny, heartbreaking novel of marriage, grief, love, and secrets. When her husband announces he's in love with her best friend, painfully shy Tess picks up her young son and returns to her mother's house. There she begins an unexpected affair with an old flame. Rachel is a woman in her 60s consumed by grief and anger at the loss of her daughter 20 years earlier. When her son announces he is taking her beloved grandson overseas, Rachel begins a descent into deeper bitterness and pain.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great story - really enjoyed it!

  • By Mrs. K. J. D. CURRIE on 12-11-13

Very different, very enjoyable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-08-14

I thoroughly enjoyed this book which is a little different to what i usually listen to. Very well written and narrated and really makes you think about the issues raised in the story. Will definetly try more by this author

  • The Four Streets

  • By: Nadine Dorries
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 8 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 353
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 299
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 294

1950s Liverpool. In the tight-knit community of the Four Streets, two girls are growing up. One is motherless and hated by the cold woman determined to take her dead mother's place. The other is hiding a dreadful secret which she dare not tell to anyone. The people of Four Streets laugh, grieve and hope together. But what can they do when a betrayal at the heart of their world comes to light?

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Not for the faint hearted!

  • By FOXY LADY on 23-04-15

loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-08-14

Cant wait for the next book, real gritty characters who you really cared about. Couldnt stop listening to the story.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • The Memory Book

  • By: Rowan Coleman
  • Narrated by: Robert Blackwood, Clare Corbett, Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 8 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 61
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 57
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 58

The name of your first-born. The face of your lover. Your age. Your address... What would happen if your memory of these began to fade? When Claire starts to write her Memory Book, she already knows that this scrapbook of mementoes will soon be all her daughters and husband have of her. But how can she hold onto the past when her future is slipping through her fingers...?

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Heart wrenching

  • By lisa on 09-04-14

Heart wrenching

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-04-14

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this story. the characters were people you could really visualise and care about.Although it involves a sad subject (early dementia) the story had a lot of hope and humour and dealt with a difficult subject in a thought provoking and sensitive manner

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • A Place to Call Home

  • By: Carole Matthews
  • Narrated by: Rita Sharma
  • Length: 11 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 215
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 199
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 200

In the dead of night, Ayesha takes her daughter, Sabina, and slips quietly from her home, leaving behind a life of full of pain. Boarding a coach to London, all Ayesha wants is a fresh start. Hayden, a former popstar, has kept himself hidden away for years. He's only opened up his home to two people - Crystal, a professional dancer with a heart of gold, and Joy, an ill-tempered retiree with a soft spot for waifs and strays.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Can't Stop Listening - Great Book

  • By Elaine Calderwood on 15-01-14

A thoroughly enjoyable story

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-02-14

This book was very engrossing and kept me absorbed all the way through. The characters were very well written.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful