LISTENER

Jill Forsey

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 4
  • helpful votes
  • 57
  • ratings
  • Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

  • By: Gail Honeyman
  • Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
  • Length: 11 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,474
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 7,847
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 7,828

Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive - but not how to live. Eleanor Oliphant leads a simple life. She wears the same clothes to work every day, eats the same meal deal for lunch every day and buys the same two bottles of vodka to drink every weekend. Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything. One simple act of kindness is about to shatter the walls Eleanor has built around herself. Now she must learn how to navigate the world....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Viva Eleanor!

  • By Kaggy on 30-06-17

Brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-08-18

A book I would like everyone to read,
a true picture of how we should never judge people by looks
I laughed and cried
Narration faultless
Looking forward to this amazing author next book

  • The Sleeper

  • By: Emily Barr
  • Narrated by: Imogen Church
  • Length: 12 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 976
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars 886
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 879

A tense, gripping psychological thriller, with Hitchcockian overtones, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Sophie Hannah and Rosamund Lupton. Lara Finch is living a lie. Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. But then Lara vanishes from the night train without a trace.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent.

  • By Vanessa on 22-02-14

Gripped

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 10-02-18

What did you like about this audiobook?

What a story, the descriptions of characters and places left little to the imagination leaving you feeling you knew or had met these people at some time in your own life or were there in these foreign lands
I became desperate for the right outcome and therefore it only took a few sessions of listening to finish the whole book
Fabulous writer, want more please

How has the book increased your interest in the subject matter?

Would love to revisit Cornwall and London
Eat Thai food
Travel
Not sure about trying out a sleeper

Does the author present information in a way that is interesting and insightful, and if so, how does he achieve this?

So descriptive, made it so easy to visualise surrounding but even more so feelings

What did you find wrong about the narrator's performance?

My only gripe is the lowering of her voice when talking for male characters, it sounds very pantomime, unrealistic, would prefer they were given an accent to differentiate between characters than an attempt at sounding male

Do you have any additional comments?

I fear now I have found Emily Barr I shall run out of her books, please write more

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • All the Ugly and Wonderful Things

  • A Novel
  • By: Bryn Greenwood
  • Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
  • Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 150
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 137
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 137

As the daughter of a drug dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. It's safer to keep her mouth shut and stay out of sight. Struggling to raise her little brother, Donal, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible adult around. Obsessed with the constellations, she finds peace in the starry night sky above the fields behind her house until one night her stargazing causes an accident. After witnessing his motorcycle wreck, she forms an unusual friendship with one of her father's thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Truly Addictive

  • By LilleyLoohLah on 03-10-16

Excellent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 29-12-17

True emotion which made you think twice about how you would respond with many of the situations

An excellent book

  • I've Got Your Number

  • By: Sophie Kinsella
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 11 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 812
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 550
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 547

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier: She is about to marry her ideal man. But in one afternoon, everything begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring in a hotel fire drill, but in the panic that follows, her phone is stolen. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations and mysterious phone calls, she soon realizes that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Marvellous chick lit

  • By R. Dang on 02-03-12

Chick lit as it should be

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 30-09-17

A great holiday book to relax with
Brilliantly narrated
Sophie kin sella has triumphed again

  • The Woman Next Door

  • By: Cass Green
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck, Bea Holland
  • Length: 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 550
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 521
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 521

Two suburban women. Two dark secrets. The almost perfect murder. Everybody needs good neighbours.... Melissa and Hester have lived next door to each other for years. When Melissa's daughter was younger, Hester was almost like a grandmother to her. But recently they haven't been so close. Hester has plans to change all that. It's obvious to her that despite Melissa's outwardly glamorous and successful life, she needs Hester's help.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • brilliant gripping story

  • By Miss Lesley Davidson on 28-01-17

My choice for book of the year

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-05-17

I could not put it down, as a lover of crime novels this was so different and brilliantly written
The narration could not have been better
Thank you and more please

  • The Blue Pool

  • By: Siobhán MacDonald
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 10 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 71
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 64
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 64

Life is good for university friends Sarah, Ruth, Charlotte and Kathy - it's summer, exams are over and they're escaping to a cabin by the Blue Pool. But then Sarah disappears without a trace. Twenty-five years later, a man walks into a police station claiming to know something about the missing girl. Suddenly the three women - now estranged - all become suspects. For not everything was as it seemed, and the greater the secret, the deeper it lies....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Loved this!

  • By Ann D on 20-12-16

Good twist

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 04-04-17

As a true crime addict this book was different, a good story with a twist, a real page turner
Can't wait to read more from this author

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • The Real Katie Lavendar

  • By: Erica James
  • Narrated by: Finty Williams
  • Length: 14 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 273
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 213
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 212

At 30, Katie Lavender thinks she is better than most when it comes to dealing with life's surprises. But when she gets a request to visit a solicitor, she's not expecting the dramatic turn her life is about to take. There, she receives a letter from her deceased mother that literally changes everything she ever knew about herself...

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The real Katie Lavender

  • By Marie on 05-02-12

An easy listen

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-08-16

Believable characters and situations
Thought provoking whilst giving us a lesson in forgiving others and ourselves

1 of 1 people found this review helpful