LISTENER

Tony Barker

Lydiate england
  • 7
  • reviews
  • 11
  • helpful votes
  • 7
  • ratings
  • Saturday Bloody Saturday

  • By: Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 13 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 40
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37

February 1974. Football manager Charlie Gordon is struggling, and only a decent cup run is keeping him in work. Meanwhile, as the country prepares for a general election, one of the most audacious and high-profile political assassinations in the IRA's history is being planned in London. An active service unit of two men and a woman await the critical signal to proceed.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • disappointed

  • By Brian on 18-04-18

what a thriller loved it

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-03-18

Best football book I have read great story brilliant narrator and memorable characters more please would like to follow teams progress in the FA cup

  • Holding

  • By: Graham Norton
  • Narrated by: Graham Norton
  • Length: 7 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,847
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,683
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,681

Graham Norton's masterful debut is an intelligently crafted story of love, secrets and loss. The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama, and yet its inhabitants are troubled. Sergeant PJ Collins hasn't always been this overweight; mother of two Brid Riordan hasn't always been an alcoholic; and elegant Evelyn Ross hasn't always felt that her life was a total waste.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • A classic tale of love and loss

  • By Panda on 13-11-16

charming gentle tale what a pleasure

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 17-10-16

this was a thoroughly enjoyable experience from a talented writer and performer. narration superb with the right touch of Irish whimsy. I was sorry that it ended and I look forward to the continued adventures of PJ in Cork




  • End of Watch

  • By: Stephen King
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 12 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,006
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,867
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,863

End of Watch is a compelling and chilling suspense novel which sees retired detective Bill Hodges back on the trail of his nemesis, Brady Hartsfield, the criminal the press called The Mercedes Killer. Foiled in his attempt to commit a second mass murder, Hartsfield is confined to a hospital brain-injury unit in a seemingly unresponsive state. But all is not what it seems: Brady is able to influence both his physician and the hospital librarian to commit crimes in the outside world.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Disappointingly Supernatural

  • By Mr D C Finnimore on 27-10-16

sad that it's over brilliant

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-07-16

excellent stories great characterisations top notch narrator - may we see a sequel with holly

1 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • A Tapping at My Door

  • By: David Jackson
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble
  • Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 1,238
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,137
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,139

From the best-selling author of Cry Baby, the beginning of a brilliant and gripping police procedural series set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Peter James and Mark Billingham. A woman at home in Liverpool is disturbed by a persistent tapping at her back door. She's disturbed to discover the culprit is a raven and tries to shoo it away. Which is when the killer strikes. DS Nathan Cody, still bearing the scars of an undercover mission that went horrifyingly wrong, is put on the case.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent Story well worth a listen

  • By Cathryn B. on 11-04-16

great new talent

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 23-06-16

wonderful narration intruiging plot cant wait for next instalment
i really enjoyed this audiobook and will look out for other stories by this author

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Six Degrees of Assassination: An Audible Drama cover art
  • Six Degrees of Assassination: An Audible Drama

  • By: M J Arlidge
  • Narrated by: Andrew Scott, Freema Agyeman, Hermione Norris, and others
  • Length: 4 hrs and 48 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,716
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,585
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 1,582

On a sullen, cloudy July day ten years since 7/7, the happy, confident and optimistic British Prime Minister is visiting a charity in East London. It’s just two months after the general election which saw John Campbell's government returned to power with a clear majority, the economy is on the mend and the coalition is fast becoming a bad memory. Suddenly, a man appears out of the crowd and shoots him three times in the chest.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Shame - could have been so much better

  • By Chris on 24-12-15

Best dramatised audiobook so far

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 16-02-15

Brilliant cast, fantastic production and excellent story with many twists and turns- sound quality superb ; more of the same please

  • The Missing and the Dead (Logan McRae, Book 9)

  • By: Stuart MacBride
  • Narrated by: Steve Worsley
  • Length: 17 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 507
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 468
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 462

The new Logan McRae novel from the No. 1 bestselling author of Close of the Bone and A Song for the Dying. One mistake can cost you everything…When you catch a twisted killer there should be a reward, right? What Acting Detective Inspector Logan McRae gets instead is a ‘development opportunity' out in the depths of rural Aberdeenshire. Welcome to divisional policing - catching drug dealers, shop lifters, vandals and the odd escaped farm animal.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • Glad I persevered

  • By Colette on 23-01-15

Can't wait for next Logan McRae

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-02-15

This was a great listen with brilliant narration and a riveting storyline with humour and suspense waiting for follow up

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Alas, Babylon

  • By: Pat Frank
  • Narrated by: Will Patton
  • Length: 11 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars 166
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 141
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 140

This true modern masterpiece is built around the two fateful words that make up the title and herald the end - “Alas, Babylon.” When a nuclear holocaust ravages the United States, a thousand years of civilization are stripped away overnight, and tens of millions of people are killed instantly. But for one small town in Florida, miraculously spared, the struggle is just beginning, as men and women of all backgrounds join together to confront the darkness....

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Brilliant and believable

  • By Tony Barker on 07-03-14

Brilliant and believable

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 07-03-14

Where does Alas, Babylon rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This ranks very highly. I came across this book as a recommendation having read One Second After and I was not disappointed. It was intelligent and thought provoking without being over sensationalized. It depicts ordinary people who have experienced an extraordinary event.

What other book might you compare Alas, Babylon to, and why?

One second after

Have you listened to any of Will Patton’s other performances? How does this one compare?

No but will look for others

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Small town America overcomes man made disaster

Any additional comments?

Excellent read

3 of 3 people found this review helpful