LISTENER

Kdurkin

  • 2
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 3
  • ratings
  • The Hauntings at Borley Rectory (Dramatised)

  • By: Michael, Mollie Hardwick
  • Narrated by: Edward de Souza, Carole Ann Ford, Nicolette Marvin, and others
  • Length: 49 mins
  • Original Recording
  • Overall
    3.5 out of 5 stars 31
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars 21
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars 21

Borley Rectory in rural Suffolk seems to have been plagued with ghosts, particularly that of a young French nun believed to have been murdered on the site. Dark and malevolent shapes, poltergeist activity, and voices from disused cellars and stairways haunt this recording. Borley Rectory burned down in the 1950s - and so did the studio where this eerie reconstruction was recorded.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • The Haunting of Borley Rectory

  • By Stephen on 12-10-09

Dreadful - in a bad way

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 03-11-18

Terribly bad performances (including awful screaming, dreadful French accents & even a poor cat impersonation). The music & sound effects range from bad to inexplicable. Not very much information is given about the house/hoax/story of the rectory. It’s all a bit Monty Python without it being at all funny or entertaining.

  • Fireside Gothic

  • By: Andrew Taylor
  • Narrated by: Leighton Pugh, Peter Noble, Anna Bentinck
  • Length: 6 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 27
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 25
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars 25

From the number one best-selling author of The American Boy and The Ashes of London comes a collection of three Gothic novellas - Broken Voices, The Leper House and The Scratch - perfect for fans of The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • A very fine trio of spooky delights

  • By Kaggy on 19-12-17

Awful

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 11-06-18

The first story fits into the Gothic genre. The subsequent two are pushing it a bit. The first is well told &, though inconsequential at the finish, well written. The second is not so good. The last is hard to plough through. The third is cringingly told with the narrator ‘doing the voices’ in such a way that it caused me to feel embarrassed. On the whole it’s not enjoyable or good value - particularly if you are expecting to sample something of the Gothic genre.