LISTENER

O. Okonkwo

  • 11
  • reviews
  • 10
  • helpful votes
  • 31
  • ratings
  • Godsgrave

  • The Nevernight Chronicle, Book 2
  • By: Jay Kristoff
  • Narrated by: Holter Graham
  • Length: 19 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 212
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 202
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 199

A ruthless young assassin continues her journey for revenge in this new epic fantasy from New York Times best-selling author Jay Kristoff. Conquer your fear, conquer the world. Mia Corvere, destroyer of empires, has found her place among the Blades of Our Lady of Blessed Murder, but many in the Red Church ministry do not believe she has earned it. Her position is precarious, and she's still no closer to exacting revenge for the brutal death of her family.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • entertaining but with some problems

  • By lloyd on 28-09-17

Awesome

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 12-02-18

Fantastic book. Listened to 2 in a row. It's so addictive and well narrated. Can't wait to get the next one!

  • Nevernight

  • The Nevernight Chronicle, Book 1
  • By: Jay Kristoff
  • Narrated by: Holter Graham
  • Length: 20 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 194
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 175
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 174

From New York Times best-selling author Jay Kristoff comes a dangerous new fantasy world and a heroine edged in darkness. Mia Corvere is only 10 years old when she is given her first lesson in death. Destined to destroy empires, the child raised in shadows made a promise on the day she lost everything: to avenge herself on those that shattered her world. But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, and Mia must become a weapon without equal.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Excellent book.

  • By Ms. Helen F. M. White on 17-01-18

Best fantasy novel in ages

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 06-02-18

Once you get past the first 2 chapters the story is all consuming. Fascinating characters and plot development. Rarely predictable & accomplished writing style. Great narration. Normally I'm only a fan of British narrators but Holter Graham knocks it out of the park!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • The Core

  • The Demon Cycle, Book 5
  • By: Peter V. Brett
  • Narrated by: Colin Mace
  • Length: 30 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,469
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,382
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,376

Sunday Times and New York Times best-selling author Peter V. Brett brings one of the most imaginative fantasy sagas of the 21st century to an epic close. The war has begun.... For time out of mind, bloodthirsty demons have stalked the night, culling the human race to scattered remnants dependent on half-forgotten magics to protect them. Two heroes arose - men as close as brothers yet divided by bitter betrayal.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Dissapointing end to a series that petered out.

  • By Tom on 18-02-18

Awesome

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 21-10-17

Amazing story. Fitting conclusion to the series. Excellent narration. Wish there was more to listen to!

  • Best Served Cold

  • By: Joe Abercrombie
  • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
  • Length: 26 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,164
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,887
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,881

Springtime in Styria. And that means war. There have been nineteen years of blood. The ruthless Grand Duke Orso is locked in a vicious struggle with the squabbling League of Eight, and between them they have bled the land white. While armies march, heads roll and cities burn, behind the scenes bankers, priests and older, darker powers play a deadly game to choose who will be king.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Low down dirty double crossing ...

  • By Stuart on 08-02-13

Best served cold

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 19-04-17

Took me a while to get round to this one but it is outstanding. Joe abercrombie does it again!

  • Sins of Empire

  • By: Brian McClellan
  • Narrated by: Christian Rodska
  • Length: 20 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 287
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 271
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 271

Enter a war-torn world where gunpowder and magic collide. The nation of Fatrasta is a haven for criminals, rebels, adventurers and sorcerers seeking relics of the past. As insurrection grows, only the iron will of the Lady Chancellor holds the capital city of Landfall together. Yet an ancient power as old as time is rising, and the fate of this young nation now rests in the hands of a spy, a disgraced war hero and a mercenary general with a past as turbulent as Landfall's present.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 'Privileged' to read such a good book...

  • By Nina on 27-03-17

Explosive

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-04-17

Good story well narrated. New to the magic system in the book so a novel idea. Story was fast paced and main characters had good depth.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Last Mortal Bond

  • Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, Book 3
  • By: Brian Staveley
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 29 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 925
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 858
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 858

The ancient csestriim are back to finish their purge of humanity; armies march against the capital; leaches, solitary beings who draw power from the natural world to fuel their extraordinary abilities, maneuver on all sides to affect the outcome of the war; and capricious gods walk the earth in human guise with agendas of their own.

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • Never reached the excitement of the first book

  • By Robin300378 on 12-04-16

Good ending

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 25-03-16

Excellent trilogy. Vance is a brilliant Narrator and does the final book justice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Shadows of Self

  • A Mistborn Novel
  • By: Brandon Sanderson
  • Narrated by: Michael Kramer
  • Length: 12 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,470
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1,348
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,347

Fans of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy Of Law, the Sunday Times and New York Times best-selling author returns to the world of Mistborn. It is more than 300 years after the events of the The Final Empire shaped Scadrial. Waxillium Ladrian has returned to the capital city of Elendel from the far-flung roughs.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Hooked again....

  • By Robyn on 19-10-15

Everything is coming together

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 05-11-15

Good story & I am intrigued by the way Sanderson is trying to link his different series together. But I wish he would use an English narrator!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • The Skull Throne

  • The Demon Cycle, Book 4
  • By: Peter V. Brett
  • Narrated by: Colin Mace
  • Length: 23 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,568
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,443
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,443

In the grand tradition of George R.R. Martin and Robert Jordan, Sunday Times best-selling author Peter V. Brett continues his critically acclaimed Demon Cycle with the next dramatic instalment: The Skull Throne. The Skull Throne of Krasia stands empty. Built from the skulls of fallen generals and demon princes, it is a seat of honour and ancient, powerful magic, keeping the demon corelings at bay. From atop the throne, Ahmann Jardir was meant to conquer the known world, forging its isolated peoples into a unified army to rise up and end the demon war once and for all.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • The stuffing in the middle?

  • By Robyn on 29-09-15

Much better

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 27-04-15

A big improvement on the last book with more twists and turns. But what is with Arlen bales accent. Ruins the character a little. Otherwise enjoyable listen

  • The Broken Eye

  • Lightbringer, Book Three
  • By: Brent Weeks
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 29 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 700
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 656
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 653

As the old gods awaken and satrapies splinter, the Chromeria races to find the only man who might still end a civil war before it engulfs the known world. But Gavin Guile has been captured by an old enemy and enslaved on a pirate galley. Worse still, Gavin has lost more than his powers as Prism - he can't use magic at all. Without the protection of his father, Kip Guile will face a master of shadows as his grandfather moves to choose a new Prism and put himself in power.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • overwhelmed

  • By Mr. A. P. Jones on 28-10-17

Broken Eye

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 09-04-15

Good story has grown stronger as the series progresses. The magical system is now clearer, as are the main protagonists. Simon Vance makes the audio book worthwhile with good characterization.

  • The Blinding Knife

  • Lightbringer, Book Two
  • By: Brent Weeks
  • Narrated by: Simon Vance
  • Length: 24 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 678
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 625
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 625

Gavin Guile is dying. He'd thought he had five years left - now he's got less than one. With 50,000 refugees, a bastard son, and an ex-fiancée who may have learned his darkest secret, Gavin's got problems on every side. As he loses control of his magic, all magic is running wild, threatening to destroy the Seven Satrapies. The old gods are being reborn. Their army of color wights is unstoppable, and the only salvation may be the brother whose freedom and life Gavin stole 16 years ago.

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • everyone but the old man

  • By robert on 22-12-18

Thank you Simon Vance

Overall
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
4 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 22-02-15

Good book fantastic performance. Wish he'd narrated the first book. Makes up for some of the weaker areas of the story.